M1 FIBRE BROADBAND DISCUSSION

JeNoVa-IcHiGo

As far as I know, this is how your scenario goes :

You are on $39 fibre broadband 100mbps 24 months DISCOUNT contract.

You are 12 months into the contract. You want to upgrade into 200mbps.

The correct answer : assuming you are WILLING to pay more than $59(original price of 100mbps) or even $99 for the fibre(200mbps non discount pricing I think)

Then yes, you can upgrade. BUT if you meant that you want to run a concurrent contract and get 200mbps @ $39, then no. cause you can't do early re-contract before 20th month.

Moral of the story : Upgrade is always welcome, but whether discount stays/remains after the upgrade is another story. Basically you can upgrade but maybe you pay 99 for that 200mbps. I feel its not worth it :/

wherehouse

Heh, change to smaller camp aka viewquest loh.

In summary, see who give best deal. If contract end, just email to all to get quote, then forward each others quote to squeeze more. No point being loyal customer lah.

Finally someone realizes again, that flailing at a provider is less efficient than voting with a wallet.
^5

wherehouse

It'z like you're already getting a free speed upgrade (no increase in outlay) though you volunteer to increase your liability.
Am I confused or what but why?

wherehouse

Just went thru my contract. Nothing mentioned inside about not allowing upgrade.
Guess need to bring down the contract to the shop the next time

Key words should include maintain, remain, unchanged for, continued subscription and the like.
Cmon…

WoShiPro

Anyway to feedback regrading TP point activation? Been waiting for close to 2 months for port 2.. Called M1 countless time but always smoke me say they unable to help as it depend on opennet.. I already feedback to opennet via their contact us page le.. But no reply.. Currently paying 47 for 100mbps plan while new plan cost 39..

Loirev

Anyway to feedback regrading TP point activation? Been waiting for close to 2 months for port 2.. Called M1 countless time but always smoke me say they unable to help as it depend on opennet.. I already feedback to opennet via their contact us page le.. But no reply.. Currently paying 47 for 100mbps plan while new plan cost 39..

Opennet issue is a known problem, which many of us have experienced, me included. 2 months wait is nothing, mine way way longer.

If you have recontracted, call the CSO, and ask them do a waiver for the extra amt.
It will be credited back to you.

Wait a while longer, if really no response from Opennet, you may want to consider dropping IDA a polite and professional email, requesting for assistance in your case.

j_t_fusion

M1 not smoking you... the TP is under opennet so there is nothing much they can do.

maleman

15MB/s - 23MB/s

Guys,

Can any of you get 15MB/s ~ 23MB/s speed for Bit Torrent on M1 200Mbps Fibre ?

j_t_fusion

more importantly, can a typical HDD even sustain a write speed of 15 MB/s?

and the CPU even keep up with that writing speed?

newbish

more importantly, can a typical HDD even sustain a write speed of 15 MB/s?

and the CPU even keep up with that writing speed?

answer is yes to both. a first gen core 2 duo is already more than sufficient to write that speed. typical HDD can write around 80-90MB/s no problem. depending on how fragmented your HDD is. ;) 20MB/s is nothing

j_t_fusion

hmm... i remember once my torrent went up to 10+ MB/s and my cpu went crazy over it.

lol... maybe that's cos my laptop is already 4+ years old and the cpu is a C2D ULV and there are lots of stuff on the hard disk.

Henry Ng

M1 not smoking you... the TP is under opennet so there is nothing much they can do.

I would stay with my present isp for the next 2 years first, when most people have activated port 2 on their ONT then open net will have more manpower and that is the reason why I am not rushing to change isp. Just need to go M1 customer service outlet to "band table".

j_t_fusion

there will always be more flats being built which translates to new subscribers which means more TP to be activated.

there will also always be ppl jumping telcos which translates to more TP port 2 needing activation.

unless there is a huge change in how OpenNet operates, you are still going to experience the same issue two years down the road.

newbish

hmm... i remember once my torrent went up to 10+ MB/s and my cpu went crazy over it.

lol... maybe that's cos my laptop is already 4+ years old and the cpu is a C2D ULV and there are lots of stuff on the hard disk.

oh, old laptop's performance might not match up well with the desktop's version. so im not too sure about that. also, laptop hdd spins at a lower rpm. many limiting factor. for mine, my desktop is a 65nm C2D (quite old gen) and it can still perform the read/write speeds i mentioned.

Henry Ng

there will always be more flats being built which translates to new subscribers which means more TP to be activated.

there will also always be ppl jumping telcos which translates to more TP port 2 needing activation.

unless there is a huge change in how OpenNet operates, you are still going to experience the same issue two years down the road.

Now new flat already come with two OTP and already activated. Since so much issue quite sure open net will increase manpower. I guess new flat has one group of people doing and another group for port 2 activation for those who change isp and I guess new flat got a lot of manpower while port 2 activation has much lesser manpower. So after 2 years already got a lot of people already activated port 2 so will have more manpower to do those who jump from one isp to another. One OTP only has 2 port and only one port the cable is connected outside the flat and activation is just to connect the fibre cable outside the HDB unit. Once both port is activated by opennet no need to activate any more, change isp just change the isp for the other port then connect to the other port. Based on my understanding if port 1 is ST and port 2 is later used by M1 and later you get MR, they can change the owner of port 1 from backend to MR as cable already connected outside your flat where your telephone riser is located in a cabinet with a wooden door beside your unit. My port 2 not yet activated so can see one cable hanging in the air. When open net activate it the cable will be nicely connected outside.

fuzzybear

oh, old laptop's performance might not match up well with the desktop's version. so im not too sure about that. also, laptop hdd spins at a lower rpm. many limiting factor. for mine, my desktop is a 65nm C2D (quite old gen) and it can still perform the read/write speeds i mentioned.

laptop usually fall behid desktop performance lor
even pay more
with a ssd now laptop is quite a good fright vs desktop

example my new retina mbp i so love the speed
plus retina screen shiok

Henry Ng

laptop usually fall behid desktop performance lor
even pay more
with a ssd now laptop is quite a good fright vs desktop

example my new retina mbp i so love the speed
plus retina screen shiok

Yes much faster with SSD and if HDD at least a 7200 rpm which is faster a bit.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.