March BTO 2012

lowrider

there are unit numbers listed on hdb website, if you thick skinned enough, go knock of the neighbours door and see the fengshui.

i will do the same, for those "re purchased". but there are quite a bit of balance which has been vacant since TOP.

thanks, do u guys know what sort of circumstances will result in a 20-30 yr flat returning back to HDB? i mean.. resale market is quite strong right?

xnasxanax

thanks, do u guys know what sort of circumstances will result in a 20-30 yr flat returning back to HDB? i mean.. resale market is quite strong right?

mostly what i heard is due to repossession (owners flout HDB rules) or bankruptcy.

IGNiTI0N

owner filed for bankrupt? i'm more concerned whether the previous owner got owe any loanshark...or any1 committed suicide there

powerpuff2007

I calculated with the mortgage calculator in hdb website.
Cannot calculate based on your method as you will be slowly reducing the principle sum through monthly payments. Thus your interest will decrease gradually

Mortgage projection is one side of story. The other side is how long can keep job. Singapore worships youth.

My ex-company "retrenchment" last year. All 20 executives forced to resign forgoing retrenchment benefit because company change corporate rules into one where cannot tahan work conditions imposed.

All 20 had been with company for years, thrown out in the cold to start corporate life afresh. Now 1 year after, only 5 below 30 years old, have stable job. Rest 15 older than 35, since Jan 2011 "retrenchment", had been in and out of jobs. Many corporate job now multi-task till people ding-dong, cannot stay. One multinational company S**m*ns rejected my 35-year-old ex-colleague for temp exhibition job because they want their brand to be associated with youth. Over 27 years old still accepted but must look teenager. Pay used to be $5-6k long hours, now lucky to get half that with 10x multi-functional workload increase. One already sold her punggol, as no job too long, bills building up.

CADC whom many workers contribute $1 per month off salary throughout their working life, refused help saying see MP. MP's ah goon (never get to meet MP due MP no sight, no sound) say can introduce $4.50 per hour job. $4.50 per hour job can afford 2-room hdb mah? No need eat? No need pay bills? Transport in Spore free izzit? HDB super fast when it comes to imposing rules but when it comes to adjusting grants higher to help offset the increased cost of flat pricing, no sight no sound also.

IGNiTI0N

i just don't understand why it cost so much for a 4rm BTO at bedok this time...$400,000 - $464,000 (too high), as compared to previous Jan BTO price of a 4rm in tampines was $292,000 - $353,000. Both were mature estate and the only difference was the Bedok BTO is near to the Bus Interchange...still deciding whether to apply for it because a punggol prem 5RM BTO also cost ard that

chocolatemelt

that's why go ask neighbours is the best. they will probably tell u why kena cheong gong by hdb. provided they are nice folks. also see if there are wall paints and signs of ahlongsan.

if its suicide, google the blk and unit number, you probably find some news.

those new flats not sold will probably be the case where young couples fen shou, forfeit, or other reasons that dont comply to hdb's eligibility.

ahzai66

Sadly, I will not be participating in this BTO/SOBF
I consider myself to be middle class but I'm priced out of this exercise.... and I am not willing to settle for a 2rm/3rm flat if that is what the govt is hinting at "being affordable" :s27:

Most probably I will just save up enough cash in my bank+CPF and renounce my citizenship to retire in another country comfortably when the time comes... this is what they are forcing Singaporeans to do

same thinking as u... think i'll also have to renounce my citizenship liao...cannot survive here..

xnasxanax

nowadays price skyrocket so much. sidetrack abit, even a normal car cost abt $100k with the recent COE hike. wonder if any thought is spared for us average singaporeans. :(

ahzai66

i just don't understand why it cost so much for a 4rm BTO at bedok this time...$400,000 - $464,000 (too high), as compared to previous Jan BTO price of a 4rm in tampines was $292,000 - $353,000. Both were mature estate and the only difference was the Bedok BTO is near to the Bus Interchange...still deciding whether to apply for it because a punggol prem 5RM BTO also cost ard that

yeah the price for that bedok one is really ridiculous... and its at the chai chee area there, location not good...

swathe

the chai chee is far from market and interchange actually. the tampines one is near future downtown line and opposite is market, shops, poly, cc and got macdonald's.

bedok chai chee price really jialat. dunno want to ballot or not.

idolcritic

Mortgage projection is one side of story. The other side is how long can keep job. Singapore worships youth.

My ex-company "retrenchment" last year. All 20 executives forced to resign forgoing retrenchment benefit because company change corporate rules into one where cannot tahan work conditions imposed.

All 20 had been with company for years, thrown out in the cold to start corporate life afresh. Now 1 year after, only 5 below 30 years old, have stable job. Rest 15 older than 35, since Jan 2011 "retrenchment", had been in and out of jobs. Many corporate job now multi-task till people ding-dong, cannot stay. One multinational company S**m*ns rejected my 35-year-old ex-colleague for temp exhibition job because they want their brand to be associated with youth. Over 27 years old still accepted but must look teenager. Pay used to be $5-6k long hours, now lucky to get half that with 10x multi-functional workload increase. One already sold her punggol, as no job too long, bills building up.

CADC whom many workers contribute $1 per month off salary throughout their working life, refused help saying see MP. MP's ah goon (never get to meet MP due MP no sight, no sound) say can introduce $4.50 per hour job. $4.50 per hour job can afford 2-room hdb mah? No need eat? No need pay bills? Transport in Spore free izzit? HDB super fast when it comes to imposing rules but when it comes to adjusting grants higher to help offset the increased cost of flat pricing, no sight no sound also.

Sad to hear. So how they cope? Now their pay is about half, so meaning most companies still can accept say, $2k to $3k to hire a person, but $5k to $6k, very difficult? Which is what I always suspect.

But prices of housing keep increasing, but pple's pay can't break the psychological barrier of $3k, $4k.

lampano

HDB very chao one.

Dun forget you got the resale levy when you wanna sell.
If say you buy 5rm, the levy will be 50k. so is BTO really subsidized?
My ass.

Based on simple calculation, if a couple buy 550k and want to shift out elsewhere, the breakeven price should be around 700k, inclusive for the current reno, stamp, levy blah blah.... Correct me if i am wrong

Any significant profit ....only if they downgrade...

Imagine those who bought theirs at 700k and above?

babylana

hi all, would like to check this with u guys..see if its correct?
say, flat price of $320,000, below 30yrs old, one of us is schooling.

application of flat :$10

Unit selection : $2000 (will b refunded)

Sign of lease : 5% downpayment : $16,000 (deduct cpf)
stamp fees etc : $6,269 (deduct cpf)

Collection of keys : 5% downpayment : $16,000 (deduct cpf)
AHG : $35,000
Balance cost of flat : hdb loan

with that, after they deduct ur 10% frm ur cpf, will the balance cpf u have remains? or do they wipe out everything during the collection of keys?

I think they wipe out your CPF when the lease commencement starts...

collection of keys may not necessary be the same time as the lease commencement as usually you will tend to get your keys earlier... :)

lampano

yeah the price for that bedok one is really ridiculous... and its at the chai chee area there, location not good...

This are very real issues.
Hope those young couples do knw about employment risk as they grow older. 30yr loan with max out CPF contribution is no joke one

fateless

hi guys can check on sobf

if apply can i choose which unit i want during application? or only when successfully get a queue then can choose. cause sobf some is bto and some is old flat. if i get lousy q number then i only given old flat and if i dont want how? do i need to wait for 1 year (due to new rule) then can apply again?

chocolatemelt

i totally agree they chao one.

first timer grant AHG SHG, bull**** one.

other than that no more grant leh. they said "all hdb flats are sold at subsidised rate".

say until i machiam asking for discount, but really. the prices are exorbitant.

how subsidised is that when they dont even reveal how much they use to build these flats.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.