LG G6

OutBreak

Sian... Just wanted to remove any app that is deemed useless

Maybe some apps can be disabled or hidden with Nova Launcher Prime. But I guess LG phone is less bloated than Samsung. Haha..

Anyway, if there is a possibility of rooting G6, you will lose the 2 years warranty.

chiaRH

Maybe some apps can be disabled or hidden with Nova Launcher Prime. But I guess LG phone is less bloated than Samsung. Haha..

Anyway, if there is a possibility of rooting G6, you will lose the 2 years warranty.

from what i recall, LG now only allows bootloader unlock on european variants so no rooting for us

there was once I wanted to explore if my G4 bootloader can be unlocked and I learned that it wasnt possible cos it was SEA variant

lousydrinker

Really? Long time no use Samsung phone liao

I dun really need to root, just wanna have the freedom to remove whatever app we dun need

lousydrinker

but since when have we ever had that freedom on any phone that didnt come from google (nexus/pixel)

I dun know lah, long time no use android phone liao

Last time fruit phone also cannot remove but at least now they improved

HTC not much bloatware but I dun like how the U11 looks

I tot SE can remove some of the bloatware when I using Z1

chiaRH

I dun know lah, long time no use android phone liao

the current generation of android phones 'generally' have a lot less bloat than in the past

However mostly what you see is there to stay and cant be uninstalled. Some can, but it is on a case by case basis. For example LG Smart Doctor cant be uninstalled (it cant even be disabled) but I believe some apps like LG Health can be uninstalled.

You have to decide for yourself is it really a dealbreaker if theres one or two (or several) unwanted apps that you have 'no choice' but to keep.

lousydrinker

the current generation of android phones 'generally' have a lot less bloat than in the past

However mostly what you see is there to stay and cant be uninstalled. Some can, but it is on a case by case basis. For example LG Smart Doctor cant be uninstalled (it cant even be disabled) but I believe some apps like LG Health can be uninstalled.

You have to decide for yourself is it really a dealbreaker if theres one or two (or several) unwanted apps that you have 'no choice' but to keep.

LG health can stay, these app no choice de but I saw evernote which I like to remove

It might not be a deal breaker but something more to consider when buying

chiaRH

LG health can stay, these app no choice de but I saw evernote which I like to remove

It might not be a deal breaker but something more to consider when buying

FYI yes evernote can be uninstalled

But it really is no point going app by app and considering can it be uninstalled or can it not be uninstalled, to answer your question fully is going to require going to the store and hogging a display set for 10 mins as you scroll through the app drawer, picking out all the apps that you consider as bloat and checking their uninstall option.

Then like that consider here consider there dunno when also can make up mind.

Most of us just choose to live with it (i..e the stuff we cant remove) cos its no big deal in terms of performance/resource impact. Compared to the past android is already very considerably debloated in recent times.

elementz

Yah, is it really a deal breaker just because some apps can't be uninstalled? Am sure the deal breakers are something bigger like battery life, camera quality, lack of 3.5mm jack, etc.

lousydrinker

Yah, is it really a deal breaker just because some apps can't be uninstalled? Am sure the deal breakers are something bigger like battery life, camera quality, lack of 3.5mm jack, etc.

Like I said, is not a deal breaker, just wanna know what m I getting cos I dun change phone often

DriftKing

Some quick questions that I can't manage to reach an answer:

1) My video does not play in Gallery, just showing black screen when I click play

2) Any way to set Aperture manually for the camera?

chiaRH

2) Any way to set Aperture manually for the camera?

Phones are fixed aperture, to my knowledge the panasonic lumix CM1 was the only phone to ever allow manual changing of aperture on a smartphone

(if however you refer to the 'software-bokeh' adjustment like the so called 'wide aperture' controls on huawei, then no G6 doesnt have a portrait mode)

DriftKing

Phones are fixed aperture, to my knowledge the panasonic lumix CM1 was the only phone to ever allow manual changing of aperture on a smartphone

(if however you refer to the 'software-bokeh' adjustment like the so called 'wide aperture' controls on huawei, then no G6 doesnt have a portrait mode)

Thanks! My Samsung S6 has the capability to set aperture, not sure whats the difficulty to implement that to make use of it.

Does anyone know how to fix the video playing problem? I still can't get it to play anywhere in the phone..

chiaRH

Thanks! My Samsung S6 has the capability to set aperture, not sure whats the difficulty to implement that to make use of it..

Er isnt the S6 stuck at f/1.9? How do you change the aperture on that device?

The difficulty in variable aperture is this
Aperture.jpg

thats how real cameras do it, they have aperture blades that open or close up to create a 'hole' whose size can be enlarged or shrunk

batboyz

Was trying ported Google cam app with HDR+ on my G6. LG image processing really applies too much sharpening, prefer Google HDR+ processing. Those splotchy spots on the image produced by LG cam is really ugly.

LG Cam (manual auto) - shutter: 1/25s, ISO: 650
VAAKXp

Google Cam with HDR+ - shutter: 1/33s, ISO: 841
1PUwAv

chiaRH

i tried that HDR+ thing too, in low light there is a purple cast, not sure is it a color profile issue but I think for low light I will stick to Snap Camera's Night mode

Also for that HDR+ app if you purposely turn off HDR, the quality has significant RGB noise at 100% zoom.

batboyz

Yup, HDR+ is a must for low light. I am not seeing purple cast so far, not sure. Took those pics under room lighting condition, not very bright.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.