M4 Mac mini

Parka

Sounds awesome. How's their refurbished m2 mac mini like? Almost the same as brand new?
Usually same as brand new. Just the packaging is different.

Refurbished units sometimes are just returned units.

manofsorrows

Usually same as brand new. Just the packaging is different.

Refurbished units sometimes are just returned units.
yes agree.... all my past macs are refurbished. good as new. still can get applecare ! so why not.

on that note, you can also see how much is the variant you want throught this website. Setup auto notification via email when the variant you want is available. SG dont have the M2 pro variant yet. i guess eventually will have.

https://refurb-tracker.com/

manofsorrows

Guys, here are the different configurations pricing based on the m2 pro mac mini on the Singapore refurbished store. Base on how they are priced you can get a rough estimate on your preferred variant that you are eyeing if its not released yet.
Hope this helps.
I am estimating the 512gb->1tb price difference is $250

Parka

Guys, here are the different configurations pricing based on the m2 pro mac mini on the Singapore refurbished store. Base on how they are priced you can get a rough estimate on your preferred variant that you are eyeing if its not released yet.
Hope this helps.
I am estimating the 512gb->1tb price difference is $250

The refurbished prices are usually 15% off official prices

manofsorrows

Finally pulled the trigger with the mac mini m2pro at a darn good price. too good to give it up kind with maxed out specs (1tb ssd) below 2.5k. looking forward to play with it. Pairing it with Dell ultrasharp U2723.

xtwis7

Finally pulled the trigger with the mac mini m2pro at a darn good price. too good to give it up kind with maxed out specs (1tb ssd) below 2.5k. looking forward to play with it. Pairing it with Dell ultrasharp U2723.
You got a special deal?

endlssorrow

I’m currently using a MBP (bought in 2018 or 2019 can’t remember). Am thinking of switching to M2 mac mini with a 27” monitor cos due to lifestyle change i no longer use a laptop outside home & IMO its pointless paying more for a laptop that is used at home.

Am not a power user. I don’t game, edit photos, edit videos or do encoding or programming. The closest to editing videos is basic editing on Movies where i snip parts of a movie or TV show & join together for a short clip.

Rest of the time its mostly web browsing, youtube videos & the occasional word or powerpoint doc. Based on this i definitely do NOT need the M2 Pro mac mini & the M2 is good enough.

However the cheapest M2 only had 8gb ram.Would that suffice? And coming from a MBP with 16gb, would i notice a lag when i switch to a mini with 8gb?

256gb ssd confirm not enough so its either i get the $849 M2 & upgrade to 512gb ssd or if its better to have 16 gb ram then i get the $1149 M2 & upgrade the ram.

I mean $300 for extra 8gb ram is not say unaffordable lah but since i need to buy apple care, keyboard, trackpad & monitor, of course every bit counts.

Having said that since the ram is not user upgradable if 8gb is really not enough for my needs then i guess have to spend lor.
Just to side track compare to window os

8th Generation Intel® Core™ i5-8300H Processor with 8GB, 1x8GB, DDR4, 2666MHz plus GTX card w 4gb GDDR5

I can play games, surf net, open ms words excel PowerPoint lei

like that mean win mac air M1 & M2 liao?

Fellowes

junk610

$2288 is very expensive, can even buy lg C3 OLED at the price point. Sigh
My guess is that they'll massively discount it in a couple of months...to move inventory;)

Using the LG C3 OLED as a monitor sounds interesting though...it'll have the darkest blacks.
Although the smallest size at 42" is a lot of monitor to handle for my peripheral vision lol.

junk610

Can use OLED TV (e.g. LG C3) as computer monitor (mainly to surf internet, watch videos, Youtube etc.), right? (y)

Found a review. Seems like the reviewer loves it.
I'm not sure if the text would look as sharp at normal viewing position though.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.