LG G5

chiaRH

point taken.

if dun need modules, then the modular design? haha. which brings back to my original argument - the G5 offers nothing much beyond the modular design & an extra rear camera for wide angle shots. and a new metal design?

as much as I love the G4, there is no major X feature in the G5. the S7 has the rear camera with f/1.7 aperture and dual pixels to market.

disclaimer - i am not buying the S7/S7 edge. just basing opinions on what LG and Samsung offered this year and find the G5 a bit lacklustre.

Because people dont like boring things, companies try to appeal by being creative hence the modular design. Already news outlets say that LG won a lot of design awards or whatever at MWC.

Did you watch the MWC presentation? The moment when the president of LG Mobile held up the phone and pulled off the bottom to show that it still has removable battery, the whole audience appluaded.

Actually these days phone improvements have become so marginal that if you compare 2 generations back to back you wont really be able to see much improvement. For all the benefits of S7, I dont think S6 users will upgrade, unless they really miss the microSD. Likewise if you already own a G4, the G5 will probably not be a worthy upgrade

OddEye

If LG G5 has a module that adds battery life with only slightly more weight, I will buy G5 for sure

qyc_91

It's the fight between 2 Korea phone so far.
G5 vs S7 which is cool because they are fighting to overtake each other in improvement in technology.

Japan/Taiwan brand however...... i have no idea what they are doing,Sony Xperia X series clearly didn't inspire much in term of design/camera while most of us didn't have much hope for HTC anymore.

OutBreak

Both from S.Korea indeed.. Both have fugly ass like cartoon interface..

fortunecat

G5 vs S7 which is cool because they are fighting to overtake each other in improvement in technology.

Japan/Taiwan brand however...... i have no idea what they are doing,Sony Xperia X series clearly didn't inspire much in term of design/camera while most of us didn't have much hope for HTC anymore.
Sony used to have great design for their products. But their phones are freaking ugly designless square boxes

Sent from LGE LG-H815 using GAGT

WhiteAnt

I think phones have reached the end of the life cycle already.. Other than slight improvement here and there, no major breaking point to push to the nx playing field :o

OutBreak

I think phones have reached the end of the life cycle already.. Other than slight improvement here and there, no major breaking point to push to the nx playing field :o

LG should work on their software instead of those gimmicky modules which most people will not buy or use it!!

kopi22

What about the new Mi5? Seems like their camera module also quite powerful with 4-axis wor. And the orders are pretty high from what I read.

technolust

What about the new Mi5? Seems like their camera module also quite powerful with 4-axis wor. And the orders are pretty high from what I read.
U waiting for G5 also? Btw think they finally start selling 950/950xl here Liao :p

falcom2002

In the current reality, the two Korean manufacturers will not
be able to compete in the area of pricing especially with devices
from China.

The higher price Samsung device will suffer but unfortunately
LG G5 won't be able to compete with Xiaomi Mi5 because of
the lower price from the Chinese manufacturer.

If the G5 is price above the G4, it may find difficulty too.

WhiteAnt

LG should work on their software instead of those gimmicky modules which most people will not buy or use it!!

Agree with u. I strongly believe if their os isn't laggy, they could've win Samsung as an edge. Even Samsung s7 when I press press diff apps like camera will also face a bit of pauses/lag.

Is it nothing can be done to make the software run butter smooth? :s22:

One thing LG done great is a removable battery :o cannot appluad this further. Maybe I wanna use the phone until no longer can use lol. Even last year's flagship is considered v capable in today's context.

fortunecat

Agree with u. I strongly believe if their os isn't laggy, they could've win Samsung as an edge. Even Samsung s7 when I press press diff apps like camera will also face a bit of pauses/lag.

Is it nothing can be done to make the software run butter smooth? :s22:

One thing LG done great is a removable battery :o cannot appluad this further. Maybe I wanna use the phone until no longer can use lol. Even last year's flagship is considered v capable in today's context.
I think LG brand is only supported by a group of diehard fans leh. LG G4 last year, with its good review, was the best chance to prove that many people do want a removable batt and sdcard. But the lousy sales prove that it really wasn't that important to most people, and many still dun really accept LG

Intrinion

Senior Moderator
I think LG brand is only supported by a group of diehard fans leh. LG G4 last year, with its good review, was the best chance to prove that many people do want a removable batt and sdcard. But the lousy sales prove that it really wasn't that important to most people, and many still dun really accept LG

Or most people like me are still on the fairly successful LG G3 :)

chiaRH

The Mi5 i think is still using at the traditional 'small' 1.1 micron pixel size so not sure how it'll far under low light
http://static.sg.bbs.mi.com/sg/8903229c-d7c7-4af7-a00d-9942b5d1bfa6.jpg
The above sample pic is still pretty good but its not a pitch black sky.

It has no microSD too, which for me would be dealbreaker.

I think the orders are pretty high because xiaomi fanbase has waited 2 years for a Mi4 successor to arrive :s13:

As they say, if you have superior marketing, you'll even be able to sell an inferior product.

And LG really doesnt have superior marketing unfortunately...

Samsung at the moment = has the whole atrium space at vivo for S7 launch event

Apple at the moment = you step out of the NEL train platform at dhoby ghaut look left look right all you see is 'Shot on iPhone 6S'

When was the last time you even saw a LG phone ad?Probably this guy's face at a bus stop

In 2014 when I recontract, I picked new phone for my mother and went with G3 and had to convince her that LG is actually as good as Samsung (she originally wanted S5 which would have been 200 bucks more). My dad even better still, when he recontract, he took the S6 edge despite having no practical use for the edge, when he could have saved money and got the regular S6.

gws898

The Mi5 i think is still using at the traditional 'small' 1.1 micron pixel size so not sure how it'll far under low light
http://static.sg.bbs.mi.com/sg/8903229c-d7c7-4af7-a00d-9942b5d1bfa6.jpg
The above sample pic is still pretty good but its not a pitch black sky.

It has no microSD too, which for me would be dealbreaker.

I think the orders are pretty high because xiaomi fanbase has waited 2 years for a Mi4 successor to arrive :s13:

As they say, if you have superior marketing, you'll even be able to sell an inferior product.

And LG really doesnt have superior marketing unfortunately...

Samsung at the moment = has the whole atrium space at vivo for S7 launch event

Apple at the moment = you step out of the NEL train platform at dhoby ghaut look left look right all you see is 'Shot on iPhone 6S'

When was the last time you even saw a LG phone ad?Probably this guy's face at a bus stop

In 2014 when I recontract, I picked new phone for my mother and went with G3 and had to convince her that LG is actually as good as Samsung (she originally wanted S5 which would have been 200 bucks more). My dad even better still, when he recontract, he took the S6 edge despite having no practical use for the edge, when he could have saved money and got the regular S6.
I saw LG V10 ads at Taxis and Bugis Street

WhiteAnt

Yup their appeal is only to mainly their fans. Last year g4 should have swayed some users once Samsung has no removable battery or microsd. Unfortunately, g4 sales was so so. My guess is, they went over to iphone as many of my friends are now using iPhones..

Worse off to have bootloop problems later on which I'm not so sure if they've really rectified that. Wanted to go with g4 but I see the way they handled it is really v bad - can hide just hide mentality.. They should've addressed it boldy to build consumers confidence and trust. I've been keen on g5 but after some thoughts, still can't decide yet. No Samsung for me for now, they're overpriced. Sian, not sure if should go with iPhone 7 :s22: not many Android choices left with which is reliable :(

FactoryEffex

I personally used G2 and G3 before hogging to nexus 6. Was a diehard iphone fan till G2 that bought me to android. I like the idea of removal battery, SD card and the rear button placement but I really hate the skin on G2, so I moved to G3 not long after. I really love the camera but so how, the battery drain very fast and mid way, I had to change to my extra battery. I think their issue is their software else their phone is really good. Wanted to change to G4 but was not really impressed with it and got myself a nexus and looking at G5, I like the concept but I still won't buy it.

Sent from Motorola NEXUS 6 using GAGT

FactoryEffex

Just to add on, I don't really like China phone especially xiaomi, I deemed they are copy cats but was very impressed with mi5 over G5 and S7.

Sent from Motorola NEXUS 6 using GAGT

falcom2002

The current mi5 brings some attention because of its
different modules that the consumers can choose from
3GB/32GB to 4GB/128GB, all with the SD820.

It's weakest point is the non-removable battery with
only 3,000mAH, so you have to hug around a powerbank.

The LGG5 is equipped with 4GB and sd card for external
storage up to 2TB with instant removable battery, also
using the SD820.

The only thing some consumers will be looking for is the
waterproof thinky.

Anyway the price of mi5 will bring approval from
budget conscious consumers and the question is:

Can the Korean manufacturers willing to meet
the market challenge of pricing their products lower?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.