Malaysian Property advice

foozgarden

hi,

with our SGD in a favourable rate to the RM.
does anyone actually own a Msian ppty. can be in any state.

how is the process like?
how is your mortgage payment?
what are the taxes involved? wrt rental and, the later part, selling.

i am thinking of a ptty in malacca.
they have those condotel feature, whereby one can stay for X days in a year.
and they also guarantee x% for x years.

any comments or advice?

BBCWatcher

Step 1: Including your primary home, if this investment would make your portfolio over 20% invested in real estate, I would have serious diversification concerns.

Step 2 (if you get past Step 1): If you've fallen in love with a particular property (or small neighborhood) in Malacca and must absolutely stay exactly there every year for a month or more, then maybe a "condotel" (a.k.a. time share) starts to get interesting, if the price is right. If I didn't describe you, then I'd stick to a high quality, better diversified REIT and conventional hotel stays for your vacations.

mummy1234

hi,

how is the process like?

any comments or advice?

My hubby and I own a semiD in JB. Had to wait a Long time before process finalised and we made several trips to the lawyer's office. State consent took many months.

We took an equity loan against our Sg terrace and so paid in full cash which was what the seller wanted and got the title deed....which is ironic considering it is 100% loan just that not loaned from JB banks. On hindsight, taking a Malaysian loan would have been better because of the falling exchange rate.

We have to pay annual property tax and quit rent, which we can do via internet. Currently, house is rented out. Yield not as good as Sg cause foreigners have to buy above a certain amount. But at least tenants can help us look after the house and pay maintainance fees as it is in a double gated and guarded estate.

As prices have gone up quite a lot before recently slightly coming down, you may not see much returns so it is better to buy for eventual own stay rather than investment.

foozgarden

My hubby and I own a semiD in JB. Had to wait a Long time before process finalised and we made several trips to the lawyer's office. State consent took many months.

We took an equity loan against our Sg terrace and so paid in full cash which was what the seller wanted and got the title deed....which is ironic considering it is 100% loan just that not loaned from JB banks. On hindsight, taking a Malaysian loan would have been better because of the falling exchange rate.

We have to pay annual property tax and quit rent, which we can do via internet. Currently, house is rented out. Yield not as good as Sg cause foreigners have to buy above a certain amount. But at least tenants can help us look after the house and pay maintainance fees as it is in a double gated and guarded estate.

As prices have gone up quite a lot before recently slightly coming down, you may not see much returns so it is better to buy for eventual own stay rather than investment.

thanks for the honest input!..
can foreigner own freehold or just leasehold (99?)
say, for a condo ...

OngHuatHuat

Can own freehold. Plenty of freehold properties in Malaysia.
I think the restriction is 1 million ringgit for new stocks. Old stocks perhaps foreigners can buy 500
K up, including some condos in jb.

thanks for the honest input!..
can foreigner own freehold or just leasehold (99?)
say, for a condo ...

Mecisteus

A "favorable" rate now can become more favorable in the future.

PostCountWarrior[+1]

hi,

how is the process like?

any comments or advice?
https://www.propertysoul.com/2014/09/26/tough-times-ahead-for-iskandar-and-malaysia-properties/

koja6049

hi,

how is the process like?

any comments or advice?

never buy those kinds of property, the legal matters on ownership is very messy

Perisher

Lai liao...
UjFCrZ8.jpg

30狮城客买碧桂园 告上警局求查“窜改”合约 http://www.zaobao.com/znews/singapore/story20180624-869831?xtor=CS2-8

OngHuatHuat

Frankly speaking, locals rarely bought this project, most of the buyers are foreigners.

At the same time, ringgit has been strengthening and double storey landed price also strengthening recently... :)

Lai liao...

Perisher

Frankly speaking, locals rarely bought this project, most of the buyers are foreigners.

At the same time, ringgit has been strengthening and double storey landed price also strengthening recently... :)

30 Sinkies bought from this report.
Doesn't matter how many bought, problem is it's hard to trust Malaysia's ppty developer.

WhyPayMore

You and your self delusional Malaysia dream

Sent from Xiaomi MI MAX 2 using GAGT

OngHuatHuat

locals seldom get cheated coz most of us know the market and past history of all Malaysian developers.

My parents and I have bought 5 properties in my hometown, JB and PJ, so far all still okay.... sold one coz my dad was unemployed back then.
I have never purchased a single condo in Malaysia.

Doesn't matter how many bought, problem is it's hard to trust Malaysia's ppty developer.

OngHuatHuat

Dream or not, you check the price trend for double storey landed in Malaysia.

I have heard so many so called expert advice in property investment here, those who kept saying sgd against ringgit will only go one way up and Sg properties are much safer than Malaysia properties for investment purpose.
The truth is right now ringgit is still
Strengthening and Hdb price keep breaking new low.

You and your self delusional Malaysia dream

Sent from Xiaomi MI MAX 2 using GAGT

cscs3

Suggest you stay away.
You never know what other new policy the current government will introduce again. Today, they want to revisit water supply contract.

Invest in a country without government reserved is a big joke.

OngHuatHuat

By the way, just a correction for you:

碧桂园is a PRC developer, not a malaysia developer.

mummy1234

Suggest you stay away.
You never know what other new policy the current government will introduce again. Today, they want to revisit water supply contract.

Invest in a country without government reserved is a big joke.

Precisely because we depend on them for water that is why I wanna retire there if not have to drink poop recycled water...yucks..

Perisher

By the way, just a correction for you:

碧桂园is a PRC developer, not a malaysia developer.

The quoted TS say one. But thank for correcting.
Still in Malaysia, buyers beware. :o

Perisher

Precisely because we depend on them for water that is why I wanna retire there if not have to drink poop recycled water...yucks..

You have been drinking it since dunno when.

Indirect Potable Use
During dry periods, NEWater is added to our reservoirs to blend with raw water. The raw water from the reservoir is treated at the waterworks before it is supplied to consumers as tap water.
For household consumption, NEWater is “top up” to the reservoir and undergo the usual treatment process before getting channelled to your home.
Only when there’s a dry spell or disruption to our water supply, will we get to drink NEWater.

Which, believe it or not, happened just a couple of months back in Oct 2017.

While most of you were busy reading news articles about the MRT train collisions at Pioneer and Steven Lim’s MMA match outcome, did you know that the water supply from JB to Singapore was temporarily suspended?

On 29 Oct 2017, Singapore PUB agency announced that they’ve “temporarily suspended water supply from Johor River to Singapore due to high ammonia levels detected” the day before.

Investigations revealed that a poultry farm and a factory in Kota Tinggi were responsible for the pollution, and ordered to shut down.

Thankfully, water supply in Singapore wasn’t affected and our various desalination and water plants stepped up to pick up the slack.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.