[LIVE AS WE GO] Pritam Singh goes on trial for charges of lying to Parliament

charleslee1989

Yea cj can select any judge there to oversee his appeal. Supreme court is very high paygrade unlike state courts. State court judge can easier be conflicted since want to have chance impress and rise up the system.

From the looks judge had decided and one of the days he said leave the cop botched evidence thing for appeal. Its only whether waive away first charge.
Supreme Court judges are very in demand one in Singapore's private sector one......Some supreme court judges even can practice outside Singapore one.....

They are that satki.....

tanjhj

justice dept should be seperate from PM office. It should be another branch for election. To ensure law is fair n side the people. LKY era over. Need to change as new mgmt not as clean as before. Imo.

Baddieko

justice dept should be seperate from PM office. It should be another branch for election. To ensure law is fair n side the people. LKY era over. Need to change as new mgmt not as clean as before. Imo.
Its all along seperate but a lot of conflicts happen like Justice can jump over to AG as promotion. Personal lawyer can be Ag.

mryang

Prosecution grills Pritam Singh on contradictions from Low Thia Khiang's evidence as verdict set for February

The prosecution questioned Worker's Party (WP) chief Pritam Singh regarding his meeting with predecessor Low Thia Khiang and WP chairwoman Sylvia Lim during his trial on Friday (Nov 8).

READ: https://bit.ly/3UHPpMy

Follow @Asiaonecom for all the latest updates

pspandwp

Let's just say the standards at the Supreme Court circuit are set very high. Those folks over there reports to the CJ himself.

The CJ is a very powerful person that can actually preside over court hearings if he wants to.

The second most powerful group of judges in Singapore would be the COA trio.

These 4 are the who's who of the legal circuits in Singapore....

From the Internet - The president appoints the chief justice on the prime minister's recommendation.

zohn1999

I honestly think the court case is super bo liao. Biggest example of digging molehill out of a mountain. Yes Pritam lied or maybe his memory failed, not perfect. So?

A good reason not to vote PAP next election if they want to play such dirty tricks.

Bam25th

What is a lie and what is not?

If I tell my wife I want to eat chicken rice for dinner, but end up eating duck rice, did I lie to her? Or did I simply just made up my mind when I saw how nice the duck hanging in the stall, although previously I’m half a mind chicken rice and another half duck rice? Did I lie because I didn’t tell my wife I 50% want chicken rice and 50% want duck rice, although I just simply simplified it to chicken rice as I thought it is inconsequential.

And when my wife questioned me why I eat duck rice instead of chicken rice, and I answered that originally I wanted to eat chicken rice, did I lied?

lol this case is so funny…… maybe my wife should sue me for lying too 😅😅😅

testart

Lols need rehab anotch?
Don't think so

RK the best lor

She just resigned from MP and can go back father company work or continue as housewife ...

But PS就惨了...he wasted energy, time, money and may even lose the seat as MP

charleslee1989

From the Internet - The president appoints the chief justice on the prime minister's recommendation.
Oh well, he could've plumped for Lucien Wong lol....

The prosecutor said out "solicitor general" (attorney general) by mistake, instead of secretary-general during one of the sessions. I wonder if the prosecutor was thinking about his future position in AGC.

That is pretty plausible given how advanced in age the current AG was compared to his predecessor.....Places up for grabs lol...

yperic

毕丹星已完成供证,辩方律师表示不会传召其他证人,案件展期到明年初让控辩双方提交结案陈词,法官将于明年2月17日针对毕丹星是否罪成作出裁决。

🔗 完整报道:https://8w.news/4eC6ZZv

kimsix

Pritam's the leader of WP.

He backed Raeesah back then, before she was elected, .. wonder if he's still as supportive of her .. NOW.

Pritam Singh spoke of Raeesah's "positive traits" such as how she was empathetic, listened intently to residents and their problems, and displayed patience when dealing with them.

Of course not now.
Prata gave her chance to come clean, but she twist the knife and accused prata take to grave.

Beware of woke siao langs is the lesson

blueweed

I honestly think the court case is super bo liao. Biggest example of digging molehill out of a mountain. Yes Pritam lied or maybe his memory failed, not perfect. So?

A good reason not to vote PAP next election if they want to play such dirty tricks.
karma exist, beware of backlash for those heavyhanded types. what goes around comes around

wisdom55

Can someone explain how Low Thia Kiang's few statement as a witness ended up kena pull down also?

yperic

Day 13 of the trial of Opposition Leader Pritam Singh saw him questioned at length over inconsistencies in former Workers' Party (WP) chief Low Thia Khiang's evidence in court. Singh, who is the WP secretary-general, says discrepancies in their accounts of events are a "question of memories". Jeraldine Yap reports.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.