March BTO 2012

Jarlaxle

i totally agree they chao one.

first timer grant AHG SHG, bull**** one.

other than that no more grant leh. they said "all hdb flats are sold at subsidised rate".

say until i machiam asking for discount, but really. the prices are exorbitant.

how subsidised is that when they dont even reveal how much they use to build these flats.

will u be happy if they tell u that ur 500k clementi 4 room cost 490k ?

since hdb is losing money every yr.
tis means that they dun make money for every unit.
in fact, they hv to top it up on their own for admin n operating cost.

limpoop

hi guys can check on sobf

if apply can i choose which unit i want during application? or only when successfully get a queue then can choose. cause sobf some is bto and some is old flat. if i get lousy q number then i only given old flat and if i dont want how? do i need to wait for 1 year (due to new rule) then can apply again?

When you apply for SBF, you can only choose one area (like Bukit Merah) and one type of flat (like 4-Room).

When you got a queue number and asked to go down HDB HUB to select a flat then you can choose one flat from the available units.

birmingham123

I am puzzled.. Resales levy is when u sell and buy another subsidised hdb ma... Dun make sense? I dun think u need to pay resales levy when u sell your bto and buy resales or condo right?

HDB very chao one.

Dun forget you got the resale levy when you wanna sell.
If say you buy 5rm, the levy will be 50k. so is BTO really subsidized?
My ass.

Based on simple calculation, if a couple buy 550k and want to shift out elsewhere, the breakeven price should be around 700k, inclusive for the next reno, stamp, COV, levy blah blah.... Correct me if i am wrong

Any significant profit ....only if they downgrade...

Imagine those who bought theirs at 700k and above?

mopiko_boy

Is there any way to see the floor plan of SBF units? Hdb removed the old launches liao leh...

lampano

I am puzzled.. Resales levy is when u sell and buy another subsidised hdb ma... Dun make sense? I dun think u need to pay resales levy when u sell your bto and buy resales or condo right?

Yes your right, only when you pay another subisdized unit from HDB, u need to pay levy.

Ammended the COV out.:o
Anyway if buy resale, the levy will becomes COV :s13:

mopiko_boy

They don't care what u are going to buy next. As long as the flat that u r selling is a BTO flat, or a resale flat bought with grants, then u will kena the levy.

Senate97

Statistics for first timer and second timer

Saw on the hdb website the statistics listed for HDB application for first timer and second timers. Can anyone explain what the numbers mean? And how is it calculated?

I know on the website that it says

*First-timer application rate refers to the number of first-timer applications divided by 85%/95% of the total flat supply, while second-timer application rate refers to the number of second-timer applications divided by 15%/5% of the total flat supply. (However, some flats are also set aside for quota-based priority schemes, where HDB does not differentiate between first-timers and second-timers. At least 85%/95% of the remaining flats are set aside for first timers. If there are fewer first-timers than the number of flats set aside for them, the excess flats will be allocated to second-timers.)

But what does it mean? Would appreciate if someone could advise. Thanks!

ronnie81

Saw on the hdb website the statistics listed for HDB application for first timer and second timers. Can anyone explain what the numbers mean? And how is it calculated?

I know on the website that it says

*First-timer application rate refers to the number of first-timer applications divided by 85%/95% of the total flat supply, while second-timer application rate refers to the number of second-timer applications divided by 15%/5% of the total flat supply. (However, some flats are also set aside for quota-based priority schemes, where HDB does not differentiate between first-timers and second-timers. At least 85%/95% of the remaining flats are set aside for first timers. If there are fewer first-timers than the number of flats set aside for them, the excess flats will be allocated to second-timers.)

But what does it mean? Would appreciate if someone could advise. Thanks!

This is wat i guessing....taking clementi 3-room Standard / 4-room as example
Available: 24 (95% allocated for first timer = 23 unit.....1 unit for second-timer)
Total Applicant: 97
% first-time = 2.1 -> meaning there is ard 23*2.1 ~ 48 applicant are first-timer.
% second-time = 49.0 -> meaning there is ard 1*49 ~ 49 applicant are second-timer.

whitebottle

This is wat i guessing....taking clementi 3-room Standard / 4-room as example
Available: 24 (95% allocated for first timer = 23 unit.....1 unit for second-timer)
Total Applicant: 97
% first-time = 2.1 -> meaning there is ard 23*2.1 ~ 48 applicant are first-timer.
% second-time = 49.0 -> meaning there is ard 1*49 ~ 49 applicant are second-timer.

you are right. But something i dont understand is why some of the application rate for 2nd timer is 'not applicable'? For eg duxton got 18 apps out of 23 units in total under 5rm. Subscription rate by first timer = 0. Subscription rate by 2nd timer = not applicable??

Kevin10

Can anyone tell me does 2 blks in the Bukit Batok Skyline are directly link to the carpark rooftop garden ? Meaning can go to the garden by taking lift to 4th or 5th floor ? thanks.. Looking at both bukit batok and clementi.. sighzz.. though prices are steep but LL.

supergmail

yes. You have highlighted the downside.
Thus i shall highlight on the upside. There's still to be bonus and increments yet to factored in. Thus, I'm learning to make my money work harder for me by investing in both stocks and having adequate coverage in insurance for both medical and savings.

So end of the day is, people must workout their finances and determine what they can afford and not over commit. Paying that extra 100k (which u cannot afford) just for the fact that the flat is in a better location, will add unnecessary stress and in the long run, will not be worth it.

Hence, my gf and I decided to just wack punggol and we got a unit that is reasonable close to MRT. We worked out finances and decided we can afford it and it's always better to own our home rather than share/rent.

bro, which area did you go for? 4 or 5 room?

xxxjorxxx

you are right. But something i dont understand is why some of the application rate for 2nd timer is 'not applicable'? For eg duxton got 18 apps out of 23 units in total under 5rm. Subscription rate by first timer = 0. Subscription rate by 2nd timer = not applicable??

Number has changed/updated

Project : 5-room /
Flat Type : S2 Apartment
No of Units : 23
Number of Applicants : 125
Application Rate
First Timers : 3.6
Second Timers : 45.0
Overall : 5.4

To claculate:
1st timer = 95%* 23 = 22 units
22 * 3.6 = 80 applicants

2nd timer = 5% * 23 =1 unit
1*45 = 45 applicants

total applicants = 80+45 =125

overall = 125 applicants / 23 units = 5.4

xxxjorxxx

in other words, as of today

45 1st timers are willing to fork out $700,000 average to buy HDB pinnacle.

80 2nd timer on standby with $700,000 to buy 1 unit availablee

by closing date these numbers will be much more!!!!!!

Senate97

timeline

Thanks for your reply. Could someone share the tentative timeline would be like from here? Like since now is application and the hdb website says that the next dates would be mid april and end april. Those two dates are only for the application number and then the ballot results right?

After the ballot results, when would it be we go to choose the flat and when would it be to sign lease agreement?

xnasxanax

Treegrove@woodlands

Treegrove%20Floor%20plan.JPG

ketua

will u be happy if they tell u that ur 500k clementi 4 room cost 490k ?

since hdb is losing money every yr.
tis means that they dun make money for every unit.
in fact, they hv to top it up on their own for admin n operating cost.

You must be either gullible to believe wholesale what they want you to believe or you're working for the IB.

HDB refuses to provide cost break down
IIRC based on a tender awarded to a construction firm, the average building cost per unit is about $125k only.

Land cost is arguable.
HDB price it according to market rate. Not the dirt cheap price they acquired.
What is market rate? They assume if the price can be sold to private developers.
But then it's common that when the highers bid of a land sales is still not high enough, the tender is voided.
Even so, the land cost is shared by so many vertical units.

In short, the subsidy is virtually on paper
Simply means a unit could have sold for so much based on prevailing market resale rate, but hdb sell you less (earn you less but still earn a lot) hence 'subsidised' and making 'loses'. :D

kiwi77sg

They don't care what u are going to buy next. As long as the flat that u r selling is a BTO flat, or a resale flat bought with grants, then u will kena the levy.

My friend inherent the bto flat after both parents died. And now she is consider as a 2nd timer, who will never enjoy grant / subsidiary. Usually each generation enjoy once as a 1st timer and grant / subsidiary, but not for the unfortunate. Fair ?

Parents pls don't die before your children has a house :D

chocolatemelt

be it hdb earn or lose money is none of our business. they are not a company. they are a government agency.

*cry hard

i just want a roof over my head.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.