[Mac 101] Ask your questions here!

leinad

ok thx alot petpet.
juz to confirm i can get non-mac formatted hdd right?
i just have to reformat the hdd myself using partition?

You have the option of formatting it as NTFS and using NTFS-3G to add NTFS read/write capability to OS X.

It depends on whether the drive needs to be shared with Windows users.

If the drive is strictly for your Mac, then simply use HFS+J and perhaps use it for Time Machine.

/Dan

emuji

It happened in Leopard too for many people, it's just that there's no "search for network" in Leopard so you don't see.

The drop outs for the 2wire are well-documented all over many forums. It's been discussed to death here on HWZ and many people have confirmed these findings themselves. There're also many discussions on the 2wire and signal dropout on international forums like Macrumors.

You claim to say that people are ignoring your queries, but perhaps it's also because the wireless issue with the 2wire's discussed so often that people don't really want to bother to reply, since the answers are all over. And for the record, even PC laptops are experiencing these issues - those using non-intel wireless chipsets (Broadcom, Atheros) assuredly are having intermittent problems.

/Dan

thanks Dan. i took your recommendation and went ahead with Apple Extreme and yesterday i did a long 4 hours internet connection without any dropping. i just use the 2wire as the router, disabling its wireless. i notice my mio TV also connects faster when i on the mio box but then again it is connected via RJ45, a very long one (10meters):D

however, although connects to my MB in a snap, but my desktop PC running on VISTA can't connect to the apple extreme. it can for a few minutes after installing the airport utility. so frustrated with windows, pardon me, but i think windows just have way too much settings :s11:

kawatsu

i got the hitachi 500gb HD from guardian last month and i plugged it into my macbook for the 1st time and a window popped out and i just clicked "format" (not sure to which format)

and i realised that when i plug my hdd to the vista desktop, it cannot detect..

do you think its possible to allow the 2.5" hdd to read on mac and windows?

skipper

i got the hitachi 500gb HD from guardian last month and i plugged it into my macbook for the 1st time and a window popped out and i just clicked "format" (not sure to which format)

and i realised that when i plug my hdd to the vista desktop, it cannot detect..

do you think its possible to allow the 2.5" hdd to read on mac and windows?

simple,just reformat it to FAT

What format is it in right now?

do i format it on mac or windows?

so i can access both on mac and windows if its FAT?

Thanks!

1. the format u can check in disk utility mah.

2. doesn't matter format in mac/win lah.

3. yeah. ntfs oso can. but read only unless u use 3rd party stuff.

kawatsu

1. the format u can check in disk utility mah.

2. doesn't matter format in mac/win lah.

3. yeah. ntfs oso can. but read only unless u use 3rd party stuff.

Thanks!

My format is "Mac OS Extended (Case sensitive, Journaled) - what is that?

Another question: how come i got another user called "staff" ? can i delete that away?

PetPet

Thanks!

My format is "Mac OS Extended (Case sensitive, Journaled) - what is that?

Another question: how come i got another user called "staff" ? can i delete that away?
erm, is your username called staff?
there shld not be any other accounts other than yours.

Mac OS Extended Journaled is your Filesystem, it's just like NTFS, but just a little way better :D

RSKeisuke

apple store charge 400 for applecare for 13" mbp, any lobang for better deals? eyeing on the 13" mbp. is 4gb ram enuff for normal use? should i buy iworks too? thinking of buying the new ipod nano too.. :p any place can "bundle" a good deal for me? :D

kawatsu

erm, is your username called staff?
there shld not be any other accounts other than yours.

Mac OS Extended Journaled is your Filesystem, it's just like NTFS, but just a little way better :D

no leh.. my username confirm not staff

i got "myusername", "staff" and "everyone"

can i delete staff away?

Mac OS Extended is like NFTS? so can i reformat it to FAT so that both my windows and mac can read the external HDD?

emuji

simple,just reformat it to FAT

isn't FAT going to limit your file size transfer?

i am using Macfuse and NFTS-3G to do transfer between mac and pc. i am not sure about the read-only part, i only know at least i can get them to 'see' each other and transfer the files between them.

kawatsu

isn't FAT going to limit your file size transfer?

i am using Macfuse and NFTS-3G to do transfer between mac and pc. i am not sure about the read-only part, i only know at least i can get them to 'see' each other and transfer the files between them.

Oh... there's a difference in speed??

please advise what i should do! i have not formatted my hdd yet.

should i use 3rd party software or just format to FAT?

Enishi

well, first ask yourself if you have any needs to transfer file that are larger than 4gb, cos that is FAT limitation for filesize
if no, then use FAT
if yes, then either
1)format to NTFS and use macfuse and NTFS 3G on the Mac
or
2) format to HFS+ and purchase macdrive

option 1 is recommended as macfuse and NTFS 3G is free

Enishi

no leh.. my username confirm not staff

i got "myusername", "staff" and "everyone"

can i delete staff away?

Mac OS Extended is like NFTS? so can i reformat it to FAT so that both my windows and mac can read the external HDD?

staff is a user group in os x that both the standard and admin account are part of
therefore it is not recommended to delete it

NoobWithStuff

hi guys, im a design student and i intend to purchase a 13/15"mbp sometime soon. May i know if its more worth it to purchase one thru ADC programme or thru NUS?

much help needed here.

TIA :)

emuji

not speed but file size. as mentioned by ENISHI. as said, i went with macfuse and NTFS-3G instead. life's good with those! :D

staff is a user group in os x that both the standard and admin account are part of
therefore it is not recommended to delete it

i don't have the staff user. strange.

emuji

thanks Dan. i took your recommendation and went ahead with Apple Extreme and yesterday i did a long 4 hours internet connection without any dropping. i just use the 2wire as the router, disabling its wireless. i notice my mio TV also connects faster when i on the mio box but then again it is connected via RJ45, a very long one (10meters):D

however, although connects to my MB in a snap, but my desktop PC running on VISTA can't connect to the apple extreme. it can for a few minutes after installing the airport utility. so frustrated with windows, pardon me, but i think windows just have way too much settings :s11:

issue resolved *phew* :D

Cheers!

slang

not speed but file size. as mentioned by ENISHI. as said, i went with macfuse and NTFS-3G instead. life's good with those! :D

My portable HDD was formatted with FAT32 but it can accept transfer larger than 4GB leh.
No problem so far for both windows and mac system...so do you mean FAT32 transfer rate will be slower?

Enishi

My portable HDD was formatted with FAT32 but it can accept transfer larger than 4GB leh.
No problem so far for both windows and mac system...so do you mean FAT32 transfer rate will be slower?

4gb is the limitation of a SINGLE file
transfer rate should not be affected by the file system
it would mainly be the rpm, seek time, connector type that determines the transfer rate

Enishi

the staff thing abit hard to explain
its a group, not a user account

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.