Looking back, how useful was tuition, anyway?

hachi

No tuition can, but parents must teach.

Like for science, you know the logic no use. You need to know / answer using the keywords to get the marks.

It is fleetingly mentioned during class. But students will find it hard to score without knowing the "tricks" to answering the questions.
The teacher give student as compress set of keywords base on topics.

DulanMax

You were not?
U goody goody classroom scholar type.

Pri school, my classmates circulated Playboy and Penthouse magazines.

That's why in my time, our TFR was good. Now, the young tiko-sterile. Even with jav also cannot stimulate into better TFR.

I really suggest they should have sxx tuition.
Moi will vote you for MOE!

:o

NeonX

nowadays need standard answers and stuff also. Good places don't just teach you what's in the books, need to learn like interview skills etc also. Especially important if you wanna DSA into good schools

Song Bro

Important for me.
Last time my English C6 after tuition becomes B4.
The tutor was from British Council.
Learn quite a bit on writing.
I think I didnt do well in Oral maybe.
I feel my written improved a lot.
But most importantly he made me interested in the language.
(I am from a mandarin speaking family).

NintendoSwitch

Moi will vote you for MOE!

:o
kee-chiu-chan-chun-sing.gif

NintendoSwitch

Important for me.
Last time my English C6 after tuition becomes B4.
The tutor was from British Council.
Learn quite a bit on writing.
I think I didnt do well in Oral maybe.
I feel my written improved a lot.
But most importantly he made me interested in the language.
(I am from a mandarin speaking family).
Ang mo tutor?

tutor-768x512.jpg

ramlee

rast time i got give one sec 3 xmm tuition :(

after one month, her mother asked me no need to come le :(

daveteo88

Especially a chiobu. Last time, in sec school, this chiobu complained to my mum I was peeping at her cleevage.

In truth, I think she loved it.
You lucky she only tell your mommy. If she poh mata you will kanna jail and maybe rotan also.

daveteo88

very useful for me.. the subject i had tuition i improve from F9 to A1..
Means you not really weak in the subject. Is your school teacher teaching boring and make you not interested. Then tutor teach make you understand better and interested

Taloona

Last time we study where got such thing as tuition? Is ask older brothers and sisters and try to figure out yourself nia.

8821-13657-SinkOrSw.jpg
Merdeka and Mahjullah generation. Ask siblings or classmates who aced the subject.

But last time almost everyone of our classmates came from poor families. Tuition was unheard of, some didn't attend kindergartens and many of us spoke dialects at home. So we all started off at almost the same level.

In P1, we were still doing pre-writing skills and some had just learned to write their names.

When the Mahjullah generation grew up, they were more educated and held better paying jobs. They had fewer children. This enabled them to give their children more resources including tuition. The less educated ones lose out. Their children also lose out. The field is less even. In one generation, the whole education landscape has changed.

Taloona

Question is, how useful is sinkie education? Ace everything, so? Does it give you competitive edge against foreigner and allows you to earn high salary?
Become a scholar in a govt job and secure a golden rice bowl.

Taloona

My kids had Chinese enrichment since they were in Kindergarten … go into Primary school, elder kid Chinese always 80something 90something but English & Math not fantastic … add Science later also same thing, borderline passes.

We got them English & Math tuition, and elder kid went from 60something to 80something 90ish, Science no tuition still getting borderline passes.

End of the day I am convinced it’s not that like tutor is teaching them what they don’t know, but the tutor’s presence is there just to make them study. It’s not that we cannot do it ourselves … e.g. when Daddy go through their work, Math no need to look at answer sheet 1 … but the kids don’t want Daddy to teach because Daddy fierce :s8: and are resistant to learning if Daddy is the 1 doing the teaching.
Not true. Some tutors are boring so the kids also switch off.

As for parents, it all depends on the parents. My former boss coached his eldest boy PSLE science because the boy's method was wrong. Today, all his 3 kids are professionals. 2 PhD holders and 1 Master degree holder. No tuition. He and his wife coached their 3 kids. But both of them were former educators so they not only know how to coach their kids but also instilled discipline in them. Their children are very self motivated, no need to scold or bribe them to do their homework. This has to do with their parenting style and also their children's personality.

wwenze

When the Mahjullah generation grew up, they were more educated and held better paying jobs. They had fewer children. This enabled them to give their children more resources including tuition. The less educated ones lose out. Their children also lose out. The field is less even. In one generation, the whole education landscape has changed.
Or was it

Poor staying poor as always been in history. Occasionally one generation rebel and steal from everyone, and then the cycle repeats. I hate repeating so many times, but Animal Farm.

It's just that education is no longer the "great equalizer", or rather it never was. It was an excuse that rich people told the poor. Now that everyone is educated, they switch to another excuse.

deathan9el

Honorary Mentor
we did go for one before
turns out ok

can't remember what subjects tho'

ramlee

Means you not really weak in the subject. Is your school teacher teaching boring and make you not interested. Then tutor teach make you understand better and interested
and sometimes the stewdent needs to be enlightened about the techniques to answering a question and what knowledge does he need to demonstrate he possess for example English Literature :(

i got one friend rast time A levels Further Maths can get A but Physics always F, some more both overlapping topics like Mechanics. He became the famous stewdent at Ghim Moh JC who always gets 3As 1F :(

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.