Looking back, how useful was tuition, anyway?

AndroidComa

My kids had Chinese enrichment since they were in Kindergarten … go into Primary school, elder kid Chinese always 80something 90something but English & Math not fantastic … add Science later also same thing, borderline passes.

We got them English & Math tuition, and elder kid went from 60something to 80something 90ish, Science no tuition still getting borderline passes.

End of the day I am convinced it’s not that like tutor is teaching them what they don’t know, but the tutor’s presence is there just to make them study. It’s not that we cannot do it ourselves … e.g. when Daddy go through their work, Math no need to look at answer sheet 1 … but the kids don’t want Daddy to teach because Daddy fierce :s8: and are resistant to learning if Daddy is the 1 doing the teaching.
i give you an alternative view and from my own experience

cos daddy when you are teaching the kids especially when going thru the corrections with them, you are also loooking at the question the 1st time and finding ways to explain to the child, sometimes the iterations and all take up a long time and the child sometimes gets tired while trying to understand what u r talking about

PLUS

daddy is not savvy to the marking scheme and answering techniques that MOE is looking for, so marks get lost anyways

leonaheidern

Hi. Very important. During my time in the 90s, not all schools is a good school. Teachers always take MC ponteng, or not enough teachers, we kept getting different relief teachers to teach us maths. Each of the relief teacher thought that this topic was already taught by the previous relief teacher, end up we skipped many foundational and basic knowledge and our grades all rabak. Go tuition better sua
yours is math

mine is history and science. mine is a girls school in hougang area.

the so called relief teachers could teach better than the in school teachers man.

even a so called good girl's school in Bukit Timah also keep changing geog teachers now according to my niece.

school is very much more mentally toxic now than when I was in school from what I hear from her. not unlike those dramas in the 90s and 2000s .

sometimes tuition is a must and schools are obsolete lol.

RuneArmour

With tuition, I still failed all moi preliminary exams in pri school but passed in PSLE. I was so shocked and heypi :o

I think moi 1 to 1 tuition teacher almost vomited blood teachings moi math :o

hachi

My kids primary sch is one under Hokkien Huay Kuan. Too bad under the bicep program they didn't get to travel due to covid.

AndroidComa

Actually no... I find that those students easier to teach... So that school each teacher will have a good class and not so good class.

Like my kids class.. I think at P5 you throw them to PSLE most till go G3.

Subjects like math and Sci. Section A, usually full mark or 1-2 questions wrong.
The teachers will teach them how to score. Especially parts that they should get full marks...
there are teachers like that
there are teachers that most of the time dun really teach

depends on who you get loh
not all schs are good schs
not all teachers are good teachers too
favoritism still plays a part

hachi

yours is math

mine is history and science. mine is a girls school in hougang area.

the so called relief teachers could teach better than the in school teachers man.

even a so called good girl's school in Bukit Timah also keep changing geog teachers now according to my niece.

school is very much more mentally toxic now than when I was in school from what I hear from her. not unlike those dramas in the 90s and 2000s .

sometimes tuition is a must and schools are obsolete lol.

Same... The boys sch at BT, invite ex student back to teach them is even better than the teachers... My elder kbkp 19yo teaches better than the teacher... Mahahahh

But I find those schools, the teachers are mostly old boys and girls. They also need to take very few NIE teachers...

Lemonpeach

we not like you :(

we circulated Playgirl :(
Wa liao. No wonder LGBTQ+ was rumoured to have started more than 30 years ago.

There is an underground movement since long time ago. And we have a secret member. 😀

NintendoSwitch

Last time, I went for tuition, and while the subject I was tutored in improved, every other subject deteriorated.

So my family decided to stop the tuition, sacrificing one subject to save others. :ROFLMAO: (or pay extra for all other subjects).
How does having tuition for one subject kill your grades in other subjects?

compute-the-jetsons.gif

gnoes85

Nowadays the kids can simply lepak, get mediocre grades and inherit their parents assets.

NintendoSwitch

It was useful to me. Used to get D7-F9 for a few subjects until I got a tuition teacher who was able to engage my interest and showed me different ways to apply the subjects to real life situations. My chemistry went from D7 to A1 standards within six months after she enlightened me that school lab contained everything to make explosives :crazy:

I think it also helped that I look forward to the tuition sessions at her house where she would just be in shorts and spaghetti tops mostly, showing off her nice legs and ample bosom :love:
Sounds like a documentary. SIC code?

RichardXyn

Nowadays, tuition is a waste of time and money. Have uncle google and A1. No need for tuition.

fortunecat

I think tuition is good for helping you get better results.

The question should be are good results really necessary to make it in life? It seems more and more evident that it doesn't. Many people really can make it without very good qualifications, even better than those with relatively good results which made them dun dare to take risk.

jinsadndepress

If every body cheat in test , then chiu also no choice but to cheat ...

Unless chiu are natural super smart la ...
99 % ( included chiu and your chewren are not )

Remember every thing graded on a bell curve ...

MisterRei

How does having tuition for one subject kill your grades in other subjects?

compute-the-jetsons.gif

The scores of other subjects declined because I failed to learn new syllabus...

Mainly because my tuition teacher made me do past year papers 3 times per week, I couldn't concentrate on learning other subjects..

+I became lazy
+I made new friends at tuition center and played more than studying
+Probably because tuition teacher is more fierce than school teacher

:ROFLMAO:

eggie011

Didn't need tuition, but gave tuition for a bit in maths and science. But honestly, can't really tell if it helped my student with her grades.

drkcynic

No tuition can, but parents must teach.

Like for science, you know the logic no use. You need to know / answer using the keywords to get the marks.

It is fleetingly mentioned during class. But students will find it hard to score without knowing the "tricks" to answering the questions.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.