Man, 80, dies after losing balance on SBS Transit bus

sanukboy

The CCTV footage can only be released...
If THE FAULT LIES in the old man
INSTEAD of the Bus driver.

shidenx

Nowadays the bus drivers driving is horrible. Hard braking.
thats kind of a one sided opinion until the story is clear. There are good drivers that are nice and well liked on their routes.

to be fair, bus driver also need to deal with traffic conditions and their schedule.

ah pek health and physical condition maybe contributing factor as well.

begintoend

very hard to pin blame now actually
some will think bus driver fault
but
what if bus driver need to swerve or brake to avoid accidents from
jaywalkers, errant drivers, road cyclists...

anyway
RIP to the old man

Coaster

if I remember correctly, buses have a device to how the driver is driving ? like sudden brakes. I think I've read this before somewhere last time. And I notice before that, the drivers were much better. After reading about the device, the driver any how speed up, slowdown, sudden brake.

li9ht5peed

always blame the pax. the bus driver is never at fault. sudden braking within speed limits is still within limits. take bus cannot scared. scared don't take bus. nobody forced you to take the bus. nobody pushed you either

yokine3a

Many like to drive like F1 and break so hard
Then some never wait for people to sit down accelerate so hard
Most will wait for old ppl to sit down then move off, think is part of their sop...but passengers really shouldn't take it for granted that every drivers will do so, ownself should always grab the pole when on bus.

yokine3a

Rest in peace 🙏

That's is why I keep telling my mum to grab a pole the moment she boards a bus, dun assume driver will take care of her.

TiedInsurer

Nowadays the drivers are patient. They wait for passengers to alight before moving off.
Should never get up from seat before the bus is stationary
Where got. They never ever wait for me. They will stop. Open door. Wait half second. If i'm not yet reach the door in that half second, they close door. Have to shout at them to open it again before they drive off.

Unclemun

FUC SBS, people's family died and it's confidential​

mWco6O.jpg
when it is under an investigation, the family will get to view it but not now.

IAmChiobu12M

Man, 80, dies after losing balance on SBS Transit bus​

https://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/elderly-man-dies-after-losing-his-balance-on-sbs-transit-bus

SINGAPORE – An elderly man died after he lost his balance and fell in an SBS Transit bus on the evening of March 12.

The 80-year-old had stood up from his seat and was preparing to alight when he fell before he could grab a pole, said SBS Transit spokeswoman Grace Wu in response to queries.

The bus, which was plying the service 262 route, was making a right turn at a junction in Ang Mo Kio when the incident occurred.

The driver provided first aid to the man and called an ambulance, added Mrs Wu.

When contacted, the police and the Singapore Civil Defence Force said they were alerted to the incident, at the junction of Ang Mo Kio Avenue 8 and Bishan Road, at about 8pm.

The man was conscious when taken to Tan Tock Seng Hospital, where he subsequently died.

Mrs Wu said: “We are in touch with his family and are saddened to learn of his passing. We would like to extend our deepest condolences to them during this difficult time of loss.”

The man’s family has tapped social media to appeal for eyewitnesses.

Facebook user Sharlene Lee, who identified herself as his granddaughter, posted on the SG Road Vigilante Facebook page that he hit his head.

He boarded the bus at AMK Hub, she added.

“We are looking for any possible eyewitnesses who saw what happened or heard from anybody about the accident,” she wrote.

Police investigations are ongoing.
To be fair ah nowadays I see driver will make sure lkk sit down then drive off one. And some lkk also 1 kind bus still moving shaky eh eh want you give way and walk to door one. So don't fast jump the gun blame driver hor. Though I also acknowledge some driver like f1.

justln

Suay, live til 80 years old and died falling down in bus. Hope justice can be served.

SBS bus drivers some is like F1, crazy speeds.

sue88

I used to ask the same question, why do old folks like to stand up before the bus stop... till I met my old neighbour on bus.

She told me her legs numb when sit down for long. Because of the numbness she need time for her legs to recover and the best time is when the bus is about to stop. When the bus arrived at the bus stop, her legs might have recovered a little so that she could slowly walk to exit to alight. If she sits till the bus stops totally, she won't be able to walk at all due to legs numbess/stiffness. So it's either you stand up earlier for the stop or you miss your stop totally. The only exception is bus interchange where one can sit till bus totally stops.

Can only conclude that it's no joke to age. We don't know what the seniors are going through and even seniors themselves might not know. Once you age, things that you used to be able to handle easily now seems so difficult.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.