LG G5

chiaRH

I saw LG V10 ads at Taxis and Bugis Street

Yeah the bugis one had the G4 ad previously too. Its a big billboard but dont know if the exposure to audience is sufficient.

Taxi ads imo arent effective because unless you take a lot of taxi, you'll rarely see it. On the road there are so many vehicles and they move fast before you can even glimpse the ad.

Another proof that samsung has superior marketing is they have display booths in more places. All the challengers and harvey normans have samsung display booths with those display units tethered to the white table.

LG doesnt have that presence in electronics retail which, imo is a huge shame because then the only time you see a display unit is when you walk into a telco store which a general consumer does like once every 2 years when they go to recontract. When the G4 was announced, I knew I wanted to look at it and literally had to hunt which telco stores in SG had display unit and it took a trip to the M1 store at Compass Point. It really was way more troublesome than it should have been.

xRenol

Yup their appeal is only to mainly their fans. Last year g4 should have swayed some users once Samsung has no removable battery or microsd. Unfortunately, g4 sales was so so. My guess is, they went over to iphone as many of my friends are now using iPhones..

Worse off to have bootloop problems later on which I'm not so sure if they've really rectified that. Wanted to go with g4 but I see the way they handled it is really v bad - can hide just hide mentality.. They should've addressed it boldy to build consumers confidence and trust. I've been keen on g5 but after some thoughts, still can't decide yet. No Samsung for me for now, they're overpriced. Sian, not sure if should go with iPhone 7 :s22: not many Android choices left with which is reliable :(

Isn't iPhone also overpriced?

fortunecat

Yup their appeal is only to mainly their fans. Last year g4 should have swayed some users once Samsung has no removable battery or microsd. Unfortunately, g4 sales was so so. My guess is, they went over to iphone as many of my friends are now using iPhones..

Worse off to have bootloop problems later on which I'm not so sure if they've really rectified that. Wanted to go with g4 but I see the way they handled it is really v bad - can hide just hide mentality.. They should've addressed it boldy to build consumers confidence and trust. I've been keen on g5 but after some thoughts, still can't decide yet. No Samsung for me for now, they're overpriced. Sian, not sure if should go with iPhone 7 :s22: not many Android choices left with which is reliable :(
Yup, saw a lot of android users around me converting to iPhone 6/6s series.

Sent from LGE LG-H815 using GAGT

WhiteAnt

Isn't iPhone also overpriced?

No Samsung also because of sudden death in S3, yet overpriced. IPhone is definitely overpriced but if given the choice to choose between 2 overpriced products, rather take iPhone. [1] Apple will do recall of phone batches if there is genuine issues with the hardware. [2] Their camera is v snappy, the only thing that sway me there. [3] iPhone value won't drop like the Samsung. Not that I'm selling phones but at least when trading-in 2yrs later, it has a decent price fetch to offset the the contract plan

Need to touch feel the g5, as LG normally isn't overpriced. But v sad that their value also drop v fast...

Yup, saw a lot of android users around me converting to iPhone 6/6s series.

Sent from LGE LG-H815 using GAGT

Hannor , not that I like iPhone so much.. It's that Android phones aren't getting the reliability that I'm looking at sometimes. Maybe the only phone worthy is Nexus 6p but huawei is so meh :( Nexus 5x not as appealing due to the camera not so good leh, not like g4

a9500494a

No Samsung also because of sudden death in S3, yet overpriced. IPhone is definitely overpriced but if given the choice to choose between 2 overpriced products, rather take iPhone. [1] Apple will do recall of phone batches if there is genuine issues with the hardware. [2] Their camera is v snappy, the only thing that sway me there. [3] iPhone value won't drop like the Samsung. Not that I'm selling phones but at least when trading-in 2yrs later, it has a decent price fetch to offset the the contract plan

Need to touch feel the g5, as LG normally isn't overpriced. But v sad that their value also drop v fast...

Hannor , not that I like iPhone so much.. It's that Android phones aren't getting the reliability that I'm looking at sometimes. Maybe the only phone worthy is Nexus 6p but huawei is so meh :( Nexus 5x not as appealing due to the camera not so good leh, not like g4

I applaud apple for [1] which LG did badly not matter how much features their phone have.

I agreed resale value is good but one should buy something they like instead of looking at resale value. I for one will never like a close system with no sd card support as it is a deal breaker for me.

Next the ugly bezel must be as small as possible, good camera, high Cap battery and so on.

chiaRH

Dont worry too much about the resale value of a phone. It's not that important unless you change phones super often and if you're rich enough to be able to do that, then resale value isnt that big a deal still :s13:

I think if your current phone is reliable and good enough for daily use, there isn't really a need to desire the newest and latest model. Especially since these days, newer models bring such minor improvements that it's hard to justify the cost of buying a new phone every year.

xRenol

The main factor for me to skip iPhone is iTunes. I will only consider iPhone if one day they remove iTunes and reasonable price.

Point 1 - Not really. Apple just gave a Bumper Case to mitigate the iPhone 4 antenna issue.

Point 2 - I agreed that their camera is snappy.

Point 3 - I do not care much about resale value. I buy a phone to use and not to resell, and I do not change phones very often.

WhiteAnt

I applaud apple for [1] which LG did badly not matter how much features their phone have.

I agreed resale value is good but one should buy something they like instead of looking at resale value. I for one will never like a close system with no sd card support as it is a deal breaker for me.

Next the ugly bezel must be as small as possible, good camera, high Cap battery and so on.

Me basic user for photo-taking (most imptt), music, YouTube, emails, surfing and games hahaha. So any phones these days can do it, a matter of how lag and expensive it cost :s22:

Dont worry too much about the resale value of a phone. It's not that important unless you change phones super often and if you're rich enough to be able to do that, then resale value isnt that big a deal still :s13:

I think if your current phone is reliable and good enough for daily use, there isn't really a need to desire the newest and latest model. Especially since these days, newer models bring such minor improvements that it's hard to justify the cost of buying a new phone every year.

I think money still make a considerable factor in every purchase for me :( No doubt don't change phone yearly but iPhone trade in price after 2 yrs is still v high, compared to other overpriced phones. Can offset the cost will make the new phone cheaper is a plus point! True, new phones only minor upgrades but any phone to me will be a big upgrade since me using xiaomi :crazy:

The main factor for me to skip iPhone is iTunes. I will only consider iPhone if one day they remove iTunes and reasonable price.

Point 1 - Not really. Apple just gave a Bumper Case to mitigate the iPhone 4 antenna issue.

Point 2 - I agreed that their camera is snappy.

Point 3 - I do not care much about resale value. I buy a phone to use and not to resell, and I do not change phones very often.

Same, I dislike iTunes too.. Thats the reason why i go android after hearing friends saying no more sync for musics! I don't think the iPhone 4 antenna is spoiled or faulty. It's the design that makes it drop calls. Literally impossible to change unless they come up with a brand new phone. So to solve it with cheap bumper or any casing. At least they did recall my old iPod nano, after so many yrs with 1on1 exchange. And can't rmb which iPhone 5 batch has battery issue, they also did 1on1 exchange with existing owners.

Not sure if any other phone makers have come forward so readily? Maybe Sony has come close as Japanese co takes quality seriously. Wanted Sony phones but seeing how my friend go service center 3times due to water seeping in during a swim made me think otherwise for a waterproof feature. Somemore her cracked screen cost $300+ and she told me better don't get this :s22: I owned several Sony products and earphones are the least durable ones lol

chiaRH

Not sure if any other phone makers have come forward so readily? Maybe Sony has come close as Japanese co takes quality seriously. Wanted Sony phones but seeing how my friend go service center 3times due to water seeping in during a swim made me think otherwise for a waterproof feature. Somemore her cracked screen cost $300+ and she told me better don't get this :s22: I owned several Sony products and earphones are the least durable ones lol

The sony of today isnt the same legendary sony as the one in the past with super quality

The Z1 compact I had prior to G4 wasnt very good in build quality. It was a metal sandwich between 2 glass with the metal chipping off way too easily and the glass being prone to scratch (basically like the samsung S6 with more fragile glass) and their camera lens coating wore off even more severely than my G4's and it was non replaceable.

I would say it was only around the Z5 time that the glass quality feels like an improvement (switching to matte was a good choice) but it just feels like sony takes a long time to improve and they dont really take mobile seriously.

At the moment the only sony product I own is a XBA300 AP which is a earphone worth close to 400 bucks, dont dare to bring it outdoors cos also scared its fragile (plastic body and all, haha)

WhiteAnt

The sony of today isnt the same legendary sony as the one in the past with super quality

The Z1 compact I had prior to G4 wasnt very good in build quality. It was a metal sandwich between 2 glass with the metal chipping off way too easily and the glass being prone to scratch (basically like the samsung S6 with more fragile glass) and their camera lens coating wore off even more severely than my G4's and it was non replaceable.

I would say it was only around the Z5 time that the glass quality feels like an improvement (switching to matte was a good choice) but it just feels like sony takes a long time to improve and they dont really take mobile seriously.

At the moment the only sony product I own is a XBA300 AP which is a earphone worth close to 400 bucks, dont dare to bring it outdoors cos also scared its fragile (plastic body and all, haha)

Hannor true, Sony quality like not as legendary. Last time I have Sony Ericsson phone lol, lasted me v well :o

Not sure why isn't Sony putting effort into mobile. Seems like it has admitted defeat fr other phone manufacturers

:eek: $400 earphone wah u jin satki. I bought $60+ already heartache le. But I use it anywhere so maybe that's why a year or so kaput and buy new one. now use xiaomi lol as not audiophile level enough :o then the g5 module has partner with a sound company to make superior audio will make u a happy man!~ but u need to get it separately le

WhiteAnt

When is g5 putting up sample phone at telco or electronic shops?

Wanna play with it leh... I only see s7 and edge :s22:

xRenol

Hannor true, Sony quality like not as legendary. Last time I have Sony Ericsson phone lol, lasted me v well :o

Not sure why isn't Sony putting effort into mobile. Seems like it has admitted defeat fr other phone manufacturers

:eek: $400 earphone wah u jin satki. I bought $60+ already heartache le. But I use it anywhere so maybe that's why a year or so kaput and buy new one. now use xiaomi lol as not audiophile level enough :o then the g5 module has partner with a sound company to make superior audio will make u a happy man!~ but u need to get it separately le

Are Sony phones that bad? I am considering either LG G5 or Sony Xperia X Performance.

chiaRH

Are Sony phones that bad? I am considering either LG G5 or Sony Xperia X Performance.

The current generation should be good enough but I wouldnt recommend anything earlier than Z5 generation.

the Xperia X performance I think is just a Z5 with the glass replaced by brushed metal and they took a leaf out of LG's book by cutting the battery down by 200mAh

Have to bear in mind that xperia has near-flagship pricing too, for a phone that has nothing outstanding. The marketing will insist the camera is outstanding, but sony's image processing is bad at low light and camera app lacks full manual.

xRenol

The current generation should be good enough but I wouldnt recommend anything earlier than Z5 generation.

the Xperia X performance I think is just a Z5 with the glass replaced by brushed metal and they took a leaf out of LG's book by cutting the battery down by 200mAh

Have to bear in mind that xperia has near-flagship pricing too, for a phone that has nothing outstanding. The marketing will insist the camera is outstanding, but sony's image processing is bad at low light and camera app lacks full manual.

I am aware of Sony's image processing that why I am waiting for more reviews on both Sony Xperia X Performance and LG G5 since both are not launched in Singapore yet.

WhiteAnt

I am aware of Sony's image processing that why I am waiting for more reviews on both Sony Xperia X Performance and LG G5 since both are not launched in Singapore yet.

I think depends on what you're looking for in particular, and then take note of all the cons to see if you can swallow those.

I'm keen in experia since it has good battery life and waterproof/resistance.

However, once a small crack is formed on the screen display, the entire touch screen is rendered useless. No matter how u swipe or touch the app, it won't respond. My friend has experienced this, not once but twice, so I can verify it first hand. Unlike other phones where screen cracked can continue using until glass is changed. Not sure if it's still the same now as her xperia was z3 or z4 - v slippery phone.

I heard it's a less bloaty phone where users say after a year or two still snappy, unlike Samsung. So that's a plus point.

Quality, I can't be v sure.. Confirm better than Korean brands lol, that's for sure :o

I wish their point and shoot camera is as snappy... When it comes out then try out the display phone on the spot at telco!

chiaRH

However, once a small crack is formed on the screen display, the entire touch screen is rendered useless. No matter how u swipe or touch the app, it won't respond. My friend has experienced this, not once but twice, so I can verify it first hand. Unlike other phones where screen cracked can continue using until glass is changed.

This happend to my Z1 compact too, so i can testify it's a genuine fault in xperias.

I wish their point and shoot camera is as snappy... When it comes out then try out the display phone on the spot at telco!

The problem with trying out a phone camera at a store is you cant bring the photo home for real examination with you unless you secretly bluetooth it over into your device. Ive tried it before with the Z5 and it takes ages to send over something that is 23MP in resolution

xRenol

I think depends on what you're looking for in particular, and then take note of all the cons to see if you can swallow those.

I'm keen in experia since it has good battery life and waterproof/resistance.

However, once a small crack is formed on the screen display, the entire touch screen is rendered useless. No matter how u swipe or touch the app, it won't respond. My friend has experienced this, not once but twice, so I can verify it first hand. Unlike other phones where screen cracked can continue using until glass is changed. Not sure if it's still the same now as her xperia was z3 or z4 - v slippery phone.

I heard it's a less bloaty phone where users say after a year or two still snappy, u like Samsung. So that's a plus point.

Quality, I can't be v sure.. Confirm better than Korean brands lol, that's for sure :o

Thanks for the information.

a9500494a

This happend to my Z1 compact too, so i can testify it's a genuine fault in xperias.

The problem with trying out a phone camera at a store is you cant bring the photo home for real examination with you unless you secretly bluetooth it over into your device. Ive tried it before with the Z5 and it takes ages to send over something that is 23MP in resolution

Sony should sack their mobile cam software division. So much for good camera hardware. Their optics customers did a better job with their own software.

Sony is good in power saving and little bloatware. I used to have Xperia ZL which I loved so much until one day stuck permanently at boot logo. Thats just before G4 that i owned now.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.