Malaysian Property advice

cscs3

Precisely because we depend on them for water that is why I wanna retire there if not have to drink poop recycled water...yucks..

They buy processed water from us too as they do not have enough facilities to process river water. Unless you are going to stay further away from JB.

cscs3

Frankly speaking, locals rarely bought this project, most of the buyers are foreigners.

At the same time, ringgit has been strengthening and double storey landed price also strengthening recently... :)

Don't see a reason for ringgit to strengthen especially when the country is in red and without reserved to support it.

OngHuatHuat

I also don’t see a reason, but this is what is happening right now.. what the hell!

Don't see a reason for ringgit to strengthen especially when the country is in red and without reserved to support it.

klarklar

My hubby and I own a semiD in JB. Had to wait a Long time before process finalised and we made several trips to the lawyer's office. State consent took many months.

We took an equity loan against our Sg terrace and so paid in full cash which was what the seller wanted and got the title deed....which is ironic considering it is 100% loan just that not loaned from JB banks. On hindsight, taking a Malaysian loan would have been better because of the falling exchange rate.

We have to pay annual property tax and quit rent, which we can do via internet. Currently, house is rented out. Yield not as good as Sg cause foreigners have to buy above a certain amount. But at least tenants can help us look after the house and pay maintainance fees as it is in a double gated and guarded estate.

As prices have gone up quite a lot before recently slightly coming down, you may not see much returns so it is better to buy for eventual own stay rather than investment.

Hi mummy1234,

There has been much debate on this thread about investing in Malaysian property. One question to settle it. You invested in both Malaysian and Singapore property. So far, which has done better? Returns should include both rental yield and capital gain and currency effects.

klarklar

Hdb is not doing well. You can do personal attack or just empty talk but you can show no proof.

GPGT:

y3h2yG5.jpg

I have been waiting for sgd to strengthen since end 2017, around 9 months.
Current exchange rate 1 sgd : 2.94 ringgit.

Overexcited? Nope, I am not. I want ringgit to weaken further.

Although I live in a HDB, HDB prices going down is good news, at least for me. As a parent, I don't want my kids to lose hope for the future like Hong Kongers who become debt slaves as a result of owning their own properties. Whether Singaporeans have an affordable roof over their head depends on prices of HDB. It is wrong for Singaporeans to rely on HDB as an investment for their retirement. Primary purpose of HDB is affordable housing, not speculation. It is a different matter for private property.

I'm sure most, if not all, HDB-owning PRs will be happy to see HDB prices shoot up the roof. These PRs can always go home after they made their pot of gold in SIngapore. Whatever else happens to Singapore, it is none of their business. Unlike them, I will prefer affordable HDB prices for the next generation as a Singaporean parent.

klarklar

As a general rule of investing, avoid investing in a foreign country which does not respect the property rights of foreigners. Exceptions can be made for those who are particularly knowledgeable but for most Singaporeans who only have money and do not have an investment edge in Malaysian property, they had better steer clear. If an investment goes bad, I would rather lose money to local people than to foreigners.

Mergui219067

Many naive Sinkies invested in Malaysia by comparing the ulu HDB flats price & say JB cheap cheap cheap . :o

Now with roti prata man Dr M who flips agreements with HSR / water / his hostility esp towards Singapore .....

NewInvestor

I was keen on investing in Malaysian properties and was looking around. Then Dr M became PM. I have put my plans on hold now. It seems to me that the new govt doesn't have a firm economic plan, other than criticising and blaming others..... I will wait to see what develops.

OngHuatHuat

I support ban PRs from buying HDB flats.

Although I live in a HDB, HDB prices going down is good news, at least for me. As a parent, I don't want my kids to lose hope for the future like Hong Kongers who become debt slaves as a result of owning their own properties. Whether Singaporeans have an affordable roof over their head depends on prices of HDB. It is wrong for Singaporeans to rely on HDB as an investment for their retirement. Primary purpose of HDB is affordable housing, not speculation. It is a different matter for private property.

I'm sure most, if not all, HDB-owning PRs will be happy to see HDB prices shoot up the roof. These PRs can always go home after they made their pot of gold in SIngapore. Whatever else happens to Singapore, it is none of their business. Unlike them, I will prefer affordable HDB prices for the next generation as a Singaporean parent.

OngHuatHuat

Actually if you compare with other south east Asia country, you will find out malaysia is the only country that can see the backlight of Singapore.
You try with other countries in this region,chances of you get cheated is much higher.

Hong Kong? The price is even higher than Sg private properties.
China? Without Hu Kou, how to purchase in first or second tier cities?
You slowly list one by one, then you can see why people doing certain things.
Not many able to retire comfortably in Singapore, at least not for me.....

As a general rule of investing, avoid investing in a foreign country which does not respect the property rights of foreigners. Exceptions can be made for those who are particularly knowledgeable but for most Singaporeans who only have money and do not have an investment edge in Malaysian property, they had better steer clear. If an investment goes bad, I would rather lose money to local people than to foreigners.

OngHuatHuat

Okay lah, you are the smartest here. You Also very rich, k?

Many naive Sinkies invested in Malaysia by comparing the ulu HDB flats price & say JB cheap cheap cheap . :o

Now with roti prata man Dr M who flips agreements with HSR / water / his hostility esp towards Singapore .....

klarklar

I support ban PRs from buying HDB flats.

I disagree. PRs should be allowed to buy HDB flats. Owning a property in Singapore will encourage them to sink their roots here and become citizens. What is undesirable is to make money off the host country, then bye bye go back to home country. PRs should be allowed to buy HDBs, but capital gains tax and/or higher property taxes should be imposed on them. Impose capital gains tax to signal to them that HDB is subsidised asset and not meant for foreigners to make money. Impose higher property taxes because PRs do not do NS and should pay protection money to native Singaporeans for their NS sacrifice to protect the country.

yyhwin,

Are you PR from boleh-land?

OngHuatHuat

Yeah PR.........

I disagree. PRs should be allowed to buy HDB flats. Owning a property in Singapore will encourage them to sink their roots here and become citizens. What is undesirable is to make money off the host country, then bye bye go back to home country. PRs should be allowed to buy HDBs, but capital gains tax and/or higher property taxes should be imposed on them. Impose capital gains tax to signal to them that HDB is subsidised asset and not meant for foreigners to make money. Impose higher property taxes because PRs do not do NS and should pay protection money to native Singaporeans for their NS sacrifice to protect the country.

yyhwin,

Are you PR from boleh-land?

kuehteow

I agree that PRs should b allow to buy hdb as that is the only way to encourage people from staying. Without a proper roof, not alot will stay long enough to contribute to the country. However, the govt have not set down any valid ground rules to deal with those PR that decide to exit after profitting from the sales of their hdb. There should be additional tax to be imposed on PR if they decide to sell their hdb n leave the country for good. The restriction should applied only on hdb but not the private properties though.

OngHuatHuat

What if their intention is to get a bigger unit? How do you know their intention? :)

I agree that PRs should b allow to buy hdb as that is the only way to encourage people from staying. Without a proper roof, not alot will stay long enough to contribute to the country. However, the govt have not set down any valid ground rules to deal with those PR that decide to exit after profitting from the sales of their hdb. There should be additional tax to be imposed on PR if they decide to sell their hdb n leave the country for good. The restriction should applied only on hdb but not the private properties though.

OngHuatHuat

Actually some are PRs of many years, some do not convert coz they still have lands in Malaysia, some needs to retire in Malaysia etc.....

Like my student parents, he converted after he served army, but his parents refuse to convert because they intend to retire in Malaysia. So what is your opinion on this? :)

kuehteow

What if their intention is to get a bigger unit? How do you know their intention? :)

If the PR are going to withdraw all their cpf, i think that could be a good indication right?? I assume anyone who keep their cpf money in Singapore are more or less committed to stay, which shall entitled them to certain degree of benefits enjoy by the citizens.

Anyway Singapore govt are always very good at doing backdating, so they should impose the tax on those who decided to leave for good and impose a heavy property tax that profited from any historical hdb sales.

kuehteow

Actually some are PRs of many years, some do not convert coz they still have lands in Malaysia, some needs to retire in Malaysia etc.....

Like my student parents, he converted after he served army, but his parents refuse to convert because they intend to retire in Malaysia. So what is your opinion on this? :)

Honestly if they have lands in Malaysia, they are not entitled to buy hdb anyway. Afterall what we have been talking here is to ensure and maintain an affordable govt housing pricing for our future generation.

When coming to hdb, priority should always be given to the citizens, follow by PR. I am sure if malaysia give equal rights to foreigners in Malaysia, the locals will be pissed as well. This logic should applied everywhere.

Make no mistake, i am not against PR. I think PR is an integral part within our country community. However, if the PR objective is to take advantage of our housing system to reap a profit, i think its fair that we should ensure that they should not get away for their mercenary approach.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.