May BTO 2012

waltsong10

I am also looking at 270, one reason is the view for the north from the bedrooms, another reason is it's layout with a spread out corridor from the main door, cos the other main door corridors are quite "tight"... the shelter is also next to the kitchen, which is good as a kitchen pantry (ideal as backup for food if we EVER need the shelter)

Sounds like a plan! U can even hack the kitchen wall for open kitchen concept! Good luck for your selection'

techielim

270 is one of the rare 4 rooms unit that has got the other layout, which is you enter from the living room instead of the kitchen immediately. i would have preferred this layout too but due to other factors, decided not to. but the layout could have contributed to its popularity!

What other factors? Don mind to share?

techielim

I am also looking at 270, one reason is the view for the north from the bedrooms, another reason is it's layout with a spread out corridor from the main door, cos the other main door corridors are quite "tight"... the shelter is also next to the kitchen, which is good as a kitchen pantry (ideal as backup for food if we EVER need the shelter)

I wont use shelter for food as this attracts unwanted pest more.
E view unfortunately is block in e living room by 30%.. wats ur queue?

ahzai66

my selection date is in september and my wife only start working part time just last week only, so her income will not be taken into consideration for the AHG right? Cos if her income is being considered then my AHG will be lesser by 5K liao...

farmer71

Summary on 8/8/12 for 4 room

9 out of 11 unit selected today. All Chinese.

Total unit :888
Unit still available : 743
Selection Q number end : 196
total number of selected unit 888 -743 = 145
total number of drop out 196 - 145 = 51
% drop out is 51/196 x100% = 26.02 %

And base on the Ethnic Quota
Chinese : 616
Malay :192
Others : 98

If all remaining unit from tomorrow is selected by chinese the last q number before the ethnic Quota for chinese is reach would be 196 + 616 = 812.

And should there be no more drop out the q number will end @ 888+ 51 = 939

tanjhj

yesterday morning pass by boon keng fc for breakfast and find many ho liao there. got at least 6-8 stalls got ppl Q long long for their breakfast. after makan go to MT to see see walk walk the site to inspect for morning situations and any negative claims by forumers here. Find the area very quiet and conducive for family. it is like a enclose area from the hectic and busy life of singapore. hard to find such environment in other place that is so peaceful and slow paced yet just a block away from the mrt.

The mrt station is really far away from the BL and have to pass this long long under pass to get to the stn ctrl est. about 10mins walk whereas the MT is just less than 3-5 mins walk to the stn ctrl. the stn ctrl is just next to the mrt entrance for MT.

there are many food shop and stalls near MT which can buy for breakfast while on the way to work. really convient.

you have to go MT to know what i mean. There are DBS bank/KFC/MAC/Bakery/Clinic/24 hours Shop and FC nearby. most important is the atmosphere of MT, cant believe u get such atmosphere just outside the city.

some ppl claim got some smell from the canal next to MT, i find the grass of the MT smell stronger than the canal that morning.

waltsong10

What other factors? Don mind to share?

The main door is facing the lift lobby. So it feels like you r the receptionist for the level! Personal preference, prefer to get more privacy.

No much corridor space to call it your own.

And of course as mentioned by many the view is blocked.

But the north south orientation should be getting lots of wind and that's a big plus!

waltsong10

yesterday morning pass by boon keng fc for breakfast and find many ho liao there. got at least 6-8 stalls got ppl Q long long for their breakfast. after makan go to MT to see see walk walk the site to inspect for morning situations and any negative claims by forumers here. Find the area very quiet and conducive for family. it is like a enclose area from the hectic and busy life of singapore. hard to find such environment in other place that is so peaceful and slow paced yet just a block away from the mrt.

The mrt station is really far away from the BL and have to pass this long long under pass to get to the stn ctrl est. about 10mins walk whereas the MT is just less than 3-5 mins walk to the stn ctrl. the stn ctrl is just next to the mrt entrance for MT.

there are many food shop and stalls near MT which can buy for breakfast while on the way to work. really convient.

you have to go MT to know what i mean. There are DBS bank/KFC/MAC/Bakery/Clinic/24 hours Shop and FC nearby. most important is the atmosphere of MT, cant believe u get such atmosphere just outside the city.

some ppl claim got some smell from the canal next to MT, i find the grass of the MT smell stronger than the canal that morning.

Absolutely true to that! Been them umpteen times and the environment there is really serene. Just that the estate on towner road is a lil old so gotta prepare for some weird stares from the residents there, especially for the girls!

Also, hong wen school is just a few stones throw away! And it's a pretty good primary school for the kids!

techielim

The main door is facing the lift lobby. So it feels like you r the receptionist for the level! Personal preference, prefer to get more privacy.

No much corridor space to call it your own.

And of course as mentioned by many the view is blocked.

But the north south orientation should be getting lots of wind and that's a big plus!

Oic. Now I understand. Din really bother abt e external much. So u gg for which blks. Mine either 113A or 113B units. If I'm lucky to get.

keithster

If u don wish to add to your renov cost than u go for it. If u hv enough funds for ur renov than don go for it.

just my own thots... the design of the tiles provided by hdb now may be out dated in 3 years time... i like OCS but i think 3 years later may have nicer tiles...

keithster

Absolutely true to that! Been them umpteen times and the environment there is really serene. Just that the estate on towner road is a lil old so gotta prepare for some weird stares from the residents there, especially for the girls!

Also, hong wen school is just a few stones throw away! And it's a pretty good primary school for the kids!

my partner was previous a student in hong wen and she said it is quite a decent one... next time my kids will stand a better chance to study there too.

this is one of the reasons y i wanna ballot for KW:D

alizegirl

Actually BL will be near to bendemeer station next
Time leh... So can choose to take NEL or downtown line ma..But MT further away from bendemeer station..

huishann

Actually BL will be near to bendemeer station next
Time leh... So can choose to take NEL or downtown line ma..But MT further away from bendemeer station..

yap. MT is only near boon keng station. BL is nearer to the upcoming bendemeer station, and is also accessible to current lavender station, boonkeng station, and farrer park station if don't mind the walking.

dolphins_rainbow

my selection date is in september and my wife only start working part time just last week only, so her income will not be taken into consideration for the AHG right? Cos if her income is being considered then my AHG will be lesser by 5K liao...

It will be considered as long as cpf is being contribute.

tanjhj

It will be considered as long as cpf is being contribute.

thats why sometimes working for small money actually cost u to win big money. my suggestion is to check whether how hdb calculate the ahg? is it (1 yr from the day of may bto close) or (1 yr from the day of your selection appt) or (1 yr from the day of your loan approval). I am also in same situation here.

hdb website is very confusing. it reads ahg is for new flat and resale but another webpage say is for resale and must apply with another grant which are for resale flat. which means u cant get ahg for new flat.

This govt only want to take but make the hell for u when u need help.

AHG applicants must meet all eligibility conditions and must be applying for any of the CPF Housing Grant below:
CPF Housing Grant for Family or
CPF Housing Top-Up Grant

tanjhj

after looking at the map of MT closely i know why some units are hot. they are either facing the north with unblocked view for boon keng has low level flats surrounding them or they are facing the south away from the sunrise sun set and fits the Fengshui recommendation of sit north face south.

most importantly, if u see carefully? most 4 room MT units (230, 250, 256, 264, 274, 276, 286) have your own private corridor and passage!!! no body will pass by ur house or use ur passage, with that the passage is your to use only, u can put ur shoe rack grow plants or items outside the house and save space. the passage way maybe available for purchase from hdb in the future like my grandparents flat. that "space" alone can add 5% space to the puny space we have nowadays.

for BL u dun have such design, so ur passage way is always shared and u cant used the passage outside ur door for ur own things. no wonder MT is premium flat i dun mind pay that extra few k for this privacy and "extra free" space. Lucky i havent select my flat siah!

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.