March BTO 2012

chinweekoh

I think they wipe out your CPF when the lease commencement starts...

collection of keys may not necessary be the same time as the lease commencement as usually you will tend to get your keys earlier... :)

hi all, would like to check this with u guys..see if its correct?
say, flat price of $320,000, below 30yrs old, one of us is schooling.

application of flat :$10

Unit selection : $2000 (will b refunded)

Sign of lease : 5% downpayment : $16,000 (deduct cpf)
stamp fees etc : $6,269 (deduct cpf)

Collection of keys : 5% downpayment : $16,000 (deduct cpf)
AHG : $35,000
Balance cost of flat : hdb loan

with that, after they deduct ur 10% frm ur cpf, will the balance cpf u have remains? or do they wipe out everything during the collection of keys?

I thought the sign of lease is 10% of the purchase price instead of (5% Sign of lease & 5% Collection of keys)???

vspecll_gtr

My friend inherent the bto flat after both parents died. And now she is consider as a 2nd timer, who will never enjoy grant / subsidiary. Usually each generation enjoy once as a 1st timer and grant / subsidiary, but not for the unfortunate. Fair ?

Parents pls don't die before your children has a house :D

omfg... this is real? it's so sad and so screwed

whitebottle

will u be happy if they tell u that ur 500k clementi 4 room cost 490k ?

since hdb is losing money every yr.
tis means that they dun make money for every unit.
in fact, they hv to top it up on their own for admin n operating cost.

Oh come on! Reporting the land at skyhigh prices then say cannot breakeven coz the cost (of land) is too high. But who sets the land price to begin with? To me, its a case of left pocket, right pocket or transfer pricing. True tt the land is part of the nation's reserves but whats the point of keeping so much reserves when ur people cant even afford a roof over their head. And its not really giving or even selling away the land since hdb has a leasehold of 99yrs. Back to hdb under sers in less than a decade.

palmtungsten

This are very real issues.
Hope those young couples do knw about employment risk as they grow older. 30yr loan with max out CPF contribution is no joke one
Think young couples know the risks but they are given much choice (especially for some who want to stay near parent)

lucashell

Location Location and Location our choice of any flats is determined by this factor but with various intepretations . We must first match this intepretations to the HDB and that is any flat nearer to the core will always be expensive and Singapore have a central core in our CBD and nodal core in various town estate . This is one of the methods how HDB justify their pricing of their flats. Although it seem legit , HDB hav seem to forgotten its most fundamental duty of providing AFFORDABLE HOUSING. look at this link:

HDB InfoWEB: Good Affordable Homes for All Singaporeans :

Its main purpose its to meet demand but the heading is "GOOD AFFORDABLE HOMES FOR ALL SINGAPOREANS"but isnt it contradictory that it does not state out how HDB is making it "affordable".

I think a lot of people applying for flats are looking at how the location meet their own personal needs but does the majority know the exact financial burden of serving their loan. "Middle Class"Singaporeans seem to be trapped in a social condrum whereby owning a flat is a social norm that cannot be challenged. Its pretty amazing that the relevant authorities seem to be ignorant of our worries with the constant projection of the "idealistic"' scenario like the 1k salary can afford HDB flat.

birmingham123

I think the loophole is for parents to sell hdb and buy condo.. Then pass to children

My friend inherent the bto flat after both parents died. And now she is consider as a 2nd timer, who will never enjoy grant / subsidiary. Usually each generation enjoy once as a 1st timer and grant / subsidiary, but not for the unfortunate. Fair ?

Parents pls don't die before your children has a house :D

HunterXtreme

ya, why some people still say they will wipe off entire CPF? :s11:

they will ask u to pay the 10% deposit which is compulsory because HDB will only loan you maximum of 90%
so you will first have to use your CPF OA to pay 10% deposit

but the 90% loan is the maximum limit, which means that if you still got remaining money left in your OA after paying the 10% deposit, they will wipe it clean to reduce the 90% loan to something lower

rojak-

Can anyone tell me does 2 blks in the Bukit Batok Skyline are directly link to the carpark rooftop garden ? Meaning can go to the garden by taking lift to 4th or 5th floor ? thanks.. Looking at both bukit batok and clementi.. sighzz.. though prices are steep but LL.

probably can check out the model at HDb@toa payoh? (but must squeeze thru the crowd lah. can't believe so many people no need to work on a weekday morning...)

rojak-

hi guys can check on sobf

if apply can i choose which unit i want during application? or only when successfully get a queue then can choose. cause sobf some is bto and some is old flat. if i get lousy q number then i only given old flat and if i dont want how? do i need to wait for 1 year (due to new rule) then can apply again?

yar no choice. that's why it's a risk, hope to get good number lor. oh well.. whether bto.sobf also risk lor. what can we do

ahzai66

Is the CPF Housing Grant for Family and Additional CPF Housing Grant for those applying for bto new flats or for buying resale flats?

rojak-

same thinking as u... think i'll also have to renounce my citizenship liao...cannot survive here..

yar.. sigh. my SO and i decided to just move overseas already. but we never renounce. we just sit overseas and wait... wait for one day the gov realize the pple very pitiful and hdb prices go down.. then we will jump and buy and go home :s12:

rojak-

that's why go ask neighbours is the best. they will probably tell u why kena cheong gong by hdb. provided they are nice folks. also see if there are wall paints and signs of ahlongsan.

if its suicide, google the blk and unit number, you probably find some news.

those new flats not sold will probably be the case where young couples fen shou, forfeit, or other reasons that dont comply to hdb's eligibility.

we should set up some common database to share such information. not possible to go research one by one! there are soooo many lor.

ahzai66

yar.. sigh. my SO and i decided to just move overseas already. but we never renounce. we just sit overseas and wait... wait for one day the gov realize the pple very pitiful and hdb prices go down.. then we will jump and buy and go home :s12:

so where have u guys decided to move to? Australia?

ketua

I say you wait long long.

Their hearts have long fed the dogs already.

Only way is to change govt. 2016!

gnixer

I say you wait long long.

Their hearts have long fed the dogs already.

Only way is to change govt. 2016!
first change the bloody 60% and brainwash them

don't forget those ** blow pp people, thanks to them our houses and cars are no longer a reality but a dream instead

swirler

To those who complain Mar BTO in BB and clementi too expensive " You have a choice "

cute_togepi

I seriously think the person asking for 980k for the Toa Payoh 5 room flat kena pwned, the sale of balance flats in the same block for 4 room is 555k-559k.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.