LW - nobody reacted during awkward moment during CCK rally

Dr Stephen Strange

His own supporters also 'catch no ball' :ROFLMAO:
dropped-the-ball-missed-catch.gif

tmkedmw

If by the time a couple both become citizens then buy, they will have lost a lot of time and money compared to the rest. it's not viable. their kids will be Singaporeans too you know?

:D

There's nothing wrong with that.
They are foreigners to begin with.
There's a price to pay for rite of passage to become a Singaporean.

alpha_beta

gst shifts burden of tax from d rich to d poor

before gst rich man tax was 40% after gst is was reduced to 30%, then to 20%

now stands at 23%, mens a saving of 17% every yr since gst

corporate tax was at 40%, after gst it was reduced, now stands at 17%

estate duty was abolished on 15 feb 2008

1 tier dividend tax was introduce from 1 jan 2008

before 1 tier div tx, div flows to personal income n is taxed at personal tax rate ie rich man is taxed at 40% while retired n jobless will get a refund if the div is less than their taxable income

after 1 tier div tax rich man get a huge discount from 40% to 17%, saving 23% while poor man who used to get a refund, now effectivel pays corrparate tx of 17% n gst, ie his tax liability has effectively increased from 0 to 17% plus gst of 9% on whatever he spends

so after gst, rich man is saving 17% on income tax every year n 23% on div tx and ofc no longer subject to estate duty

so gas where the shortfall comes from?? :s22: :s22: :s22: :s22: :s22: :s22: :s22: :s22: :s22: :s22: :s22: :s22:

poor own hdb which includes cost of land but wen lease sexpires get zilch compense

while d rich owns freehold property for dem to hold deal n wh eel for all eterity

sum buttie sold his property for 88M$ notch too long ago

cpf pays mostly 2.5% while nirc purportedly funds 50% of budget, where does nirc cum form ??

u7p north epf juz paid 6.3% on whatever is insai

ofc dere uder ting rike coe, which purportedly collects moar den custom & excise

abarice n perfidy scourge of sinkie.land hallmarks of d puppies :s22: :s22: :s22: :s22: :s22: :s22: :s22: :s22: :s22: :s22: :s22: :s22:

ServerGuySG

Our PM Wong is so out of touch man !!! 80% of Singaporeans live in HDB flats, not landed leh, we not rich enough and so can u stop taxing us more please ??

charleslee1989

Most of the PRs are going to be citizens, as i've said earlier >80% (which i personally think shld aim for higher).

If they cannot buy HDBs, how to assimilate to our society and be committed to nation building and give birth to citizens?

The correct questions to ask is, those who REJECT citizenship, and taking us for a ride. can we tax them heavily before they leave? or some form of disincentives at least?
Lol...most PRs turn to citizens?? Hahaha....

dezzo69

i do not rent out my hdb but pay property tax.

hdb 99 year lease expire, unit goes back to hdb (aka gahmen)

so obviously the unit doesn't belong to me... so why am i paying property tax?

Travis_Touchdown

priest lah...
awarked moments or not, big turnout or not.. end of e day result steel e same one lah...

yesh... because majority ish apolitical... the yang ones dunch even know which constituencies they belong to... they only remember the name of the minister at their area... @Shion :s22::frown:

runny yolk

even if there are 9 out of 10 PR convert to citizens, as long as their spouse are not citizens, there is a loophole that they can escape back to their countries when shat hits the fan here.

unless both spouses convert to citizens, then I will see them committing to sinkieland.

Else it's just stats.

u choose what u believe. I choose what I believe.

that's it

have a good day
Agree with you bro, personally know colleagues who are like that. A couple only 1 converted, the other is still holding PR, but they successfully BTO! I simply do not know why are foreigners allowed to buy public housing.

ckt1978

good waht.
like Japan.
pay property tax similar to jap so that ppl cannot keep holding it for rental income. not like sg. commercial also.
anyway sg 50% oso not locals.
tax also wun tax the majority of citizens liao since less than 50% are locally born sg.

havetheveryfun

yesh... because majority ish apolitical... the yang ones dunch even know which constituencies they belong to... they only remember the name of the minister at their area... @Shion :s22::frown:
this one cannot blame the yang ones fully. is the ebrc make things confusing.

last time 2011 my classmate first time voting. He stay near Eunos MRT. He thought he is under Eunos ward which is Aljunied GRC. so he went to attend rallies in Aljunied GRC, for both PAP and WP. End up the polling card come then he realize he is in Marine Parade. After that then he got a political awakening.

His parents also dont know which constituency they were in previously because mostly were walkover, never vote.

focus1974

Skill future is a failure . Don tell us government spent millions of dollars on this n that. Many would not use it . And some used it for attending courses FOR THEIR INTEREST N PASS TIME. a good example is learning how to bake from a few recipes, sewing n etc. Does it really beneficial to skill upgrade for their current or future job? It only create more companies to tag into it to make money from skill future.
probably their brilliant idea was it will kill 3 birds at one stone
1) create jobs for the skillsfuture industry thru the companies providing the skillsfuture courses
2) companies can send employees to upgrade thru this skillsfuture without using a little bit of their money (fulfiling their HR objectives and ISO(is it still a time, peopel training hours?) ..
3) employees/people who want to upskill will earn something ..

But we have highlighted here before .. the courses are useless without OJT and a lot of the courses are useless and lack quality. it's a money grab. A lot of the IT courses (especially IT) .. can be found cheaper and more rigourous at Coursera. If you want to do something out of it like baking, drawing etc, You can try Udemy.

So yes , basically the ROI for the subsidy is damn lousy. You are basically subsidy to the tune of $500 .yearly.. for something that can be done effectively and efficiently off the shelf at <$40 monthly (udemy or coursera monthly subscription). With the subscription, you can attend as many courses as you like.

Granted, some still need physical courses like cleaners, old people , things that required hands-on with the equipment etc. ANd that can still be improved on. .. with an OJT. (The ultimate litmus test of your course quality. Companies are willing to pair course attendees with OJT)

I am grab to report to you that I remember hearing this parliament they are tweaking the skillsfutures scheme to check the quality of the courses and companies providing it.

But I think they need to do the other thing i mentioned, pairing it with OJT.

Government has already acknowledged they do not have a monopoly on good ideas.
A lot of ideas ... taken up by opposition and ruling party have all been discussed here actually.

focus1974

I understand how you feel, but statistics is statistics. >80% of them become citizens, your experience is not the norm.

If by the time a couple both become citizens then buy, they will have lost a lot of time and money compared to the rest. it's not viable. their kids will be Singaporeans too you know?

As i said, the key is how to improve the numbers to more than 90% or more, and how to disincentivise them if they decide not to become citizens. tax them gao gao i m ok :D

Will then, accelerate it. 5 years is enough to decide.
for the other 20% hoarding the PRs quota from others who desired to be singaporeans.
let's give the others a chance.

You don't want too many new Citizen/PR couple pair too .. do you? :)

focus1974

But they would be not happy. Their friends and privilged peeps will not either. FTs will feel super discriminated and accordingly to their words, outsiders and richies would not want to invest here.

So they decided to point the spear at us instead and welcome the outsiders with open arms, from low tax packages to free scholarships to non sinkies student around the region, going as far as to coaxed them over for.

Why can't these scholarships be given to deserving countrymen and women is beyond me. Why is it we cannot empower our very own so that we can continue the good growth and work of our forefathers? Why is limits being imposed on us via artificial competitions among our own countrymen, with the end goal seemingly to cannibalise one another in the name of ''meritocracy''? Why is it we cannot learn to work together instead, helping one another so that we can face the world together? Stealing each other's lunch is supposed to be a thing?
yes, if the goal is to attract the brightest to work and live in singapore thru the Singapore education system.
Then, why not do what you always do? Just import the brightest off their campus instead of wasting money educating them here.
Instead of anyhow give work pass, epass and what nots to anyone..
attract these brightest one and let them get the pass ... your quality of imports goes up.

China and India now alot willing to come over.. READY TO GO type. Graduated, without you spending money on them their education. What's not to like.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.