Let's DELL

what88

What is so good about this Creative Sound Core3D-EX that come with the Dell Alienware 17 R3? !:s11:

Is it because of its multi-core sound and voice processor?

bosssaizo

Senior Moderator
Saw some squabbling in this thread.

Please refrain from doing that. Thanks.

Gribber

What is so good about this Creative Sound Core3D-EX that come with the Dell Alienware 17 R3? !:s11:

Is it because of its multi-core sound and voice processor?

http://www.box.co.uk/Creative_Sound_Blaster_Recon3D_Pci-Expre_1156723.html

productimage.aspx

Pure acceleration for your gaming audio

The next generation Sound Blaster card - the Sound Blaster Recon3D - is powered by Sound Core3D™ and heralds a new age in 3D gaming audio and online voice communication. Hardware-accelerated THX® TruStudio Pro™ audio technologies deliver unsurpassed audio playback quality, while the innovative CrystalVoice™ processing lets you communicate with crystal clear vocal fidelity in your multiplayer games, online chats and video conferencing.
Engineered for low power consumption and high performance, the Sound Core3D processor is Creative's first sound and voice processor to integrate a quad-core high-performance digital signal processor (DSP) and high-quality converters onto a single chip.

Powered by Sound Core3D™ quad-core audio processor
The revolutionary Sound Core3D Audio and Voice chipset accelerates THX TruStudio Pro and CrystalVoice processing effects, drastically improving your gaming experience with faster frame rates, more immersive gaming audio, and crystal clear voice communications.
THX® TruStudio Pro™ technologies
THX TruStudio Pro sound technologies create unprecedented levels of audio realism, including stunning 3D surround effects for your speakers and headsets.
CrystalVoice™ voice enhancement and clarity technology
Express yourself and be heard clearly in video conferencing, multiplayer games and online chats.
Dolby® Digital Live encoding
Dolby Digital Live encoding allows you to connect to your decoder or home theatre system through a single TOSlink for compelling 5.1 surround sound.
Dedicated high quality headphone amplifier
Supports studio quality headphones and headsets of up to 600 ohm impedance.
Scout Mode™ - Hear them before they hear you.
This proprietary technology allows you to hear your enemies from further away, giving you a distinct tactical advantage in combat.
Works with Windows 7
Compatible with Windows® 7, 32- or 64-bit operating systems. Enjoy the ultimate in Sound Blaster performance.

Gribber

I would go for laptop as Alienware R3 laptop seems nice. Alienware R3 laptop is i7 has 17.3 inch UHD IGZO IPS Anti-Glare 400-nits display screen and best of all GTX 980M.
Also it comes with Creative Sound Core3D-EX Audio with Creative Soundblaster Pro Studio Software. There is Alienware Graphics Amplifier which is very suitable for gaming as it pushes the frame rates up.
The performance is much better than Dell Inspiron 15 7000 gaming laptop and perfect for gaming.

i noticed the ah bang carried his Alienware R3 Laptop with the usb and headphone jumbo cables tied to the floor or something struck to it? :s13:

bosssaizo

Senior Moderator
Hmm.. Whoa. Found so many good posts over the weekend. :eek:

Keep it up everyone :D

jarred1223

For gaming best for buck still is DIY desktop :s13:

At least Alienware R3 has GTX970M so gaming on it is relatively good, but the weight is a killer for me.

And strange how Alienware Alpha specs on Dell website never state the specific Nvidia graphics model. So secretive :s13:

Gribber

Alienware M17x R3 GPU replacement.

it is possible.

Frm the video above you could tell that removing the bottom plate of the laptop is damn straight forward. No cache or whatsoever to hinder you from removing it. Ideal for DIY enthusiast!

xiaowhois

Alienware M17x R3 GPU replacement.

it is possible.

Frm the video above you could tell that removing the bottom plate of the laptop is damn straight forward. No cache or whatsoever to hinder you from removing it. Ideal for DIY enthusiast!

you never watch the video until end~ not working leh~ think the youtuber take the gpu from another laptop try to fix it on Alienware later u do similar stuff than u fry the Systemboard, warranty dont cover~ 2k++ like that gone~

Gribber

you never watch the video until end~ not working leh~ think the youtuber take the gpu from another laptop try to fix it on Alienware later u do similar stuff than u fry the Systemboard, warranty dont cover~ 2k++ like that gone~

Nope, what i meant is its possible just that he used a incompatible card to do it.

I believe that if you want to buy a 970M first also ok, if later on you want upgrade to 980M should be ok as well.

If fry, just go call Dell. They won't know one. I deal with them before if fry, the will just replace the entire board :s13: - hope Dell won't punish me for this :o

Anyone willing to comment?

dont deduct points can liao :s13::s13:

I think you will get top score coz of your posts - so nth to worry. grats.

xiaowhois

Nope, what i meant is its possible just that he used a incompatible card to do it.

I believe that if you want to buy a 970M first also ok, if later on you want upgrade to 980M should be ok as well.

If fry, just go call Dell. They won't know one. I deal with them before if fry, the will just replace the entire board :s13: - hope Dell won't punish me for this :o

Anyone willing to comment?

I think you will get top score coz of your posts. grats.

http://www.hidevolution.com/catalogsearch/result/?a=all&q=GTX+980M

same like upgrade cpu must as well get the better one when purchased the cost will be cheaper

that GPU alone more than enough budget to buy laptop

doubt so la~ i not also zai like Ohayo! & WhiteHunter

Gaiason

I see, all along I thought Inspiron 24 7000 not able to DIY. :o

This means Alienware Also able to DIY?! I am not a gamer, so this Alienware is not to go for me.=:p

Alienware like quite exp, normally to go for dell.

Gaiason

Wow..this Dell Alienware 17 R3 is way to big for me, it like more for gamer, sure will eat lots battery with using GTX 980M, weight around 3.78kgs..:eek::s22:

Dun think will carry around. Almost 4 kilo...

runeruin

Better to repost these to avoid confusion to others.:)

The difference of two Inspiron 15 7000 series for comparison purpose.

Inspiron 15 7000 (7568) 2-in-1 spec :
- 6th Generation Intel® Core™ i7-6500U Processor (4M Cache, up to 3.10 GHz)
- Intel® HD Graphics 5500
- 15.6 inch LED Backlit Touch Display with Truelife and FHD Resolution (1920 x 1080)
- 1TB 5400 RPM SATA3 Hard Drive
3-Cell Battery (Integrated)
Price: $1399

Inspiron 15 7000 (7559) spec:
- 6th Generation Intel® Core™ i7-6700HQ Processor (6M Cache, up to 3.50 GHz)
- NVIDIA® GeForce® GTX 960M 4GB GDDR5
- LCD 15.6" Ultra High Definition LGD, Touchscreen
- 1TB 5400 rpm SATA Hybrid Hard Drive with 8GB Cache
6-Cell Battery (Integrated)
Price : $1899
im pretty interested in the 7559
but i think a 6300hq processor is enough for me..if only SG brings it in,i will definitely get it
for me,i don't see a point in paying more for some processor which i will never utilize it:s13:

Gaiason

Alienware 17 R3 is a laptop while Alpha is desktop for pc games that works like a game console and customised to play steam ones. basically a steam machine.

Mmm... I prefer pc like dell inspiron to do work too.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.