[Mac 101] Ask your questions here!

xMILKSHAKE

More details please, what router are you using? Can you view the network with any other device (i.e. are you sure it's configured properly)? And can you see any other networks with your MacBook?

using link sys router... my other laptop can connect to wireless. My Macbook also can connect to wireless with 4 bars but got error "no internet connection"

leinad

using link sys router... my other laptop can connect to wireless. My Macbook also can connect to wireless with 4 bars but got error "no internet connection"
1) Check your wireless key.
2) Check your channel. Make sure you're 1-11, preferably 1.

/Dan

ITretard

guys it seems like i have problem with mac msn. is adium a good alternative? (i wan my emoticons =x)

ceephax

I'm using a 17" AG Unibody, the colours are definitely more vivid and "pop" on the glossy screens. I got the 17" for the AG (before the option became available on the 15" MBP) because I can't stand the glare and the colours are supposedly more accurate (I use supposedly because some people argue against it) for photography. I'm not sure how my Spyder3 would react to a glass surface anyway, so I just went with the AG option.

Thanks for the input! Just ordered the 15" MBP with the anti-glare option.

Rooney10

guys. i still cant solve the problem of mac msn clearing my personal message everytime. anyone can help?

its a known problem that is not solved yet by Microsoft side. do a search on this forum. adium has the same problem, so i'd suggest u just persist with msn for mac for a little while more.

ITretard

its a known problem that is not solved yet by Microsoft side. do a search on this forum. adium has the same problem, so i'd suggest u just persist with msn for mac for a little while more.

ok. i live with it.. but now. i got another problem.. for a few minutes or so. my macbook pro will make a noise. sounds like. "deng" (dunno how explain in words) can anyone explain? i only have firefox and msn on

n0d3

ok. i live with it.. but now. i got another problem.. for a few minutes or so. my macbook pro will make a noise. sounds like. "deng" (dunno how explain in words) can anyone explain? i only have firefox and msn on

Er...MSN? :s22:

ITretard

nono. is like er. i dunno how to say leh. nth is wrong. jus occasionally got a "deng" sound. like some errors or wad. but nth wrong leh. msn is fine, firefox is doing well. but jus. DENG! =.=" and i off the msn alert sound. so cant b msn

n0d3

nono. is like er. i dunno how to say leh. nth is wrong. jus occasionally got a "deng" sound. like some errors or wad. but nth wrong leh. msn is fine, firefox is doing well. but jus. DENG! =.=" and i off the msn alert sound. so cant b msn

Try quitting an app at a time, maybe that'll narrow things down.

ITretard

hmmm.. i tried. and. i found out one thing. i got a program or an app. "Growl" i do not noe when or where i got it from =,=" wads tt anyway? i googled it and i still dun get wads the use of it.

n0d3

hmmm.. i tried. and. i found out one thing. i got a program or an app. "Growl" i do not noe when or where i got it from =,=" wads tt anyway? i googled it and i still dun get wads the use of it.

LOL, it's a notification system lah for all kinds of apps. Just open up the preferences and see what sort of notifications you turned on and the sound that goes along with it.

ITretard

hmm okok.. i think its growl tt causes tt sound. it sounds like when u in msn chat and the u keep backspace/delete when theres no word in the typing box. and got the "deng" sound. u noe u noe? lols.

vincentheng

Are you using skype? I'm having this problem with my mac as well and realize the sound come from SKYPE.

ITretard

nope not skype.. i cant be hearing things. cos i on the volume to the max. and waited a while. and "DENG" and mayb 10min or so again. or sometime 1minute later. kinda creeping =x

alementz

need some recommendation on ram for iMac i7.
If i wanna upgrade the ram, is it better for me to get 1 x 4gb module or 2 x 2 gb module?
Currently system is 4gb (2 x 2gb). Planning for future upgrade, so thinking of leaving 1 slot empty is it better. Any idea?

n0d3

need some recommendation on ram for iMac i7.
If i wanna upgrade the ram, is it better for me to get 1 x 4gb module or 2 x 2 gb module?
Currently system is 4gb (2 x 2gb). Planning for future upgrade, so thinking of leaving 1 slot empty is it better. Any idea?

No point spending more money now so you can get one stick, memory prices tend to fall over time so if you want to upgrade in the future, best is to do it ummm in the future? lol. No point spending more to keep one slot free now.

Having two identical sticks also allows you to run the memory in a dual-channel configuration.

kklim1973

sorry bro i juz got my macbook today but i really dun noe how to use it :( i cant download or install wat i have download all show in exe after i download plz help...

n0d3

sorry bro i juz got my macbook today but i really dun noe how to use it :( i cant download or install wat i have download all show in exe after i download plz help...

As per my reply on the other thread:

sorry everyone i juz got my 1st macbook but i really dun noe how to use it :( everyting i download all show in exe all cannot open or install how com n pls anyone cn help mi thkz....

A Mac runs OS X, so Windows applications will not run (i.e. .exe). It's a totally different operating system.

Kindly check out the FAQ and Apple's website:

http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/showthread.php?t=1920239

http://www.apple.com/support/switch101/

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.