M1 Data Passport

Gixxerfied

How's the performance indoors?

Damn stable and good...

Now going hakone.. I stream motogp while waiting for the cruise to odaiba a few days back, no lag, on SoftBank network..data passport which is my opinion is rather good as well..

ska13a

I don't think so. Cos I went China without any network lock and I didn't on my roaming setting I also didn't get charge in China. You might want to double check with another cso. I think the cso that spoke to you is talking nonsense.

If you switch off your data roaming and didn't on any network data you should not see any data passing thru the phone. Unless you got on data roaming then you will be charged for it.

this is 100% true except mine is 1mb or sort off for m1 sim with auto roaming enable and data roaming off on iphone.
luckily mine is $1 only, kena 2month, was advise when they search for network, u need to get the data disable from their end else u will get charge.

if u use m1 in uk, u are like 2nd class citizen, patchy internet

Franky37

Wanna ask some question.

I will be flying back from Japan on 5th. However, it is also the day where my data cycle will reset for the month. So, should I turn the m1 data passport offf once I reach Narita Airport to avoid paying extra?.

darkmatt

purpleberry

Damn stable and good...

Now going hakone.. I stream motogp while waiting for the cruise to odaiba a few days back, no lag, on SoftBank network..data passport which is my opinion is rather good as well..

I used to rent mifis over there but everytime when we're indoors, the signal drops significantly and often gets disconnected. This is different compared to mobile passport or data sim. Not sure if it's the mifi technology or the card itself.

Gixxerfied

I used to rent mifis over there but everytime when we're indoors, the signal drops significantly and often gets disconnected. This is different compared to mobile passport or data sim. Not sure if it's the mifi technology or the card itself.

No issue with indoor signal..no power along hakone ropeway, no issue at the ropeway station thou..

Deathskull88

kenchi

kenchi

purpleberry

kenchi

Nope, the ones given for free at airbnb apartments. Tried twice, different gadgets but similar reception. Outdoor is good but the moment you step indoors, it's a different story. I can't check the service provider also as it's all in Japanese.

yea airbnb most of them i see is softbank or AU
docomo one is rare

Let me share my experience with Data Passport!

1) There is an activation fee of $10 per country u are going , so if Japan + Korea = $20
2) Activation can be done via m1 mobile app or call in the CSO if u feel not confident
3) For Data passport to work perfectly fine, there are 4 items to be activated inside your plan

Pay per use roaming, Data Roaming, Network Lock and $100 Data Roaming Cap

4) I didn't activate the $100 data roaming cap for my Japan Trip and hence i got locked out when i hit $100 for data roaming, i called in from Japan via Skype and my data passport was activated again

5) I have since use data passport for Indo, HKG, Malaysia and Japan. No funny charges incurred.

PS: I am not an M1 supporter but this data passport is definitely cheaper than buying Japan SIM imo.

wah not by activating datapass, those will auto activated meh?

I think M1's preferred network is NTTDoCoMo (If i am right). So once you land, on your Handset, then do a manual search on network to NTT DoCoMo, after which it will register and it will stay on NTT, on your data, & data roaming.

but, If the signal is weak on any places and the network jump to another one, dont worry, if you got activate network lock, it will NOT on the data on that network. just search for the network again then your data will come back.

gam xia boss

tried to go online activate the data pass apparently it cant go thru. i am on mysim+ plan liao le:(

KPOY6ho.jpg

ck_siong

Let me share my experience with Data Passport!

1) There is an activation fee of $10 per country u are going , so if Japan + Korea = $20
2) Activation can be done via m1 mobile app or call in the CSO if u feel not confident
3) For Data passport to work perfectly fine, there are 4 items to be activated inside your plan

Pay per use roaming, Data Roaming, Network Lock and $100 Data Roaming Cap

4) I didn't activate the $100 data roaming cap for my Japan Trip and hence i got locked out when i hit $100 for data roaming, i called in from Japan via Skype and my data passport was activated again

5) I have since use data passport for Indo, HKG, Malaysia and Japan. No funny charges incurred.

PS: I am not an M1 supporter but this data passport is definitely cheaper than buying Japan SIM imo.

For M1 Data roaming to work , need to activate or deactivate $100 data roaming cap ?

Been using in malaysia no issue.
but last china a week trip had issue connecting and also keep telling me hit $100 data cap. Had to call went back CS to waive even after they check say no issue, sianz.

Now going Japan in weeks time, afraid hit same problem as in China trip, thus thinking getting Changi JAPAN Wifi Router Promotion.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.