LG G5

aang1971

Not sure if this person is sarcastic or so rich that 900 bucks is peanuts to him

Really it is only a 900 device, if you dun like it don't buy

900 is a small amount that will not break anybody's bank except the very poor, which there is Xiaomi

No point coming here crying foul when no one has done you harm

yknyong1

Good luck to those people paying premium price for an inferior quality phone. The build quality and image image retention issue on the lcd is totally unacceptable..

If you have too much money to burn, Please go ahead..
AMOLED phones are more prone to and have the worst screen burn in issues, images *permanently* burned into the screen... The LCD is at most image retention, that is, screen retain images up to a short period of time.

ALL phones suffer from these, in varying degrees. LCDs is still much better in this regard.

Now that you know, do you still want to buy a phone that is more expensive and more prone to burn in?

chiaRH

Really it is only a 900 device, if you dun like it don't buy

like that might as well can also say 'if you dont like seeing people complain about it, dun come to the forum thread'

it is meaningless to talk about "its only a $xxx device" because different customers have different threshold of willingness to pay. Like I own a G4 and I would be willing to get the G5, but I wouldnt be willing to pay 900 to get it when the improvement over the G4 isnt worth 900 to me

And likewise different people have different tolerance levels for the so-called flaws. Else why not go confront them also and be like "eh the LCD bleed only a little bit here and there you also want to be so ngiao meh? Dont like dont buy lah"

AMOLED phones are more prone to and have the worst screen burn in issues, images *permanently* burned into the screen... The LCD is at most image retention, that is, screen retain images up to a short period of time.

ALL phones suffer from these, in varying degrees. LCDs is still much better in this regard.

Now that you know, do you still want to buy a phone that is more expensive and more prone to burn in?

Realistically you'll never use a phone long enough for the long term screen problems to manifest enough to become a dealbreaker. There's been talk of the so called flaws of AMOLED from the burn in to the decay of the blue colours etc but people still love AMOLED and entire companies like Samsung swear by it

speaking of long term my G4's display already hit image retention at the mere age of 10 months

aang1971

like that might as well can also say 'if you dont like seeing people complain about it, dun come to the forum thread'

it is meaningless to talk about "its only a $xxx device" because different customers have different threshold of willingness to pay. Like I own a G4 and I would be willing to get the G5, but I wouldnt be willing to pay 900 to get it when the improvement over the G4 isnt worth 900 to me

And likewise different people have different tolerance levels for the so-called flaws. Else why not go confront them also and be like "eh the LCD bleed only a little bit here and there you also want to be so ngiao meh? Dont like dont buy lah"

Realistically you'll never use a phone long enough for the long term screen problems to manifest enough to become a dealbreaker. There's been talk of the so called flaws of AMOLED from the burn in to the decay of the blue colours etc but people still love AMOLED and entire companies like Samsung swear by it

speaking of long term my G4's display already hit image retention at the mere age of 10 months[/

You really seems to be fixated with the 900 price tag.

Even if the build is perfect, it is not the phone for you, as the modules when included, will push the price to over 1.2k.

yknyong1

speaking of long term my G4's display already hit image retention at the mere age of 10 months

Samsung swears by Super AMOLED because they are the manufacturer. They must. ;)

If you have used a Samsung device long enough, like I did, you'd find the screen fade off in more commonly used areas that display a certain colour tint. Imagine browsing a webpage and looking at a superimposed home screen at the same time. That's definitely more than what your G4 will ever show.

Image retention is really nothing if you have experienced AMOLED's burn in.

chiaRH

You really seems to be fixated with the 900 price tag.

Even if the build is perfect, it is not the phone for you, as the modules when included, will push the price to over 1.2k.

No the 900 was a response to sellwatchs's earlier post, thats all.

I think most people who are buying the phone will only buy the phone and not the modules because you can still use the phone by itself.

The modules will probably fall under the 'good to have but not strictly necessary' stuff that will only be bought by those people who really want them. That or it gets sold as a bundle like the S7 with the Gear VR.

If you have used a Samsung device long enough, like I did, you'd find the screen fade off in more commonly used areas that display a certain colour tint.

Yeah but we dont have enough people using the device long term.

I feel that its a problem too because the short lifecycle of phones makes manufacturers treat it as less of a priority to properly future proof their devices. The short warranty combined with the equally short telco recontract cycle encourages the market to buy new phones. Worse still it encourages manufacturers to keep inventing new phones every year and struggle to meet the release window, and thats where they throw caution to the wind when it comes to QC and other stuff.

In other news, that new HTC 10 is looking pretty compelling. They finally stopped using crap toshiba sensors and went to a 1/2.3 inch sony 12MP sensor with 1.55 micron pixels. It could be like shooting on a nexus 6P with optical stabilisation.

Its funny cos LG was the low light king with the G4 last year and everyone's trying to snatch that crown away now this year but LG doesnt even care and instead went to play a different game with wide angle lens

aang1971

No the 900 was a response to sellwatchs's earlier post, thats all.

I think most people who are buying the phone will only buy the phone and not the modules because you can still use the phone by itself.

The modules will probably fall under the 'good to have but not strictly necessary' stuff that will only be bought by those people who really want them. That or it gets sold as a bundle like the S7 with the Gear VR.

Good that you clarify.

I was interested in this, but decided to switch my interest in the 10, probably get it from HK if they got the snapdragon 820 64gb dual sim variant

gsnba84

I see no one has the Korean set and tried it yet.
I have the Korean set and it is in my opinion quite great.
It seems like the US review sets were probably pre production.
These are my personal opinions...
The gaps are basically non-existant.
There is no lag of any sort.
The wide angle camera is a very good addition. It really changes the way I take pictures, especially when I go on a trip and I need to take pictures of landscapes and buildings. The low light in the wide angle is worse than the normal camera, but it isn't that noticeably worse. Maybe I am not a professional that's why but really not that noticeable
I used to have the S7 edge before I sold it and I compared the low light shots. The difference is quite negligible. The S7 does a bit better in low light indoors, but low light outdoors and especially night shots I think the G5 does better. The S7 always has this yellowish glow?tint? which is extremely apparent in night shots. Also, even the 16:9 mode in S7 has barelling. Just take a picture in 16:9 mode and you will notice how a normal tv suddenly turns into a curved TV.
The Cam Plus is OK. I usually only bring it out when I know I will take a lot of pictures.
The real good thing about the Hi Fi Plus is actually that you can plug it to a PC. I think this is because a lot of PCs, especially old PCs like mine...have very bad DACs. Even just using the Quadbeat3 (from V10) I plugged in the hi fi plus to the PC and the sound difference is immediately noticeable.
The 360 cam is my favorite. I would recommend it even if you have any other phone. The process is so easy and the result is quite amazing. Everyone that I have shown this to has been wowed. I usually put in on a selfie stick, move around with it and let it record. The results are quite good
Lastly the battery life lasts me the whole day and I haven't really used my battery charging cradle yet. For my G4 I used to leave a spare battery charging in the office the whole time so I can switch whenever.

Sorry for the long post but really the phone is quite good and people should give it a chance.

chiaRH

I see no one has the Korean set and tried it yet.
I have the Korean set and it is in my opinion quite great.
It seems like the US review sets were probably pre production.

All the jerry rig, erica griffin etc videos were looking at retail units though, not the old pre production ones from MWC. Those retail units had the gaps, the bleeds and the antenna-band-still-can-feel-it-through-the-paint-layer stuff...

The low light in the wide angle is worse than the normal camera, but it isn't that noticeably worse.

i tried it and the quality seems on par with the front selfie cam so if youre not satisfied with the front cam in low light, probably will be similarly disappointed with the wide angle cam in low light.

However I think you can still go full manual on the wide angle cam so that may be 1 saving grace if you need a low light wide angle scenery shot. Just mount tripod and do long exposure.

gsnba84

All the jerry rig, erica griffin etc videos were looking at retail units though, not the old pre production ones from MWC. Those retail units had the gaps, the bleeds and the antenna-band-still-can-feel-it-through-the-paint-layer stuff...

i tried it and the quality seems on par with the front selfie cam so if youre not satisfied with the front cam in low light, probably will be similarly disappointed with the wide angle cam in low light.

However I think you can still go full manual on the wide angle cam so that may be 1 saving grace if you need a low light wide angle scenery shot. Just mount tripod and do long exposure.

You tried it in the stores. I have used it several times in real world situations. (I bought it during Korean launch, so I have used it for quite a bit now) The quality is better than the selfie cam at least. It isn't as good as the normal 16MP shooter, but in my experience it works much better than the selfie cam. When I get home I will post an example.

gsnba84

Like I said before, it is my opinion based on experience using the two phones (S7 and G5). I don't think a single image justifies it either, but just showing an example. Some people might like the S7 image better even if it is yellowish.
I really don't think the wide angle is as bad as the front camera.
Could it be better? Of course it could but it is still very much usable in low light even in auto mode. All these photos were taken in auto mode. If I used manual mode for all three they would have turned out much better.

G5
8i8uIY4.jpg

G5 Wide
X0NmnI7.jpg

S7
1iS1nq4.jpg

kelvinti

Go G5...! Yeah! :s22:

$900 is not a peanut neither a pistol to your head! Yeah! :s22:

chiaRH

@gsnba84

Since you have the G5 already can you comment on the chroma noise under low light? My personal experience with the G4 is anything beyond ISO200 will go severely down the drain in terms of chroma noise.

managed to dig up one of my low light handheld shots using the G4
fPKmuwB.jpg

think this was ISO 100 cos i wanted to avoid said chroma noise as much as possible and I think I had to shoot handheld at around 1/3 or 0.5 second exposure which was super challenging.

Shooting auto at this kind of lighting would crank ISO to 600+ which is really noisy

The samsung phone looks like its having trouble with white balance. I get that on some apps on the G4 too, when shooting manual and ISO is low. I'd have to purposely set a high ISO, wait for the WB to autocorrect, then set ISO back down to the low amount.

UPDATE:
zzx.png

noise reduction difference between ISO200 and ISO100 on the G4 in a brightly lit environment, can really see at which point it really starts to kick in

garychengjw

Dear,
The LG Cam Plus and LG Hi Fi Plus will be available from April 16th to May 31st as a bundle that can be purchased with a purchase of the LG G5 for only 274 SGD (Usual Price 456 SGD).

The 360 camera and 360 VR will be available from May 1st to May 31st for a promotional price of 590 SGD (Usual Price 946 SGD).

The bundles can be purchased at any telco store or authorized LG Mobile retailer while stocks last.

All the 4 accessories above will be available for purchase as a standalone device from June 1st.

The Rolling Bot will be available for sale from June at 398 SGD with a purchase of an LG G5. (Usual Price 498 SGD).

The Rolling Bot will be available for purchase as a standalone device from July 1st.

Thank you and have a nice day ahead!

Cheers
LG Mobile Singapore

Sent from Samsung SM-G935F using GAGT

technolust

Dear,
The LG Cam Plus and LG Hi Fi Plus will be available from April 16th to May 31st as a bundle that can be purchased with a purchase of the LG G5 for only 274 SGD (Usual Price 456 SGD).

The 360 camera and 360 VR will be available from May 1st to May 31st for a promotional price of 590 SGD (Usual Price 946 SGD).

The bundles can be purchased at any telco store or authorized LG Mobile retailer while stocks last.

All the 4 accessories above will be available for purchase as a standalone device from June 1st.

The Rolling Bot will be available for sale from June at 398 SGD with a purchase of an LG G5. (Usual Price 498 SGD).

The Rolling Bot will be available for purchase as a standalone device from July 1st.

Thank you and have a nice day ahead!

Cheers
LG Mobile Singapore

Sent from Samsung SM-G935F using GAGT

Wah Gary, which accessories you askin aiming for?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.