[Mac 101] Ask your questions here!

FreedomAngelz

giving up old mac but the thing is I want to do a complete cleanup/Format of my HD because it will be used by third party (can say super PRO one) :eek:
What is the best advice to do to really wipe out the data that no software can retrieve it? Coz have credit cards information , addresses etc all inside the files etc since i do many online shopping

Destroying the HD isnt the option here at all

Thank you.

1) Boot into Recovery Mode using your Recovery Disc
2) Open Disk utility
3) Select your HD partition and select "Erase" tab
4) Under it there's a security options which allow user to select "1" "7" or "35" erase pass

I think you can try the 7 Erase pass to ensure your data will not be able to recover by ppl using software to scan for deleted data. Just be prepared that it will take hours to do a 7 erase pass.

limpe84

Jave or adobe ba ?
Weird yesterday it seem fine .

Maybe download chrome and see how those pages run? I find that chrome seems to run flash better, while safari tends to lag less then scrolling through image-heavy websites.

Ultimately, I am sticking with safari for iCloud and reader.

Laneige

2) Open Disk utility
4) Under it there's a security options which allow user to select "1" "7" or "35" erase pass

I think you can try the 7 Erase pass to ensure your data will not be able to recover by ppl using software to scan for deleted data. Just be prepared that it will take hours to do a 7 erase pass.

the 7 takes 13hrs or 16hrs? for me.1TB HD

davidktw

2) Open Disk utility

Misconception. For people using software to recover deleted information, 1 pass is sufficient. There is NO way to retrieve reminiscence magnetic information from the hardware using just software alone.

Multi passes erasures are protection against perpetrators who can access the platters directly to retrieve the information using sophisticated engineering approach. Even so, there is an article back in 2009 that advice for modern drives, one pass is more than enough. Read at LAWTECH GURU BLOG by Jeff Beard: Multi-Pass Erasure Myth Debunked

Even if the "myth" debunked in the article above may not be entirely true, still there is no way for non-engineering approach to retrieve data from drives that can fully formatted with one pass of zeros. Read at security - Is using multiple passes for wiping a disk really necessary? - Super User

Laneige

Is 2011 model ,

maybe have chance

https://www.apple.com/support/imac-harddrive/

Apple has determined that certain Seagate 1TB hard drives used in 21.5-inch and 27-inch iMac systems may fail. These systems were sold between October 2009 and July 2011.

Apple or an Apple Authorized Service Provider (AASP) will replace affected hard drives free of charge.

Apple is contacting affected iMac owners who provided a valid email address during the product registration process to let them know about this program. If you have not been contacted, but think you have a 1TB Seagate hard drive, you can enter your serial number below to see if it's part of this program.

blah blah blah

Go to the link n input yr serial number

my serial number returns.....

The iMac serial number you entered is eligible for this program. Please follow the instructions below to have your hard drive replaced.

Laneige

thanks for the reply.
btw i have my new imac now. i dont know how to drag my data from my old imac (2009-2010) into here... different OS. not sure if mac can restore parallel etc too?
any idea? thanks
n not sure if the time machine can be so smart to restore the data but not os since both imac is running on different os ???

000kai000

estimated cost of repair

hey guys, my mid 2009 mbp finally gave up on me...

couldnt charge... something is wrong with the charging port...

tried switching cables, certified to be something regarding logic board... cause battery was just changed 6 months ago and before it died, battery health was good...

warranty has been overed...

so anyone know the estimated repair cost? or should i get a new machine? :(

thanks in advance

B772ER

hey guys, my mid 2009 mbp finally gave up on me...

couldnt charge... something is wrong with the charging port...

tried switching cables, certified to be something regarding logic board... cause battery was just changed 6 months ago and before it died, battery health was good...

warranty has been overed...

so anyone know the estimated repair cost? or should i get a new machine? :(

thanks in advance

logic board repair costs almost as much as getting a new machine.. the new base mbp is going for $1588 so you could possibly consider that..

000kai000

logic board repair costs almost as much as getting a new machine.. the new base mbp is going for $1588 so you could possibly consider that..

was considering a macbook air or an ultrabook...

budget quite tight :( :(

Laneige

walaoz eh i called up apple, they tell me use migration, tried liao but now mac messy like sh it :s22::s22::s22:

now must go google how to reformat HD or just delete off the account. sibei sian. :(

elflic

Hi guys,

Need some advice from you all.

I had a 15" Mbp mid 2012. Got it during last August with a ram upgrade to 16G but recently, it hav started to behave sluggishly...

Open word document, Pages or excel, the wheel kept spinning. Sometimes when typing, the words appear only after a few seconds. Even in the Finder window, choosing different folders also experience slow reaction.

I also use lightroom for editing and switching between the photos is also slow. Editing is a pain when the effects is like retarded.

Any experts who can advise on this?

Thanks in advance!!!

B772ER

Hi guys,

Need some advice from you all.

I had a 15" Mbp mid 2012. Got it during last August with a ram upgrade to 16G but recently, it hav started to behave sluggishly...

Open word document, Pages or excel, the wheel kept spinning. Sometimes when typing, the words appear only after a few seconds. Even in the Finder window, choosing different folders also experience slow reaction.

I also use lightroom for editing and switching between the photos is also slow. Editing is a pain when the effects is like retarded.

Any experts who can advise on this?

Thanks in advance!!!

try resetting the SMC? instructions at Intel-based Macs: Resetting the System Management Controller (SMC)

tinky123

Hi guys. Bought an early 2011 mbp in 2011 oct but now i not sure what happened and in need of advice!

My mbp was still performing ok ytd night but at 1015 it started to shut down automatically. I tried switching on and it can still work for the next 2 mins. After that, it shut down again by itself and this time round i couldnt switch it on at all.

I tried plugging in my magsafe and switch on the power. The light indicated is a very dim alternation between green and orange. Can anyone advice me? It's out of warranty already. Is it a problem to the logic board or just pure battery problem?

runforyourlife

ok stupid qn.. installed bootcamp windows 8 and everything runs fine.

installed origin and one game simcity and can't play at all. laglike mad. tried windows update, all e updates failed. or rather most..

deleted Nirvana partition. shd I redo? what's wrong ah. can still update nvidea drivers one?

Laneige

i have a problem with my imac too. not sure if its sw bug or normal
i restart it n upon almost log gin in can see the black apple logo disappear n appear again.
the display brightness, its set to tick auto adjust brightness so i untick, restart and the previous setting stays. i tick on adjust brightness again n restart, the previous setting still stay although its much brighter on the 1st start up with auto brightness. normal?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.