LG G3

kelvinti

The only disadvantage of letting go M8 is the Boomsound speaker.

If you are not into loud and good sound, then let go your M8 for G3.

Even then, how often do we use the M8 speaker compared to using earpiece for music and video...

The G3's Quadbeat 2.0 earpiece is awesome. The music player is also produces good sound for music....

So, think again, bro!....

beta_sheet

Worth selling off m8 to get this?

In terms of processing package, m8 is about similar to G3. Build quality and speaker sound quality in m8 is top notch. I will recommend you stick with your m8. It will definitely be able to last you for a year or two.

knightshaz

the only time i blast the speakers on my phone is for my morning alarm, other than that its hooked onto headphones or speakers :s22:

kelvinti

In fact, I kind of liking the placement of speaker at the back.

So, when you are in the office or home putting your phone face up, the notification sound will not be too loud to disturb other people and yet you still can hear it since you are always close to your desk or inside your bed or living rooms.

If you wants it loud, then put your phone face down. Afterall, you still need to reach and pick up your phone to see what is notifying you. ;)

There is no issue of not hearing the notification sound when you put your phone in the pants pocket or holding it in your hand.

kelvinti

the only time i blast the speakers on my phone is for my morning alarm, other than that its hooked onto headphones or speakers :s22:

Ya!

This is exactly what I'm saying...;)

Boomsound speaker, but how practical and often we use it?

It is damn freaking loud to my liking..

I also Bluetooth it to my sound bar system if I really want a good speaker music. Other than that, earpiece is used on the go.

mun

In fact, I kind of liking the placement of speaker at the back.

So, when you are in the office or home putting your phone face up, the notification sound will not be too loud to disturb other people and yet you still can hear it since you are always close to your desk or inside your bed or living rooms.

If you wants it loud, then put your phone face down. Afterall, you still need to reach and pick up your phone to see what is notifying you. ;)

There is no issue of not hearing the notification sound when you put your phone in the pants pocket or holding it in your hand.

So, the best is to have both notification light + speaker at the back and that would be g pro2 at the moment :p

newouverture

Despite how many people say m8 is inferior, though I can't compare them side by side now, m8 is the best android phone I have ever used and still using it. I still can't find fault of it except for that hard to see notification led.

Yes I seldom use the BoomSound speakers too. But the voice quality of phone calls is top notch, no other phone can match it except my previous Motorola razr.

In fact other than low resolution of the camera that reviewers and people keep bashing, I find the pictures took are very nicely exposed, sharp and fun. Many of my friends are amazed and even thought I took from a Dslr, esp the ufocus feature. All pictures are definitely better than my previous ip5s, g2, Z2 and s5. Not sure whY so many people bash m8's camera. How often u use 16, 13 or even 8mp if you dun print posters? Mp is not the only thing to bash a camera performance.

Might bite the bullet and let m8 be my backup phone after I get the g3. :p

Somehow, this year's flagship phones are not determined by their features but by how much lesser flaws they have.

Computeron

i just bypassed Kasia Mobile just now during lunch. they seem to have a KOR variant of G3 there. It's in white. but...in real life, hmmm

less appealing to me actually. =/

wa.. i saw it too... dont have the wow factor... looks normal...
maybe is white bah.

NeonX

It is always good to have better battery life. But to expect it to last 24 hours with usage may not be realistic. Moreover in these days, you can charge the phones as long as you have a usb cable with you, a laptop, mobile charger, etc. And not to mention some phones like the G3 comes with removable battery.

You are just limiting yourself to use some of the best phones in the world, if you are only looking for battery life. Unless there is a breakthrough, dun expect battery life to last long with all the features in the world.

Phones are already over powered these days. Don't see why we are limiting ourselves, we don't do image editing or those intensive stuff on our phones. We don't play Crysis on our phones. Heck we can't even multi task properly on our phones even with spilt screen. Doing a whole database on excel is not even feasible on phones cause you are limited by screen size.

Until something actually utilizes/harness all the processing power and ram in our phones, i would say having better battery life over specs is not limiting one to using the best phones.

Phones nowadays are about its applications. If applications don't demand X processing power, why do people have to keep pumping it up for next to no gains at the expense of battery life? Any app that a quad core flagship can run smoothly on the market today my dualcore moto x can too.

at least the battery is removable.......if it was a non removable 4000mah battery.....people will still start complaining WHY NON REMOVABLE!!!!!

People complain battery non removable cause battery life sucks. If everyone phone from the past few years and newer flagships all lasted at least 24hours, why would anyone need a removable battery/powerbank ?

rECKleSSfElla

Phones are already over powered these days. Don't see why we are limiting ourselves, we don't do image editing or those intensive stuff on our phones. We don't play Crysis on our phones. Heck we can't even multi task properly on our phones even with spilt screen. Doing a whole database on excel is not even feasible on phones cause you are limited by screen size.

Until something actually utilizes/harness all the processing power and ram in our phones, i would say having better battery life over specs is not limiting one to using the best phones.

Phones nowadays are about its applications. If applications don't demand X processing power, why do people have to keep pumping it up for next to no gains at the expense of battery life? Any app that a quad core flagship can run smoothly on the market today my dualcore moto x can too.

People complain battery non removable cause battery life sucks. If everyone phone from the past few years and newer flagships all lasted at least 24hours, why would anyone need a removable battery/powerbank ?

Well, go manufacture your own dream phone if u can lor. Nobody is holding a gun against your head forcing you to buy the G3. There is always the option of sticking with your current phone or the older models with better battery life but lousier specs. Since you said it yourself, any app currently available can run on duo core so no need all the latest flagship specs.

gws898

Despite how many people say m8 is inferior, though I can't compare them side by side now, m8 is the best android phone I have ever used and still using it. I still can't find fault of it except for that hard to see notification led.

Yes I seldom use the BoomSound speakers too. But the voice quality of phone calls is top notch, no other phone can match it except my previous Motorola razr.

In fact other than low resolution of the camera that reviewers and people keep bashing, I find the pictures took are very nicely exposed, sharp and fun. Many of my friends are amazed and even thought I took from a Dslr, esp the ufocus feature. All pictures are definitely better than my previous ip5s, g2, Z2 and s5. Not sure whY so many people bash m8's camera. How often u use 16, 13 or even 8mp if you dun print posters? Mp is not the only thing to bash a camera performance.

Might bite the bullet and let m8 be my backup phone after I get the g3. :p

Somehow, this year's flagship phones are not determined by their features but by how much lesser flaws they have.

The M8 is useful for selfie thanks to the wide angle front facing camera. The 5mp full resolution is not in 16:9 but 4:3.

NeonX

Well, go manufacture your own dream phone if u can lor. Nobody is holding a gun against your head forcing you to buy the G3. There is always the option of sticking with your current phone or the older models with better battery life but lousier specs. Since you said it yourself, any app currently available can run on duo core so no need all the latest flagship specs.

chill la, was just saying, not bashing g3 or whatever. If people don't ask for better stuff, then there will be no improvement ma

kelvinti

Last but not least.

The G Pro 2 is already an awesome phone. So, the G3 will be even better. :)

It is worth the money and upgrade from other models and brands ;)

Cheers! :)

lawreo2002

Looks good enough. Upgrade from m8 definitely for me. Like the small size big screen ratio. Lighter than m8 too. Imo

kelvinti

Looks good enough. Upgrade from m8 definitely for me. Like the small size big screen ratio. Lighter than m8 too. Imo

Yup!

In fact, HTC's metal body has its drawback....too heavy!

G3's plastic body is so so so much lighter especially when you put your phone inside the pants pocket or shirt pocket. It will not keep pulling your pants down unnecessarily. ;)

For example, my elder bro has a HTC One Max and he complains that it is just too heavy....and when he holds my Pro 2, he got a shock how light it is compare to its metal body Max. Same scenario applies to M8...

Thank Again..the goodness of plastic body. ;)

Also, once you put on a casing, whatever fc*k metal premium feels also gone liao...unless you use your phone without casing.

So, in fact, no need to think again,... It is a wise choice to get the G3;)

rECKleSSfElla

chill la, was just saying, not bashing g3 or whatever. If people don't ask for better stuff, then there will be no improvement ma

Sorry if i sound rash, but my point is if i like 90% of the specs and dislike 10% of it, either i make compromises or i forsake an entirely good phone just becuz of 1 small area. I understand battery life is of paramount importance for some, but there are many methods to go around this issue)get 2nd battery or a powerbank). Ultimately, if one feels that 1 con outweighs all the rest of the pros, there are other options like wait for some future model that has fantastic battery life(if that is even possible) or look at other models currently available. Final point, G3's battery life really isnt that terrible out of the box, its just not as good as some of the other flagship devices out there.

NeonX

Sorry if i sound rash, but my point is if i like 90% of the specs and dislike 10% of it, either i make compromises or i forsake an entirely good phone just becuz of 1 small area. I understand battery life is of paramount importance for some, but there are many methods to go around this issue)get 2nd battery or a powerbank). Ultimately, if one feels that 1 con outweighs all the rest of the pros, there are other options like wait for some future model that has fantastic battery life(if that is even possible) or look at other models currently available. Final point, G3's battery life really isnt that terrible out of the box, its just not as good as some of the other flagship devices out there.

i agree with you. There are always trade-offs and there are no perfect phones.

Just griping about the fact that the qhd screen sucks too much battery with no real benefits. Youtube only have 720p vids, qhd is really too fast too soon, plus i don't see apps supporting qhd at all. Hopefully i'm wrong.

But i would prob get the g3 haha

newouverture

Just griping about the fact that the qhd screen sucks too much battery with no real benefits. Youtube only have 720p vids, qhd is really too fast too soon, plus i don't see apps supporting qhd at all. Hopefully i'm wrong.

That's because many companies are following the fruit company style of producing devices and marketing ploy. They always assumed the features that people want and then force it down our throats without having any other choice.

If g3 sticks with 1080p screen, many people will bash it that it has no standout features as all of us are conned in the first place that QHD is needed which in the first place most apps are not even 1080p yet!

This is the era of hardware moving faster than software where the developers are hard playing catchup to update their software to match the hardware performance and in the process losing the soul and purpose of the application or games which are so useful and mindblowing back in our 80-90s where plain looking Nintendo games are many times more fun than games of modern ones.

IncTEh

with more qhd phones uprising, it wont be surprising that devs start making their apps 1440p. You can always use the 1440p screen to watch 1440p videos. Having it is always better than not having a 1440p screen :/

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.