[Maylyn - Networking] ASUS RT-AC88U

Medicated Oil

i reset factory after the reboot is complete

that also clears the NVRam if i am right

Thanks for sharing your experience.
Hope Asus get it right with their next firmware.
Or else their service center will be stack with a lot of AC88U and 5300 routers at the end of the month.

SKinny86

latest firmware is full of bugs. and wifi issues is one of them

many bros here had to exchange their routers because of it!

bro, better downgrade to 2345 and hope your router is not giving you issues after the downgrade, if it is, you go to avertek and swap for a new unit and DO NOT UPGRADE

Download the ASUS Rescue tool http://dlcdnet.asus.com/pub/ASUS/wireless/RT-AC88U/UT_Download_Master_2228_Win.zip and Firmware version http://dlcdnet.asus.com/pub/ASUS/wireless/RT-AC88U/FW_RT_AC88U_30043802345.zip

Power off your AC88U with the power button

Hold down the red reset button ( with a pen)

Turn on your AC88U while holding the reset button (20 Secs)

keep holding until you see the Power LED Blinking, after that release the reset button and if the LED is still flashing, it means your AC88U is in rescue mode

So, connect a LAN Cable to your AC88U and the other end to your PC

set the IP of your PC to 192.168.1.10 and the rest is default (255.255.255.0)

Open up the ASUS tool and upload the FW

Wait for it to finish and it will restart your router

Set your IP Back to DHCP and you should be able to access the GUI Page

AC88U Users, DO NOT UPGRADE TO THE LATEST FIRMWARE VERSION!

Waa.. I just saw this thread and I have upgrade firmware not long ago :s22:

Ash

I am on 3341 for quite sometime now. Dint realized any problems with it... guess I better downgrade then.

localITguy

Waa.. I just saw this thread and I have upgrade firmware not long ago :s22:

i think is ISP based leh

singtel users, mostly kena.

but mine once kena (disconnect once). i Scared so i downgrade

M1 here..

if its not broken don't fix it

but better play safe lah. don't upgrade so, no need waste a trip to avertek. unless you are so free.. feel free to upgrade

localITguy

Thanks for sharing your experience.
Hope Asus get it right with their next firmware.
Or else their service center will be stack with a lot of AC88U and 5300 routers at the end of the month.

i am sure. there are many.

ask those people who visited avertek:s13::s13:

jackycar

Aiya actually small case. Why people say until got many ac88u returned in service centre etc?

JUST DOWNGRADE THE FIRMWARE BACK TO 2345.can vouch its stable with no issues!

renfred89

Aiya actually small case. Why people say until got many ac88u returned in service centre etc?

If not, go for ac5300, i will share with you a unreleased 36xx version for ac5300. I aoso can vouch, no issue. Lol! :D

jackycar

If not, go for ac5300, i will share with you a unreleased 36xx version for ac5300. I aoso can vouch, no issue. Lol! :D

Walao pain leh your solution bro hahaha $$$$$

Seriously the ac88u is a decent router. Looks sick. Better than the ac87u that had inherent HARDWARE issues that couldn't be fixed

localITguy

some have downgrade liao, still cannot fix.
:o:o:o
it depends on your luck

even avertek staff say downgrade also cannot, swap out for a new 1, you say leh?

if can downgrade and it works why they still visit the service center

renfred89

some have downgrade liao, still cannot fix.
:o:o:o
it depends on your luck

even avertek staff say downgrade also cannot, swap out for a new 1, you say leh?

if can downgrade and it works why they still visit the service center

rescue mode also cannot meh? rescue mode should work..

localITguy

rescue mode also cannot meh? rescue mode should work..

a few pages back, someone posted
avertek staff says cannot

they know what is rescue mode right?

so if they say can't i think means cannot:vijayadmin:;);):(:(

they know their stuff i would assume

nautilus

Just 2 days after my wifi radio turned off on its own, it happened again. I'll drop Avertek a call to arrange a RMA for this.

a562140

my regular restarts due to an unrecognizable device is still continuing, suspected Samsung TV causing (from forums) but no reply from Asus helpdesk. its one of the most popular smart TVs around!

i am starting to believe that this is the worst asus router ever ?

the irony is that asus will probably launch a v2, and leave all the loyal early adopters in a lurch. :s22:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.