LG G6

kopi22

Was so looking forward to this phone but my deal breaker is the reduced mega pixel camera... I owned the G5 and V20. Loved the 8mp front cam of G5 which is so clear and hated the 5mp V20. Now G6 is back to 5mp for front cam and I wonder will the quality be affected

Well, the older models wide angle cameras are only 8MP and using a much lousier sensor. But G6 is using the same sensor for both standard and wide angle. Pros and cons I believe.

kopi22

Wah kopi bro, ready to jump from your v20? I dunno leh, abit concerned about screen burn in of lg

Ha ha... doubt so. Still prefer with removal battery. V20 is pretty slim too. 2 sims + sd card is the best combinations.

Inertiaholic

is it just me or is this a bigger disappointment than G5? I see almost nothing new or exciting...And i think i felt the same way about G5 as compared to G4. I think LG is really losing the plot.

I was expecting non-modular, dual speakers, much better camera and some features that I had not expected from LG, but all i seem to see now is a Priv kinda form factor ie a long screen.

OutBreak

I do not understand why LG is using Gorilla Glass 3 on the display and Gorilla Glass 5 on the back.. Cut cost? :s22:

OddEye

Actually why use glass in the first place? Why not learn HTC metal approach.

technolust

Actually why use glass in the first place? Why not learn HTC metal approach.
haha, everyone go towards glass on metal liao. Last year LG use metal tio ream.
this year they follow everyone else

Even HTC also is glass on metal. Look at the ultra u

technolust

Ha ha... doubt so. Still prefer with removal battery. V20 is pretty slim too. 2 sims + sd card is the best combinations.
hehe, i know more into smaller phones liao. But hor i hear burn in really quite common with LG phones

chiaRH

hehe, i know more into smaller phones liao. But hor i hear burn in really quite common with LG phones

i had it on my G4 and on my parent's G5

That being said I had my G4's screen replaced in Jan 2016, and up till now the replacement which is from a different batch than the original display batch has no retention (or at least not yet, touch wood haha)

ChuaHeAn

I do not understand why LG is using Gorilla Glass 3 on the display and Gorilla Glass 5 on the back.. Cut cost? :s22:

I believe they do that is because GC3 is more resistant to scratches while GC5 is more resistant to impact but can get slightly scratch up compared to GC3. Cant be totally sure tho cause i saw some youtuber explain one...

Fellowes

Lg G6 for Singapore will be a 64GB version with Quad DAC just like the V20 .

Specs :
5.7 inch Fullvision Display
2880 X 1440 Resolution
Supports HDR10/Dolby Vision HDR*
18:9 Aspect ratio
Up to 700 Nits brightNess on Auto
IPS LCD Panel
*(world's first phone to have dolby bison HDR support)

3300mah Li-Ion battery with extra safe mechanism inside to prevent overheating and expansion of battery cells

Sturdy Aluminium chassis surrounded by Corning Gorilla glass ( glass 5 in the front , Glass 4 on the camera lens , glass 3 on the back )

Dual 13MP Camera ( 71° FOV F/1.8 & 125° F/2.4 FOV ) phase and contrast auto focus no more laser autofocus , dual Led flash
Video / image manual mode (just like the V20)

SNAPDRAGON S821
4GB Lpddr4/4x Ram
64GB Internal Memory
Single SiM / dual sim

Quad DAC Dac/Amp

Qualcomm Quick charge 3.0
USB type C
WiFi a/b/c/g/n/ac (more bands included)
Bluetooth 4.0

IP68 water and dust resistant

The missing feature: wireless charging.

I 100% can tell you, Samsung will make sure every region get wireless charging and AKG tuned audio.
Their only difference will be SD835 (USA and China) and ROTW get Exynos 8895 by default 32GB/64GB and some region maybe 128GB. LG trying to be funny and limit themselves in hardware features.

year2013

I think need to wait for Galaxy S8!!
1. LG G6 - looks good but LG battery life is always poor and their UI sucks
2. Xperia XZ Premium - Sony still in 2014 it seems, plus now I cannot trust their camera
3. Huawei P10 - never tried, do not want to move to Huawei as my company apps won't be supported :)

musicsg_com

I think need to wait for Galaxy S8!!
1. LG G6 - looks good but LG battery life is always poor and their UI sucks
2. Xperia XZ Premium - Sony still in 2014 it seems, plus now I cannot trust their camera
3. Huawei P10 - never tried, do not want to move to Huawei as my company apps won't be supported :)

Dilemma for camera users. Each has their own advantages.

G6 has wide angle, something that is so great to use.

Xperia XZ Premium and XZs introduces slow-motion 960 fps shooting. Another amazing feature that once you use it, you will be wowed at how life passes us by too fast.

P10 has the Leica brand, and continues having a dedicated monochrome sensor. Based on my review on the Mate 9, Huawei has the best camera for selfies and social media posting. Using the wide aperture mode makes images pop up and isolate, something that can only be achieved with DSLR and expensive lens. It's not perfect, but social media sharing is adequate.

http://musicphotolife.com/2017/02/mwc-2017-lg-g6-huawei-p10-sony-xperia-xz-premium/

Fellowes

LG latest UI still look some child play. I think Samsung Touchwiz sucks but they have change it to the newer Grace UX which look more professional and less childish and the Nougat update makes the S7 & S7 Edge fly really fast, expect S8 to be even faster!

Sorry LG. I think not many people will buy this phone, spec to spec, hardware feature to hardware feature and pricing wise, you did restrict yourself in regional hardware spec idea plus using an older CPU.

The dumbest decisions ever is the regional spec restriction. Quote: "LG says this is because the demand for wireless charging is higher in the US, so it doesn’t make sense to offer it in other areas."
You make a serious mistake here, to use it or not, we customers decide, not you removing feature, I assure LG that wireless charging will be on all Galaxy S8 as Samsung already make it as a default spec since Galaxy S6 2 years ago.

"That Quad HiFi DAC will be exclusive to overseas markets in Asia, including Korea and a few other unspecified markets". One of the main feature but you restrict it to Asia, I think you don't want Amercian markets sales.

You got a great time to shine as the Galaxy S8 is delay for sales yet you have a lot of stupid pattern.

I don't know whether the G6 is a 2016 or 2017 spec phone. Seriously LG??? Be like Apple, standardised the hardware specification with all colours and all storage size and launch in all countries, koreans OEM are really funny at times.

https://9to5google.com/2017/02/26/lg-g6-region-restricted-features/

kelvinti

Yeah!

LG just doesn't get it right again.

For G6, I preferred they stick to 16:9 but with a 5.9" display with the same size in form factor rather than 18:9 / 5.7" at this moment of year or the next 1 year...

Too bad. I'm not impressed by G6...

Likely to get the S8+...

Fellowes

Yeah!

LG just doesn't get it right again.

For G6, I preferred they stick to 16:9 but with a 5.9" display with the same size in form factor rather than 18:9 / 5.7" at this moment of year or the next 1 year...

Too bad. I'm not impressed by G6...

Likely to get the S8+...
Lol, S8 is likely to be using the same aspect ratio of 18:9 with 5.8 (S8) and 6.2 (S8+) moving away from 16.9.

kelvinti

Lol, S8 is likely to be using the same aspect ratio of 18:9 with 5.8 (S8) and 6.2 (S8+) moving away from 16.9.

Like that, I go buy a Samsung or LG TV instead .... Sianz... Haha.

But, I don't understand leh...

G6 is a 5.7" with 18:9 ratio.

Then, how can a S8 5.8" fits the 18:9 ratio in comparison?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.