Malaysia VEP 2016

tstiong

Does anyone know whether it is possible to do the registration of vep on the spot at the second link?

poppers

hari raya around the corner, need $

My friend forward this to me...
Anyone driving in lately? Planning to head to msia soon.

[31/05 22:29] C K Lee: Temporary cannot drive to Malaysia

Read the * that will help u. It will happen to u soon.
Today, we were stopped by Malaysian highway police at the rest area just before second link. Actually all Singapore cars were channelled into the rest area and stopped.

At the first gate, they did a cross checking of your car plate. Those with outstanding traffic offense were forced to stop and they took away your driving license, IC or passport.

You are to line up to obtain your outstanding offense list. We did and I was surprised to find that I have 3, with two of them in 2001 and 2004. I am always careful and I paid my traffic fines promptly. I challenged them and they asked me to go check out at their computer station. I went there and they could not produce. Officer there said 2001 and 2004 was too old. So I asked them to produce the one on Dec 31, 2012. They too could not produce. They simply strong arm and force you to pay.

I lined up to pay. There were 2 long lines. Some have more than 10 items. A guy had 7 or 8 pages and had more than 60 line items. Some poor guys had no money and they were frantic.

***Those with copy of registration that indicates their date of purchase can have offense prior to that date being temporarily excused. They need to go to JB police station to have them permanently deleted.

As expected, when you paid your fine, they took away your original offense list. I took picture of the slip earlier and encouraged everyone around me to do likewise.

The European couple in front of me had 12 items, with 2 items on the same day, an hour apart. One from Batu Pahat and another from Seramban. She was puzzled as there was I way she could drive that distance in an hour.

As she was paying, 3 more line items came up. All there were from the same day, bearing the same time. They ignored their plea so the Caucasian couple paid M$2,250. The two guys in front of them paid many thousands. They got more than 60 line items!

The Caucasian couple told me that the police has been doing this for a week. They usually leave early and did not get caught. They only do this at second link as doing this at Causeway would cause a massive jam.

Please feel free to pass this along.
From C K Lee:
This happens to my friend today. after today don't go Malaysia by private car.

alamin2

after more than 24hrs... still nothing. tried registering with different emails also never get the link..

cokiee

Has anyone driven into MY since the announcement without a VEP? Tried online but the link doesn't work.

SBB8888B

yah lor. jin confusing...
so can just drive across causeway now or not

Mod, I'm just return from jb... As usual... Nothing new.... But there's check once u cleared your immigration and it's causing jam...

poppers

Check as in, ask for the vep registeration letter?

Pls elaborate for everyone benefit, thanks.

Mod, I'm just return from jb... As usual... Nothing new.... But there's check once u cleared your immigration and it's causing jam...

SBB8888B

Check as in, ask for the vep registeration letter?

Pls elaborate for everyone benefit, thanks.

The check will be at jb custom returning to sg... Once u pass the barrier... U will have to Q n pass through a spot check by jb custom ... Not asking for those vep... They r checking especially sg car on those items bought from Jb... Your daily grocery . I guess the jam will be pretty bad tonight if the check is still on especially it's a Sunday today....stock up day for most of us.....

For entering into jb via tuas 2nd link checkpoint... Nothing unusual....

Hope this info might help for all kakis..

bbmars1128

The check will be at jb custom returning to sg... Once u pass the barrier... U will have to Q n pass through a spot check by jb custom ... Not asking for those vep... They r checking especially sg car on those items bought from Jb... Your daily grocery . I guess the jam will be pretty bad tonight if the check is still on especially it's a Sunday today....stock up day for most of us.....

Oh, seems like there is a procedure change. Formerly, the check is done before you cross the barrier. Experience this several times following my neighbour's car in. Just before you get your passport stamped, there is a officer there flagging you to open you booth to check. Sometime, just routine, but sometimes, they lift you stuff to see what is inside. Once checked, the barrier will lift for you to clear immigration.

SBB8888B

Oh, seems like there is a procedure change. Formerly, the check is done before you cross the barrier. Experience this several times following my neighbour's car in. Just before you get your passport stamped, there is a officer there flagging you to open you booth to check. Sometime, just routine, but sometimes, they lift you stuff to see what is inside. Once checked, the barrier will lift for you to clear immigration.

Jb custom? Going into jb or returning back to sg side ?

blade007

Believe the announcement was made on the 1st of June? I went in on 1st of June but there was no VEP mentioned/implemented at all.

But I noticed another card scanner machine above the one which is usually there. Looks new. Believe that would be for the VEP?

beanstalk6

s7460597

Any similar checks at 2nd link?

Think there's some items which Singaporeans can't buy eg cooking oil etc due to subsidies. Maybe they start again because of Ramadan.

bbmars1128

read somewhere tat rice,sugar,flour,oil cant buy.
even baby milk powder oso cant.

Yes, still in enforcement. However, very much depends on the officer in charge. its up to whoever to take the risk. But I understand from past travelling in, friend told me can buy 2 bottle of 5L oil. He said Tesco staff told him.

Not sure better ask staff at super market.
As for rice, do make a check on their label. Most of the rice available has mixture of MY grown rice which is inferior to the Thai 100% rice we have in SG. Unless you don't mind. A friend who owns a restaurant in Sabah told me about this rice thing...

donut33

Any bro here who have registered for VEP and enter JB and highlight what to expect at the custom. With our confirmation email, where do we get the tag?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.