May BTO 2012

tanjhj

Heard from my friend that this is not bad.... Fixed rate of 1.38% for a total of 4 years but comes with conditions...

1) Fixed for first 2 years
2) Fixed for another 2 years (but need to write in a letter to request for this, very funny)
3) Got to buy an insurance package from them but I heard quite cheap...

POSB Home Loan 2+2, Affordable Fixed Rate of Interest for 2 Years | POSB Bank Singapore

usually hdb loan insurance is 300+ can use cpf to pay.
home loam insurance is 800-1000+ pay by cash if i not wrong.

to save that non guranteed interest of 1% or lesser for the 1st 3-4 yrs and risk having more than 3-5% interest plus 6 months no pay ur flat get foreclosure over 2 yrs for hdb (with min payment).

hdb loan has no penalty for early repayment which means you can actually pay less interest than the 2.6%. bank loan has heavy penalty for early repayment.

most imptly the current job market, ppl get retrenched anytime even if u are civil servant so i guess take bank loan at your own risk.

i dun see much saving at all considering the fear of job lost and more other unstable condition from the bank.

i still remember my fren home loan installment jump from 2000 become 3000 and than almost 4000 justt a few years back.

while working under a stats board, i saw much much more flat kana repossed over hdb take back the flat.

tanjhj

interestingly, 3 rooms pick up rate more than 70% and almost all is chinese.

techielim

Lower interest rate as compare to HBD rate 2.6%. I check with DBS bank they offer 1.49% for fixed 3 years. Troublesome part is i have to refinance every 3 yrs.

U need to refinance aft each complete loan given. It looks nice. But if economic picks up u r subject to banks interest. It can jump much more than 2.6%. So is risky. U may enjoy for say 10yrs. Aft that if it goes up to 5% than u will come back to e same. I wanted take bank too. But aft getting advise from frens it seems Hdb is more safe. So I'm taking Hdb now. Imagine jumps to 4-5% e interest can kill if I taking 20yrs.

tanjhj

U need to refinance aft each complete loan given. It looks nice. But if economic picks up u r subject to banks interest. It can jump much more than 2.6%. So is risky. U may enjoy for say 10yrs. Aft that if it goes up to 5% than u will come back to e same. I wanted take bank too. But aft getting advise from frens it seems Hdb is more safe. So I'm taking Hdb now. Imagine jumps to 4-5% e interest can kill if I taking 20yrs.

i agree totally, i saw so many killed by this personally. the bank loan jump every month till it hit about 5%(and this happen only a few yr back). wana sell also have to sell at lost so no choice borrow money to pay for the higher installment. some even become bankrupt because of this

refinance works only if the interest stay low but who can confirm the interest will stay low and for how long. and refinance works only if u stay emplyed during the loan time. if kana retrenched, good luck!

however it is still up to individual to save money as deem fit. for me will be pay abit more for piece of mind and sleep with ease at night. i get to save more than 500-700 per year from home insurance from hdb which can use to offset against the interest i "could" have saved from the bank loan.

keithster

A lot of selections today for KW 4-room. A total of 12 queue numbers.

Last Queue Number invited for selection of a 4-Room flat in Kallang / Whampoa under the May 2012 BTO exercise as at 24 Jul 2012 : 00085

tanjhj

Today 3 queue numbers but 2 dropouts and 1 taken up.

You happy right? :D

need you to include the race for tracking purposes. for ppl who do not have good numbers, we can guage if we can give up and buy resale or another bto.

thanks

keithster

need you to include the race for tracking purposes. for ppl who do not have good numbers, we can guage if we can give up and buy resale or another bto.

thanks

I can't. Wait later someone complains to moderator that i trying to create a racial problem.

You read earlier posts you will know :D

Iristan

Yes I am aware of that too. We plan to clear as much loan as possible every 3 years when we do the refinacing. Anyway I also can't take HDB loan as i ever dispose a private property within 30 months.

farmer71

A lot of selections today for KW 4-room. A total of 12 queue numbers.

Last Queue Number invited for selection of a 4-Room flat in Kallang / Whampoa under the May 2012 BTO exercise as at 24 Jul 2012 : 00085

How or where did you get all the number of selection from:s11:

tanjhj

I can't. Wait later someone complains to moderator that i trying to create a racial problem.

You read earlier posts you will know :D

from the earlier post. only i person express problem, the rest is okay and even 1 malay guy think it is ok. just post the racial quota lah. we have practical needs for this..:s12:

linnie86

How or where did you get all the number of selection from:s11:

heys... jus log in to my hdb, click on my flat --> Application Status New Flat --> click on the Reg No, scroll to the bottom, you will be able to see the last queue number of the day.

hope it helps! =)

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.