M4 Mac mini

Singrish

The screenshot already show internet speed of near 10gbps (theoretically only), so not sure your question on showing if it’s 10gbps hardware.

I can share later when I’m back home but can’t find relevance to your question
Because i dont have 10 gbps subscription yet. So im wondering what yours says in system info - hardware - ethernet. Because mine says max link speed 10 Gb/s so if your’s does too, then clearly my ethernet card is 10 gbps.

Like i said, im sure Apple wouldn’t cheat me but since my 1 gbps contract has another 1.5 years, I wouldn’t be able to get a 10 gbps subscription to test.

Tukatuz

Because i dont have 10 gbps subscription yet. So im wondering what yours says in system info - hardware - ethernet. Because mine says max link speed 10 Gb/s so if your’s does too, then clearly my ethernet card is 10 gbps.

Like i said, im sure Apple wouldn’t cheat me but since my 1 gbps contract has another 1.5 years, I wouldn’t be able to get a 10 gbps subscription to test.
Your maximum link speed is 10 Gb/s, whereas mine is 1 Gb/s. That confirm yours is a 10Gbps Ethernet.

Op_Valkyrie

1gbps contract can upgrade one leh. Don need to wait for contract to end then upgrade. Call your isp to enquire, mine also left 1yr last time, talk to them then give me a good package to top up, the rest is history liao…

so not an excuse loh….

the problem u might have is if u have multiple devices using 10gbps, then u will need to rewire your home infra to at least cat 6a cables and switches/routers. Heng i already future proof my home infra 5 years ago.

frizee

Lol thought the mac mini has in-built mic as i was trying hey siri and i came across this psa link (n)

Tukatuz

1gbps contract can upgrade one leh. Don need to wait for contract to end then upgrade. Call your isp to enquire, mine also left 1yr last time, talk to them then give me a good package to top up, the rest is history liao…

so not an excuse loh….

the problem u might have is if u have multiple devices using 10gbps, then u will need to rewire your home infra to at least cat 6a cables and switches/routers. Heng i already future proof my home infra 5 years ago.
mine also can upgrade but I will have change router ($$$) also. My RT-AX88U still working fine lah..so give up the idea for the time being. haha

twosix

mine also can upgrade but I will have change router ($$$) also. My RT-AX88U still working fine lah..so give up the idea for the time being. haha
This router is very solid. Im also using it in a mesh for years already.

Singrish

so not an excuse loh….

Tell that to M1. Refused to let me upgrade 🙄

Singrish

So after half a week of usage, anyone have issues with the hidden power button? 🤣 I find it ok.

Read some comments about it being warmer than M1 Mini. Can’t comment as this is my first Mini but my Intel i7 MBP was definitely a lot hotter.

Tukatuz

So after half a week of usage, anyone have issues with the hidden power button? 🤣 I find it ok.

Read some comments about it being warmer than M1 Mini. Can’t comment as this is my first Mini but my Intel i7 MBP was definitely a lot hotter.
initial setup with Apple keyboard.... need double press to activate finger print scan.

yeah. I got M1 Mac mini and notice M4 Mac mini is warmer.

SPY77

Been using for awhile.... not warm at least not now. Could it be your initial set up and runs like the iPhone they tend to run a little hotter with background activities? Cool to touch, been feeling it up a few times since you all mentioned warmer.

Tukatuz

Been using for awhile.... not warm at least not now. Could it be your initial set up and runs like the iPhone they tend to run a little hotter with background activities? Cool to touch, been feeling it up a few times since you all mentioned warmer.
maybe it's busing indexing 2TB of stuff that i have. :LOL:

xiaofan

initial setup with Apple keyboard.... need double press to activate finger print scan.

yeah. I got M1 Mac mini and notice M4 Mac mini is warmer.

kind of expected since Mac Mini M1 is really quite cool. Mac Mini M4 is good but the size is still smaller.

My old Mac Mini 2011 was really hot and dead in 2019 (I suspect power supply failure). I was a bit surprised that Mac Mini M1 was so cool when I first used it in 2020.

That being said, I believe Mac Mini M4 should still be fine in terms of thermal.

rharish_21

how do you guys make sure the Mac mini auto sleeps after a while. My Mac mini's white light is always on even after I leave it untouched for more than 30 mins. I feel like it's not going to sleep at all.
I have already set Start Screensaver when inactive to Never, Also disabled the prevent automatic sleeping when display is off.

GotBetrayed

can’t seem to be able to use hdmi switcher for this Mac mini m4. Worked well with my m1 Mac mini though. Weird, seems like it’s an M4 issue. My m4 MacBook Pro doesn’t work as well

leeivan86

My m4 mini(customized with 10g Ethernet card) still has not shipped yet even though delivery estimate is 7-14 dec zzz.

twosix

can’t seem to be able to use hdmi switcher for this Mac mini m4. Worked well with my m1 Mac mini though. Weird, seems like it’s an M4 issue. My m4 MacBook Pro doesn’t work as well
Why is it the mac mini issue, if the switch does not work?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.