Marvel Heroes Online

Swordsman

No need to buy the starter pack lah...
Just play for free and slowly unlock all the playable characters lor...
Like Marvel Ultimate Alliance where you unlock more powerful characters as you progress in the storyline...

so all characters are unlockable through playthrough ??

cheesepie if need to pay to unlock even 1 character, then im not playing le.

thats not f2p. to me the only thing that should pay is those cosmetic items.

Alphidius

so all characters are unlockable through playthrough ??

cheesepie if need to pay to unlock even 1 character, then im not playing le.

thats not f2p. to me the only thing that should pay is those cosmetic items.

I'm certain most characters are unlockable for free...
Just that you need luck on how often they get unlocked.
Doing all the quests and side quests should have higher chance of unlocking all characters bah...
But like DCUO, expect lots of DLC which you need to pay to get better contents like new powers, stage levels and characters.
My 2.14 cents..

Swordsman

I'm certain most characters are unlockable for free...
Just that you need luck on how often they get unlocked.
Doing all the quests and side quests should have higher chance of unlocking all characters bah...
But like DCUO, expect lots of DLC which you need to pay to get better contents like new powers, stage levels and characters.
My 2.14 cents..

that means bluff people. imo its not f2p le. seems like my definition of f2p and most people f2p differs alot.

A true F2P game, u can unlock everything without paying a cent. just takes time.

2nd point. you cannot purchase any competitive advantages at all (no matter how big or small the advantage is)

Nowdays most of those so called "F2P" game is in fact a Pay to win game.

thats why i was fedup with DCUO and quit after found out so many things are locked and need to pay.

Alphidius

that means bluff people. imo its not f2p le. seems like my definition of f2p and most people f2p differs alot.

A true F2P game, u can unlock everything without paying a cent. just takes time.

2nd point. you cannot purchase any competitive advantages at all (no matter how big or small the advantage is)

Nowdays most of those so called "F2P" game is in fact a Pay to win game.

thats why i was fedup with DCUO and quit after found out so many things are locked and need to pay.

I think there is no such business model as F2P leh...
How are they going to pay for server maintenance if no one pays for it? :s22:
Even games like D3 and GW2 you need to buy the game to play.
This one is download and play for free leh... Imagine their bottom line when everyone just started to play for free. :s13:
Game companies at the end of the day are still businesses so they need to rake in money to develop better content and generate more revenue.
There is no free lunch in this world and this is probably as good as it gets.
My 2.14 cents...

PS: You can spam multiple accounts for more character slots

Swordsman

I think there is no such business model as F2P leh...
How are they going to pay for server maintenance if no one pays for it? :s22:
Even games like D3 and GW2 you need to buy the game to play.
This one is download and play for free leh... Imagine their bottom line when everyone just started to play for free. :s13:
Game companies at the end of the day are still businesses so they need to rake in money to develop better content and generate more revenue.
There is no free lunch in this world and this is probably as good as it gets.
My 2.14 cents...

PS: You can spam multiple accounts for more character slots

GW2 is buy to play, not free to play. GW2 is better cos no RMAH. D3 is pay to win game.. if you are rich, you can "pimp out" your character to the max. I hate these kind of pay to win games.

nah that would be troublesome. i got good gear can transfer from account to account?

They shouldn't use the word F2P. its not really free. called it something else. partial free to play or whatever.

sorry for the past "rant" bro.

Alphidius

GW2 is buy to play, not free to play. GW2 is better cos no RMAH. D3 is pay to win game.. if you are rich, you can "pimp out" your character to the max. I hate these kind of pay to win games.

nah that would be troublesome. i got good gear can transfer from account to account?

They shouldn't use the word F2P. its not really free. called it something else. partial free to play or whatever.

sorry for the past "rant" bro.

Actually, the rich can *almost* always get what they want bro... Not just in games but in real life too... Just take a look at the rich ppl in Sg!! :s13:
Now multiply this with those ang mohs and other foreigners overseas and soon there will be blackmarket, etc... to service the rich cos they can afford it! When there's demand, there's always a supply and the rich will always create the demand, that's life!

No problems about the rant but I enjoy what I'm getting out of these "f2p" games and I have never once bought gold or used money to "get ahead".
There are still some "honourable" guys who play decent games out there and I am one of them.
PS: There is no glory for those who use money to exchange for their "achievements" other than to gloat. Only those who use their own effort to earn their keep will feel the honour.
My 2.14 cents...

Golden_Fox

why 2.14 cents? Why not 2.15?

Anyway, may try when it's officially out

Swordsman

Actually, the rich can *almost* always get what they want bro... Not just in games but in real life too... Just take a look at the rich ppl in Sg!! :s13:
Now multiply this with those ang mohs and other foreigners overseas and soon there will be blackmarket, etc... to service the rich cos they can afford it! When there's demand, there's always a supply and the rich will always create the demand, that's life!

No problems about the rant but I enjoy what I'm getting out of these "f2p" games and I have never once bought gold or used money to "get ahead".
There are still some "honourable" guys who play decent games out there and I am one of them.
PS: There is no glory for those who use money to exchange for their "achievements" other than to gloat. Only those who use their own effort to earn their keep will feel the honour.
My 2.14 cents...

skill on par, but i poor, people rich. how to win ?

Alphidius

skill on par, but i poor, people rich. how to win?

Why must win? Just play with own group of friends bah...
When release we all play together lah... Not intending to spend any money on this game as well... :o

Just wanna see what the game play is like nia. :s13:

Then wait for email if you signed up for beta lor...
No point paying money just to get a taste of beta...

Golden_Fox

if cash is only for cosmetics and no real benefits, then only 2 types of person will pay. One is pay to encourage the publisher to continue doing well, the other type is just stupid kids.

And the company will up lorry soon.

Alphidius

if cash is only for cosmetics and no real benefits, then only 2 types of person will pay. One is pay to encourage the publisher to continue doing well, the other type is just stupid kids.

And the company will up lorry soon.

I think they will change business model if this fails...
Mostly likely will have to pay for additional content like DCUO for higher level gears and raid stuff...

Swordsman

Why must win? Just play with own group of friends bah...
When release we all play together lah... Not intending to spend any money on this game as well... :o

see how lor. if need to pay to unlock heroes and content, im afraid im not playing.

i only have 1 friend and he play guild wars 2 only. unless those online nicks you meet from forums also considered friends.

Golden_Fox

see how lor. if need to pay to unlock heroes and content, im afraid im not playing.

i only have 1 friend and he play guild wars 2 only. unless those online nicks you meet from forums also considered friends.

四海之内皆兄弟 moreover, here only so many people with same likes, maybe only the minorities.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.