LG G4

john12555

Any1 phone got this prob? Although the lock screen showed starhub, but I'm unable to connect to 4G or receive incoming calls/ make outgoing calls. It occurs randomly. Restart phone then ok liao.
Not sure if sim card or phone prob.
Phone warranty expiring in 2 months

maur_james

Btw, better get rid of this POS fast.. because I have a bad feeling that 6XX serial is gonna bootloop sooner or later.. :o

S/N: 603 BOOTLOOP!!
https://www.reddit.com/r/lgg4/comments/4o8r36/g4_bootloop_now_out_of_standard_1_year_warranty/

http://forum.xda-developers.com/g4/help/lg-g4-stuck-bootloop-t3268734/page78
My newly replaced 6xx was also showing signs of bootloop, auto reboot on it's own...so I had to quickly get it replaced.

Sent from HUAWEI NXT-L29 using GAGT

mortpenguin

Any1 phone got this prob? Although the lock screen showed starhub, but I'm unable to connect to 4G or receive incoming calls/ make outgoing calls. It occurs randomly. Restart phone then ok liao.
Not sure if sim card or phone prob.
Phone warranty expiring in 2 months

Yep I get this problem from time to time. I see full bar signal strength but 4G just won't connect. I'd have to either turn on and turn off flight mode, or restart the phone if that doesn't work.

chiaRH

dang.. i just kena the LG logo screen!! mobo 512 series...

gotta go bang their table on Saturday liao.. it's dying every 6 months sia :(

When did they fix your bootloop?

Im also 512, my service case was handled at the end of Dec 2015. At the moment I experience no second case of bootloop but I wonder if at the beginning, whether or not some of the intial batch of bootloop cases were not properly fixed.

looper1994

When did they fix your bootloop?

Im also 512, my service case was handled at the end of Dec 2015. At the moment I experience no second case of bootloop but I wonder if at the beginning, whether or not some of the intial batch of bootloop cases were not properly fixed.

I think u should just take it that lg never fixed the issue at all. lg admitted to the bootloop issue in Jan 2016, yet sn603 boards still bootloop.

As others have pointed out that the bootloop seems to occur after every 6 months of usage. I guess it safe to say that we can expect a flood of sn512-601 device failing this coming month.

Since 1+3 out in July, I would hold on to my sn 601 till then. Expecting mine to fail in July which would happen to be after the warranty period.

http://www.hardwarezone.com.sg/m/tech-news-oneplus-3-will-be-available-singapore-july-no-invite-system

6month first loop+ replace + 6 month expected second loop > 12 month warranty. Well-played Lg.

micromousez

OMG!! 603 also kena bootloop...
i think LG should replace all bootloop motherboard even if the warranty had expired :(:(

maur_james

I think u should just take it that lg never fixed the issue at all. lg admitted to the bootloop issue in Jan 2016, yet sn603 boards still bootloop.

As others have pointed out that the bootloop seems to occur after every 6 months of usage. I guess it safe to say that we can expect a flood of sn512-601 device failing this coming month.

Since 1+3 out in July, I would hold on to my sn 601 till then. Expecting mine to fail in July which would happen to be after the warranty period.

http://www.hardwarezone.com.sg/m/te...-be-available-singapore-july-no-invite-system

6month first loop+ replace + 6 month expected second loop > 12 month warranty. Well-played Lg.
My newly replace motherboard started acting up barely weeks after I collected it...

Intrinion

Senior Moderator
Looking at the amount of boot loops, I sincerely hope that there will not be any sagas that arise due to people purchasing phones on the resale market that worked well when purchased but boot looped shortly after.

Cause it's unpredictable and no one knows when it would just loop.

Phantom37

Wifey G4 just got boot loop..
Bought on 30 June 2015.. 2 wks B4 end of warranty!

Mine is Oct set... Waiting for the bomb to blow.... =(

Sent from LGE LG-H815 using GAGT

oldturtle

just sent in mine this morning, and I had like 3-4 ppl in front of me @ the service centre with the bricked G4

they gonna replace the mobo even though it's out of warranty, but i figure i will sell the G4 when i collect it back and get the one plus 3 when it's released.

LG just lost another customer.

Phantom37

Just sent in... For the 10pple in front of me... All G4, 1 was Dual SIM.
3~5 working days.

Was told problem solved with new board..
My G4 also acting up recently... Heating up... Lags at times...

Looks like I will have to go back to LG service center a few more times soon.. =(

LG fan since Nexus4

Toby88

So do affected phones after warranty has ended entitled for free board replacement or really have to fork out payment?

rboyboy

So do affected phones after warranty has ended entitled for free board replacement or really have to fork out payment?

Mine was 2 weeks past it's warranty and had already expired but they told me they would changed it for me one last time.

Phantom37

I asked them since my warranty ends in 2 weeks and there are multiple cases of recurrence after replacement, how is the warranty coverage?

The answer was... Case by case.. FOC if is Mobo related and not due to abuse like water damage.

chiaRH

I asked them since my warranty ends in 2 weeks and there are multiple cases of recurrence after replacement, how is the warranty coverage?

The answer was... Case by case.. FOC if is Mobo related and not due to abuse like water damage.

That more or less means youre at the complete mercy of whether the CSO feels like taking on your service case or not, as in whether or not they care enough that its a known and widespread issue.

I mean stuff like "not due to water damage" is purely obvious. Water damage is enough to remove any chances of FOC service even if still under warranty, cos the warranty would be void.

To recap, here's the official word from LG
http://www.androidauthority.com/lg-admits-g4-bootloop-problem-hardware-fault-669603/

the statement seems vague enough that I dont know if LG actually did promise that they will fix all such cases regardless of warranty expiry. If they dont explicitly state it, then if your warranty expired already you have no supporting argument and it could still go down to the goodwill of whoever CSO you luckily or unluckily face when you bring your phone down.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.