Man, 80, dies after losing balance on SBS Transit bus

klim668

Nowadays the bus drivers driving is horrible. Hard braking.
The weird and poor ergonomic bus design these day also partly to blame. U see many buses inside now got floor height tall and low, a small misstep at a wrong place could cause serious injury liao. The seat arrangement also very weird. Some seats could even put u in a dangerous position; imagine if the bus driver did a hard brake, your whole body could just fly forward 扑街. That's why they have seat belt at the last row of seat in some buses but then who uses it?

hotamp

To be fair , not all drivers are impatient ...i met some who are rather good..of course some are rather bad, some drives rather smooth while some like to jam brakes....some passenger also likes to crowd at the exit refused to move in etc...then some seniors are rather impatient....cannot pin the blame on just one group of ppl also mah.

slashGNR

I encountered some drivers who were impatient when dealing passengers with wheelchairs, one even asked me to hurry up...WTF...

mryang

BUS 262 is driven by F1 wannabes.. they are always speeding.

mWco6O.jpg
Turning towards the park?

Joseph12

That should be the way. Unfortunately, some driver or passengers may become impatient and not understanding. In Japan if you get up before the bus stops, the driver will tell you to sit down. People only get up when the bus stops. Very good safety culture.
Many many years ago , Singapore bus drivers drive off even before the elderly
Sit down
They put a stop to this ages ago

If this driver is so reckless resulting in people being injured or worse, killed I would think not only will there be a court case, this guy will be sacked or even jailed

In fact such things seldom happen
BUT BUT do happen with those private buses driven by foreigners

Kac2009

Bas nowadays only got 2 modes: 100% throttle or emergency brake

Bad driving habits

zoossh

wtf, someone died and they don't want to release the cctv footage?

if charbor kena molested, immediately release cctv

Next they will say need to protect privacy of the other passengers as if privacy is such a big thing, in public space

So cannot show

roses_are_rosie

Nowadays the bus drivers driving is horrible. Hard braking.
this. they just chiong once doors closed.
They dont care what happens to passengers, jus neet hit the bus stops on time.
i tot i was the only 1 to notice all tis issue.
there was once, i was still at the door way tapping the card when boarding, the bus driver closed the door, resulting my heel was scratch by the door .... luckily no bleeding, so i just let it go.

I told the driver make sure passengers are clear of door way before closing the door. He apologised.
now adays most bas driver no patient 1

shine0204

Once saw rare bus-driver nicely told grandpa "find a seat" & driver specially WAITED for grandpa to SIT down, b4 driving. Commendable.

Sbs/Transit must give TRAINING to ALL bus-drivers to adopt above if see elderly.

white_prince

Recently a rare "Sbs/Transit bus-driver" nicely told old grandpa to "find a seat" & driver specially WAITED for grandpa to SIT down, b4 driving. Commendable. All bus-drivers shd adopt this approach.
I also encountered such nice driver

fortunehunter

Many like to drive like F1 and break so hard
Then some never wait for people to sit down accelerate so hard

Some drive slow like hell.
Bus stop no one also stop.
Zebra crossing no one also stop cross also stop.
Green light drive slowly like waiting for red knn

Canis Lupus

I wonder if SBS operators still have to adhere to their route schedule down to the last minute. If so SBS should consider slacking such an adherence for the safety of it's commuters. Anyway rest in peace to the uncle. When time is up nothing we can do about it.

ahnyaahnya

The weird and poor ergonomic bus design these day also partly to blame. U see many buses inside now got floor height tall and low, a small misstep at a wrong place could cause serious injury liao. The seat arrangement also very weird. Some seats could even put u in a dangerous position; imagine if the bus driver did a hard brake, your whole body could just fly forward 扑街. That's why they have seat belt at the last row of seat in some buses but then who uses it?
Agree. Any hard braking or collision more likely to cause injuries compared to the old buses.
The guy seated behind can knock into the one in front of him. Maybe break his neck if unlucky .
Also the floor is not level, so those standing may have difficulty balancing themselves in such situations.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.