[Mac 101] Ask your questions here!

te_emile

Can anybody pls tell me where to get a hard shell casing for the new macbook? Been trying to search around the web, but can't find. Thanks in advance.

skye..

they're sold out at the moment on speck's
for the new MacBook at least

logicet

Well if he isn't in a rush, I would say speck is good and sturdy. May want to consider.

You can also visit apple's store to see yea.

te_emile

ohh... I'm in urgent of getting a hard case before I scratch my lappy... Would sim lim shops sell hard case? cos i need to head there to get the arm rest protector and keyboard protector.

Thanks for the input guys :)

n0d3

ohh... I'm in urgent of getting a hard case before I scratch my lappy... Would sim lim shops sell hard case? cos i need to head there to get the arm rest protector and keyboard protector.

Thanks for the input guys :)

I think it's best if you walk a bit further away to Funan instead, there are more shops catered to Mac accessories, I don't think Sim Lim has as much. You can try Multimedia Integrated, MacShop, Challenger, all of which are at Funan.

skye..

macshop doesnt have any hardshells that will fit the new MB.
sleeves from radtech maybe but in pretty dull colors.
and limited stock.
i got my grey one at like $40++.

as for keyboard protect go with something slightly more ex like moshi.
it rly fits better than the cheaper stuff.
though i don't recommend one cos the keyboard is where the ventilation area is. (correct me if im wrong but thats what i read on speck)

as for wristrest area, it's subjective.
film, leather stick on and what have u.
for me i'm more particular the entire area around the keyboard and not just the wristrest area itself.
for trackpad i dun recommend anu protection at all as with the keyboard
just clean it periodically can le
home fix has this spongy glob of jelly thing that is a good cleaner for notebooks according to the SA
go check it out bah
7.90 iirc

:)

te_emile

Thanks for the great advise. I wont go get the keyboard protector since its for ventilation.

Maclink said they have hard case for the new MB. Will be heading down later to see..

Thanks for sharing guys! :)

koniie

Thanks for the great advise. I wont go get the keyboard protector since its for ventilation.

Maclink said they have hard case for the new MB. Will be heading down later to see..

Thanks for sharing guys! :)

Hey bro, mind sharing wat type of hard case they have? I am searching for 1 urgently as well man. I am looking at Speck SeeThru Satin.

Do kindly update me. Thanks in advance!!!

te_emile

Hey bro, mind sharing wat type of hard case they have? I am searching for 1 urgently as well man. I am looking at Speck SeeThru Satin.

Do kindly update me. Thanks in advance!!!

I can't seem to post the link... It says i don't have sufficient post count to post images/links???? WTH...

Anyway, you can copy and past the link below into your browser.

maclink.com.sg/product_info.php?products_id=1010&osCsid=91c5cd3c3d4442b940c1c296a09e4502

You might want to call them first before heading down.. Cos some of their stuff not updated. On their site, they don have the hard case for the new macbook, but they actually have it in store.

skye..

See-Thru,-Clear-200P.gif

brand is skin mate
but it states macbook pro 13"
don't rly think it would fit the macbook (though the pics are of a macbook~)
i'd take a close look if i were you
go down to their store with ur macbook and see see bahs

:o

koniie

I can't seem to post the link... It says i don't have sufficient post count to post images/links???? WTH...

Anyway, you can copy and past the link below into your browser.

maclink.com.sg/product_info.php?products_id=1010&osCsid=91c5cd3c3d4442b940c1c296a09e4502

You might want to call them first before heading down.. Cos some of their stuff not updated. On their site, they don have the hard case for the new macbook, but they actually have it in store.

Hi Guys, thanks for the update!!!

Will try to give them a buzz later. Hopefully, accessories for the unibody MB will be available
soon. I collected mine since last week and is still resting nicely in the box. So much reading on scratches on the MB just drives me crazy. ahhaaha.

starian

Tell me about it. i collected yesterday this morning wake up see the palm part got afew scratches liao.

sian

koniie

Tell me about it. i collected yesterday this morning wake up see the palm part got afew scratches liao.

sian

Haiz.. = [

Dun despair dude, its a case of how soon nia even with cases, protectors used and applied on it.

Deep down, i am ready for it. If i protect it as much as i want and still kanna, then its fated.

Look on the bright side!!! = ]

starian

yeah man.

trust me a speck of dust is all it takes to scratch it. i kinda give up.

skye..

the new material scratches itself if i am allowed to say so
it's crazy but lucky most people would think a red MacBook looks good
save your money
scratch removers only tear the gloss off further and make more scratches
unless u use car polish and professional buffing (ex and nt very practical it's gonna scratch even when u touch it with ur nail)
live with it
i also give in le
:(

just hoot some film and a speck and paste everything on and forget abt it
:)

Rooney10

the new macbook seems even harder to protect than our older pre late-2009 version. hahaha. blessing in disguise. then again, i thought they didnt make any changes to the palmrest area? or did they?

skye..

the new bg for MacBook actually covers the whole area surrounding the kb
impressive

haven't seen it anywhere though
but saw the pic on their site
it was bloody impressive that they considered the whole area and not just wristrest
would recommend that over invisi shield
the latter has an orange peel feel and yellows

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.