Living in JB

Feeling down, anxious and need help? Mental Health Helpline: 6389-2222 (24 hours) More info

Broadwalk

Got retrenched recently and stressing up over living well in Singapore.:o I am considering moving my parents and myself to jb and would like to seek inputs to assess if it is feasible and sustainable to stay in jb?:o I am 41 and parents are in their 70/80s.:o I intend to rent whole unit hdb to finance the expenses in jb and parents will sell off their hdb and we will use that amount to get a property in jb.:o please input.:o

Mergui219067

Traveling daily to work here is no fun.
Many Malaysians wake up at 3-4 am & reach
home at 7-8 pm.

Mecisteus

Why not your parents rent out their HDB too?

It is better to rent in JB. You can try the new Puteri Cove condo. Enjoy the new facilities and unit. Budget around $4k.

Move on to other location if you don't like.

vddgnd

Got retrenched recently and stressing up over living well in Singapore.:o I am considering moving my parents and myself to jb and would like to seek inputs to assess if it is feasible and sustainable to stay in jb?:o I am 41 and parents are in their 70/80s.:o I intend to rent whole unit hdb to finance the expenses in jb and parents will sell off their hdb and we will use that amount to get a property in jb.:o please input.:o
Why choose a difficult turning back way leh? Don't sell their hdb first, just rent out, then rent in JB. See u all can adapt to living there or not. If not as good as expected and want to come back, still has own house here.

wealth_farmer

TS, sorry to hear you got retrenched. I've been there before so I understand how you feel. I don't know much about living in JB beyond what is shared here, so what I'm going to say may sound off-topic.

I don't know if this is the first time you got retrenched, or what kind of retrenchment package you got, or how much savings you have on hand. All I can say is that when I got retrenched, mentally I got destabilised. Not that I went crazy, but I definitely went into a period of "survival mode" where I thought about all kinds of ways I can cope with it. Sad to say, most of them are harebrained ideas that only come to the desperate. Amongst other things, I almost signed up for one of Adam Khoo's courses :s13:

I don't know how recent your retrenchment was, but I suggest a two-month cool-down period before you take any major decision, such as relocating to JB. At 41, unless you've already got a bundle saved up and can go into semi-retirement, your main goal is probably to seek re-employment as soon as possible. I'm sorry to sound like I'm piling on the pressure here, but I've found that being out of the workforce for too long is detrimental to my own prospects. I took too long to find my next job, but I was lucky that I did. However, if this happens to me again, I would seek employment as soon as possible. During this time, focus on optimising your spending as best as you can, and start job hunting. Reaching out to your network regarding job opportunities is more crucial during this time, than upping sticks to another country.

The good news is that, as I've found out, the gahmen does provide support to retrenched workers. As you are over 40, the support is more generous. You can find out more here.

Anyway, not sure if you know all the above I've said already, but main thing I'm saying is don't take the decision to relocate too fast. Apologies in advance if what I've said is not applicable to you. Beyond what the other forummers have said, you may also want to consider what kind of medical support your parents (who are quite elderly) can get in JB. That's the only other point I can think of, other than the painful point of commuting for work between JB and Singapore that's already mentioned.

Good luck!

Broadwalk

TS, sorry to hear you got retrenched. I've been there before so I understand how you feel. I don't know much about living in JB beyond what is shared here, so what I'm going to say may sound off-topic.

I don't know if this is the first time you got retrenched, or what kind of retrenchment package you got, or how much savings you have on hand. All I can say is that when I got retrenched, mentally I got destabilised. Not that I went crazy, but I definitely went into a period of "survival mode" where I thought about all kinds of ways I can cope with it. Sad to say, most of them are harebrained ideas that only come to the desperate. Amongst other things, I almost signed up for one of Adam Khoo's courses :s13:

I don't know how recent your retrenchment was, but I suggest a two-month cool-down period before you take any major decision, such as relocating to JB. At 41, unless you've already got a bundle saved up and can go into semi-retirement, your main goal is probably to seek re-employment as soon as possible. I'm sorry to sound like I'm piling on the pressure here, but I've found that being out of the workforce for too long is detrimental to my own prospects. I took too long to find my next job, but I was lucky that I did. However, if this happens to me again, I would seek employment as soon as possible. During this time, focus on optimising your spending as best as you can, and start job hunting. Reaching out to your network regarding job opportunities is more crucial during this time, than upping sticks to another country.

The good news is that, as I've found out, the gahmen does provide support to retrenched workers. As you are over 40, the support is more generous. You can find out more here.

Anyway, not sure if you know all the above I've said already, but main thing I'm saying is don't take the decision to relocate too fast. Apologies in advance if what I've said is not applicable to you. Beyond what the other forummers have said, you may also want to consider what kind of medical support your parents (who are quite elderly) can get in JB. That's the only other point I can think of, other than the painful point of commuting for work between JB and Singapore that's already mentioned.

Good luck!

Thanks for the information. :o This is very useful to me. :o I have been unemployed since March shortly after CNY. :o Feel depress and really derail from any positive thoughts and energies. :o I feel kinda lost and confuse too and I am seeking to reduce cost of living as precautionary action. :o

SBC

Is this sort of expected? Saw it coming?

Can rent a room from Mummy1234 in JB.
Continue to collect your SG rental. Should be easy to cover, rite?

Mergui219067

Retrenched & yet must ask him to pay RM4k to ‘enjoy’ at JB .

Mummy789’s landed cheapo even.
So sad for a landed.

Why not your parents rent out their HDB too?

It is better to rent in JB. You can try the new Puteri Cove condo. Enjoy the new facilities and unit. Budget around $4k.

Move on to other location if you don't like.

henrylbh

Firstly if you don't a car or can't drive, forget the idea.

Retribution

I would seriously suggest not to go to J.B. just because you were retrenched.

J.B. is not an easy place to live if you don't know the language and have no support there.

The cost of medical care is expensive and with your parents in the late 70's and 80's , its better to stay put here. There is a lot of support elderly here.

In J.B. if you don't drive, you cannot get anywhere.

I have been retrenched three times in my career so far. It happens. You just got to push forward. My last retrenchement was when I was in my mid 40's. I got my last job six months later.

You got to be positive, use all the govt help you can, network extensively , when you go for interview, you've got to be confident of who you are and your skills and what you can bring to them. Ask for a reasonable salary. Once you are hired, you can work further to get a better salary.

If you come across as desperate or not confident etc... they will see it clearly. Always be positive and confident, if you didn't get the job, you were not meant too, a better one that suites is waiting for you. You need to just put in the effort to find it.

Hope this helps.

Thanks for the information. :o This is very useful to me. :o I have been unemployed since March shortly after CNY. :o Feel depress and really derail from any positive thoughts and energies. :o I feel kinda lost and confuse too and I am seeking to reduce cost of living as precautionary action. :o

wira

I would propose you to reconsider this.
Your aged parents may not enjoy living in Jb being far away from their friends and relatives. As old people they would want a familiar surroundings with friends and relatives close by.

If you move to JB would also be difficult for you to work. Would be a better option to just find alternative work in SG even taking a pay cut. Should not be an issue as your expenses doesn’t seem to be that high.

Mecisteus

Retrenched & yet must ask him to pay RM4k to ‘enjoy’ at JB .

Mummy789’s landed cheapo even.
So sad for a landed.

You will become like a potato if you pick a cheaper and landed property. Worst if you don't drive.

Puteri cove area has most of the amenities including a hospital. And also very near to custom.

rayzzzz82

Wrt the help provided for the retrenched / unemployed, allow me to offer some insight.

The support provided by gov in the form of career support programme is very limited. Do not bank on this to help you to find a job.

Individual who are jobless for more than six month are "assigned" a career coach who will then provide some sort of coaching / workshop to better find them a job. There is no job matching to link up the unemployed / retrench to assist them to find a job or any financial assistance to help them over the unemployment period.

If anyone does go to WDA / e2i, you will also find that the career coach or consultant are just paying lip service to those unemployed seeking urgent help without any actual reference. Often the unemployed are made to go through workshop via the utilisation of their skill future credits and this just feed the pocket of the workshop / course provider without offering any substantial help to find them a job.

As for those job fair or career seminar, very few potential employers and company are present and there are many similar unemployed who are vying for the few jobs available to them. Again, the chance in this type of seminar to get a job is very low.

merlot6230

my view :

1. Dun relocate to JB for cheaper cost of living which is not true unless earn SIN currency

2. Your parents won't enjoy "retirment" there unless got car and maid

3. You still need to find job in SG, so abit of torn between two places - is no joke from crossing the forever jam custom even they increase toll fee to ease jam is ******** for many donkey years.

4. Stay put in sg to find your next career path, rent out your HDB to downsize into small unit eg rent out at $2k re rent a small unit at $1k - u got a extra $1k for living expense. Just a suggestion to try.

5. JB crime is no joking matter is you are unlucky. Some of my malaysian buddy got kill from smuggler while going to work by motocycle toward Sg. He were coma for 6 mth and family decide to unplug due to heavy medical debts.

stick to sg to find your next job, if u insist to retire in jb unless you got saving and dun need to work anymore.

Mergui219067

Mummy 578 is holding the potato.

RM 4K rental a month for a desperate jobless is a lot. He is not on cheapo retirement or holiday.
Anyway most local condo owners also do not use many facilities except car parking & gym.

Renting a small cheaper ulu Johor landed is wiser.

You will become like a potato if you pick a cheaper and landed property. Worst if you don't drive.

Puteri cove area has most of the amenities including a hospital. And also very near to custom.

Mergui219067

Agree with you totally.

Many Sinkies are 老天真.
Only Mummy467 believes the truly rich ones would retire in Iskandar. :s13:

Many elderly would rather stay at the old flats with working families/ old buddies around / nearby kopitiam or libraries.

my view :
1. Dun relocate to JB for cheaper cost of living which is not true unless earn SIN currency

2. Your parents won't enjoy "retirment" there unless got car and maid

3. You still need to find job in SG, so abit of torn between two places - is no joke from crossing the forever jam custom even they increase toll fee to ease jam is ******** for many donkey years.

4. Stay put in sg to find your next career path, rent out your HDB to downsize into small unit eg rent out at $2k re rent a small unit at $1k - u got a extra $1k for living expense. Just a suggestion to try.

5. JB crime is no joking matter is you are unlucky. Some of my malaysian buddy got kill from smuggler while going to work by motocycle toward Sg. He were coma for 6 mth and family decide to unplug due to heavy medical debts.

stick to sg to find your next job, if u insist to retire in jb unless you got saving and dun need to work anymore.

mummy1234

I am thinking of semiretiring there now with S$5500/mth passive income from Sg sources and more from a possible cafe investment there.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.