LTA, please clarify whether ERP 2.0 OBU power consumption is too high??

carey

Current IU is powered 24x7. I believe LTA don't want to entertain too many warranty claims because on and off often will kill the device faster.
Then the drain on our battery is damn jialat

What many don't know is that when we constantly have such drains, our batteries will lose efficiency and the voltage will drop and our cars cannot recharge the battery back to max capacity on its own - need to use an external charger

tatsit

SecretAgent

Don't worry! Erp2 spoil your 300k ev LTA will not be responsible! Please go back to your dealer and pay them to repair! :o

tatsit

Then the drain on our battery is damn jialat

What many don't know is that when we constantly have such drains, our batteries will lose efficiency and the voltage will drop and our cars cannot recharge the battery back to max capacity on its own - need to use an external charger
that's why the logical thing to do is to wire it to ignition

carey

This I agree fully. Which is why I keep saying the gov and the respective agencies heads are all from the dinosaur era.

All worried this and that. The gov not up to the challenge of implementing their products with existing mainstream products.

No difference from an authoritarian gov. Must have full control even down to product level.

I like the idea of connecting to ACC, at least when it is powered down, you can do a reboot of the IU.
Rebooting of IU - nobody knows how long it takes to boot up - what if it takes several minutes, and we just drive off - means loss of revenue for them

Jokes aside, if they allow us to off it, then many will find ways to escape being charged on distance (unless the unit keeps a record of our journey and a review would show "teleportation" where the car jumps from location to location)

Too many unknowns and moving parts that can fail

berger

i really don't understand how LTA could not have foreseen or anticipated this blowback from the public

you just need competent people to design and oversee the development which i am still confident there is no lack of in Singapore or even the public sector.. the feeling i get is that the people in charge of this project simply don't care, just push out the product

pretty sure in lky's time this device won't see the light of day, not because they are more capable in the past, but simply because there will be people asking questions all the time during the development

matrix05

i dont think its standby power used, but the ambient temperature that is the problem. which means they never spec the chips properly because want cheap pay peanuts and get monkey poop lol
Either cheapest chipset (those marginal passed chips are sold by weight (1 kg), not by numbers) or decade old 30nm, 8-bit processor power guzzler used.
An Aircon moving car ambience ranges from cool to cold. Only parked car under the sun does ambience become hot. Parked car also means OBU is in standby mode. Adding 1+1, OBU in standby mode is hot = drawing much power from car battery.

Mystyque

i dont think its standby power used, but the ambient temperature that is the problem. which means they never spec the chips properly because want cheap pay peanuts and get monkey poop lol

automative lowest grade need to tahan 85C environment temperature. LTA spec is simi grade? Arcade driving simulator ah? :crazy:

Mystyque

Either cheapest chipset (those marginal passed chips are sold by weight (1 kg), not by numbers) or decade old 30nm, 8-bit processor power guzzler used.
An Aircon moving car ambience ranges from cool to cold. Only parked car under the sun does ambience become hot. Parked car also means OBU is in standby mode. Adding 1+1, OBU in standby mode is hot = drawing much power from car battery.

Wait… are we sure this super high tech OBU even has a standby mode? After all, computers did not get standby mode until like the 90s and LTA project managers might be from the 70s… :crazy:

mickey88

For something to overheat, means the current draw must be substantial.

LTA please clarify how much is the power draw when the car is parked, how long can we leave our cars parked before the car battery becomes too weak to start the engine :s11:

Can LTA please quash the rumours that the OBU would suffer permanent damage if internal battery of OBU becomes flat :s11:
Pls go and change a better alternator with high electrical output..next complain...

carey

i really don't understand how LTA could not have foreseen or anticipated this blowback from the public

you just need competent people to design and oversee the development which i am still confident there is no lack of in Singapore
A lot are scholars that are just parachuted in, meander around for a couple of years, and off they go to mess up another ministry, rinse and repeat

you just need competent people to design and oversee the development which i am still confident there is no lack of in Singapore or even the public sector.. the feeling i get is that the people in charge of this project simply don't care, just push out the product

pretty sure in lky's time this device won't see the light of day, not because they are more capable in the past, but simply because there will be people asking questions all the time during the development

Mystyque

Until they ruined the EV battery...hahahah

LTA: We tested for 9 years in our aircon office also no problem, so is your battery lousy, pls go claim battery warranty from car manufacturer.

standarture

Cos most are young people who dont drive or drive regularly. Anyway if you work in gahmen service, you wont be surprised.

Cokacola

Really jialat this LTA, so much inconvenience and hassle to implement something to take more money from us.

berger

A lot are scholars that are just parachuted in, meander around for a couple of years, and off they go to mess up another ministry, rinse and repeat
actually from my experience, scholars are generally quite competent lah.. also work with many sharp people in stat boards too.. but i think its usually those in there for long time/just relying on approvals from others to cover their back/ no courage or see no point to push back (why risk rice bowl, right?), that messes things up

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.