LG V20

batboyz

Can V20 multitask split screen a not like the ones on Samsung note?

Yes, that's standard Android Nougat feature now, no longer LG own implementation.

Yes but I think not all app.

It should, unless the app dev trying to be funny and specifically disallow the app from entering multi window mode, othereise the system will try its best to enter split screen (with a warning).

tt32003

After camping on qoo10 for days finally purchased the v20. Got it after a long deliberation between oneplus3, some xiaomi phones like mi5 plus, mi note 3, then google pixel and finally settled on the v20. I was initially looking for a budget phone but camera quality will be my priority as I will be travelling and am too lazy to bring a camera (already have a sports cam). Actually I love the camera quality on iPhones in general (especially the ip7+) but I'm more of an android person. So I took the next alternative.

Stacked promos and got one for 790. Going to collect the phone at Bugis tomorrow and will update here.

790 ?

Do share the lobang please

nangka1

IMO... when I switched from note 7. to v20 I found that the camera lacked quality, the photos are duller, could be 2 reasons. The v20 display was colder. But I'm enjoying the convience of the wide angle. Its a trade off. As the saying goes, the best camera is the one you have with you....
Given a choice I loved the note7's camera.

Sent from LGE LG-H990 using GAGT

kopi22

IMO... when I switched from note 7. to v20 I found that the camera lacked quality, the photos are duller, could be 2 reasons. The v20 display was colder. But I'm enjoying the convience of the wide angle. Its a trade off. As the saying goes, the best camera is the one you have with you....

Guess it can be improved via updates. The hardware is there I believe. Is all up to LG now. Me just joined the club too after using IPhone for a year. Still trying to adjust to the platform. But I have 1 quick question: can I assign certain home screen as the default panel? I usually use the home panel in the middle instead of on the very first left. Thanks!

altca4

I loved they note 7 but not a bomb... Waiting to check out s8.

I had used n7, I7 plus and v20's camera for quite a bit, imo for still images:

All 3 have no noticeable shutter lag after key press
All 3 takes quality shots (if your compare huawei p9 plus with its Leica setup, p9 plus
is not within the league of the above 3 in terms of image clarity and quality. Although p9 plus have nice artsy Leica color tones)

N7:
+fastest auto focus on all camera phones up to this point. Best to shoot toddlers and kids in action. (Reason I got into the phone camera thing)
+ bright and clear low light shot (unrealistically bright lol)

-over processed picture, pictures looks sharper than others generally but it's over processing at play

i7 plus:
+ best true to scene white balance
+ arguably more consistent

-aged and slower focus (This used to be I phones' forte)
-weaker low light
-minimal control with no manual mode

Neutral: don't find much need for optical zoom

V20:
+ awesome control with best in market manual mode
+ wide angle capability is very welcomed
+ more versatile in all conditions due to above 2 points

-over saturated... If you think the galaxy series overdid it, this is worse
-over blown highlights on occasions
-weaker battery than other two and thus less shots

x_noobie

when i switched over from n7, the 1st thing i noticed was how cold the color temp on the v20 was.

after that i turned on comfort view and set it on lowest setting and left it on since. screen looks much better

kelvinti

From a AMOLED display to IPS display.... Not easy to like and accept it.... Very tough indeed. :(

I was from IPS to AMOLED...Loving the AMOLED for sure..... No substitute for it..:)

Vulpix

From a AMOLED display to IPS display.... Not easy to like and accept it.... Very tough indeed. :(

I was from IPS to AMOLED...Loving the AMOLED for sure..... No substitute for it..:)

N7 using AMOLED. V20 using IPS LCD. How to compare?

AMOLED is the bomb. If there is one thing I miss, it's AMOLED display. :( This IPS just isn't as brilliant. :(

kopi22

I do prefer IPS display though. I know can adjust the tone with AMOLED but I find the color is either too vibrant or too dull. Not to my liking at least. Is personal preference though. :D

Vulpix

I do prefer IPS display though. I know can adjust the tone with AMOLED but I find the color is either too vibrant or too dull. Not to my liking at least. Is personal preference though. :D

Yeah, everyone got preference. But the one thing I just won't be giving up is the audio DAC. I plug the same earphone into my Nexus 6P with same music with same player, can hear lack of details already... :(

I don't play games much on my phone or watch videos, the sound quality is the important thing to me.

tt32003

Seems like the camera in V20 needs some manual control to have best photo quality.

bedlamite

Yeah, everyone got preference. But the one thing I just won't be giving up is the audio DAC. I plug the same earphone into my Nexus 6P with same music with same player, can hear lack of details already... :(
this DAC

THIS DAC

I haven't even used the camera yet lol, just goes to show how much I care about photography. But everyone's got their priorities, and I do understand how important a good camera would be for lots of people. I've said this before, but it does seem like the optics are at least competitive with the other flagships, manual mode seems to work well but it's just the auto mode that just isn't up to par. Looks like a software issue and let's hope LG patches this up in coming updates.

kopi22 said:
Guess it can be improved via updates. The hardware is there I believe. Is all up to LG now. Me just joined the club too after using IPhone for a year. Still trying to adjust to the platform. But I have 1 quick question: can I assign certain home screen as the default panel? I usually use the home panel in the middle instead of on the very first left. Thanks!
the stock launcher is kind of barebones, isn't it? I tried switching to Nova Prime within the first 2 hours of using the phone lol but it's just not working well with the V20's second screen. stuck with stock until I get around to sorting this out, and ugh...You can't assign a home screen, can't switch icons (aside from the terrible LG ones in the theme switcher), no infinite scroll, wah lau

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.