...LWL send off.......

3sth3r

Loong is senior. Senior cannot send
:s13: I suddenly unlocked an old memory. My secondary sch history teacher who is a Malaysian said, dictator believes in no religion. She was on the topic explaining SG is a secular state. :s13::s13::s13:

Monstruo^

I am curious why LWL doesn’t have a proper adult portrait. This is her secondary school portrait. In her school uniform somemore.
I also got thought about this when I first saw the portrait.

I think maybe that was her favorite photo of herself? That was when she thinks she looked the best? Her favorite period of herself? Not every obituary photo needs to be like 3 month recent photo right I think. And every person has his or her favorite personal photo :o

And I think she or they as a family (LWL, LHY, LHY’s sons, etc) they all got asked her and discussed this before together.

Some people pantang don’t like to discuss such thing when they are still alive. But I believe they got discuss first. And LWL ish also educated and she’s a doctor so she knows her condition well, so will make pre arrangement first? Unlike some elderly or adults in mid year they don’t even think or talk about such thing or make pre arrangement at all. No right or wrong also.

Monstruo^

Older generations (those born before nation independence) value kinship and family bonding above all, regardless of wealth, status or anything in this world.

This is very surprising and exceptional that this isn't the case LKY's children ?

血浓于水
We all know they’re rs ish bad, but didn’t know ish until this bad-bad, right? :o

coldish

I rather my loved ones spent time with me when I'm alive.. what's the point of coming back to attend my funeral when I'm already dead.
Not say no point to attend funeral but some people should not pretend to be caring and loving all these while when it is not the case.
It is as good as wearing a translucent clothing and say you are wearing something.

JustForFun

We all know they’re rs ish bad, but didn’t know ish until this bad-bad, right? :o

Actually nothing matters to see dead off even oxley house or who is right or wrong.

Just let the dead go peacefully unless got instructions from the dead he or she never ever want the person to appear at all or other instructions to be executed ? This is to respect the dead and also to RIP.

Such soul will not be in peace unless his or her wishes is/are fulfilled or promised to be fulfilled by all means ?

Leaders should not sin so many ?

twinklingstars

Go see her FB posts. Everyday posting nonsense.

Then she shared 1-2 people’s message to LWL (like other minister). Saw a public comment asking her something like “Instead of sharing others message, don’t you have your own message or words to LWL?”

I saw liao I arm chio :o
Exactly especially when she was working at Temasek.. so much free time to post FB during office hours LOL. Literally every hour posting something on her FB.

Monstruo^

Definitely not a Catholic.

So there I was, a scruffy non-believer, attending mass with the Catholic family that I was spending a weekend with. I wondered whether Jo drew his strength from his religion, but speaking was such an effort for him now that I did not ask

https://www.straitstimes.com/singap...-a-sweaty-obsession-5-columns-by-lee-wei-ling
Interesting leh the column and stories.

Added more sentences for readers to get a clearer picture:

“The next time he invited me was in winter when we went cross-country skiing. Although his speech was even more slurred on this occasion, his body was still strong and he out-skied me because he was a more experienced skier. On Sunday morning, the family was going to church and asked me to go along. I did not have any appropriate attire for church, but Jo told me: “God does not care how you are dressed.”

So there I was, a scruffy non-believer, attending mass with the Catholic family that I was spending a weekend with. I wondered whether Jo drew his strength from his religion, but speaking was such an effort for him now that I did not ask.”

coldish

I am curious why LWL doesn’t have a proper adult portrait. This is her secondary school portrait. In her school uniform somemore.
If you happen to go to Mandai Columbarium to visit someone, u can take a look around. You might see some who passed away when they are old but uses a much younger photo.
It is not something surprising though uncommon.

I think she enjoys school the most in her lifetime.
In her fb, I read somewhere she said: "I enjoyed school both academically and socially"

JustForFun

If you happen to go to Mandai Columbarium to visit someone, u can take a look around. You might see some who passed away when they are old but uses a much younger photo.

In her fb, I read somewhere she said: "I enjoyed school both academically and socially"

Agreed.

My late mum used younger photo too as that is the photo she chosen herself.

A decent pretty one and I am proud of her decision.

twinklingstars

I also chose a younger photo in his 20s for my dad even though he passed away in his early 60s. Cos in that photo he was smiling very happily.

Monstruo^

Haha, she said LKY cannot even crack a soft boiled egg. Im still reading her columns from a link somebody has shared here.

Cute of her to share this.

“I have always admired my father for his dedication to Singapore, his determination to do what is right, his courage in standing up to foreigners who try to tell us how to run our country. But my father was also the eldest son in a typical Peranakan family. He cannot even crack a soft-boiled egg – such things not being expected of men, especially eldest sons, in Peranakan families.

3sth3r

Dang, I guess I will use my toddler aged photo for my funeral then.

twinklingstars

Haha, she said LKY cannot even crack a soft boiled egg. Im still reading her columns from a link somebody has shared here.

Cute of her to share this.

“I have always admired my father for his dedication to Singapore, his determination to do what is right, his courage in standing up to foreigners who try to tell us how to run our country. But my father was also the eldest son in a typical Peranakan family. He cannot even crack a soft-boiled egg – such things not being expected of men, especially eldest sons, in Peranakan families.
I really like the eulogy she gave during LKY funeral. It was very touching.

https://www.pmo.gov.sg/Newsroom/exc...i-ling-cremation-service-late-mr-lee-kuan-yew

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.