[Maylyn's Review] ASUS RT-AC87U

Jong99

I'm using .4950 ....everything seems stable and fine.

Just upgraded my iPad Mini 3 to iOS 8.3....video and games are smooth.
My android devices (mobile and tablet) are working fine too.

Noted: All devices are connected to 5Ghz.
Yep, in brief testing worked fine here when awake. But this is about disconnecting from the network when in sleep mode, specifically with 5Ghz beamforming on. You don't say if you had beamforming on or off.

oric1

Just updated my iPhone 6 Plus & iPad Air, will turn on beamforming and monitor to see if still dc.

With beamforming on, after 10 mins, I just saw my iPhone 6 Plus disappeared from the 5GHz log and reconnect immediately to 5GHz again :(

Will turn off beamforming and monitor.

BTW, I'm still on Merlin 378.51. Will wait for .53 before updating.

With BF off, both my devices are still connected in sleep mode on 5GHz after more than 9 hrs.

hoaaron1985

hi all,

not sure whether is it a correct channel to ask. I am also using ASUS RT-AC87U.

Recently, I have updated to the latest firmware. However, I found something very funny happening to my network. On all my network devices, I am somehow connected to the Japan network. For example, when I am searching on Google chrome, it will redirect to the Google.co.jp search engine.

Initially, I thought it was only my pc issue, then I tried on other laptops, desktops, and other mobile devices on same network, it is also the same. Even YouTube advertisement also on Japanese stuff.

Anyone also encountering same problem as me? I am on Starhub Fibre 100mpbs. :s22:

renfred89

hi all,

not sure whether is it a correct channel to ask. I am also using ASUS RT-AC87U.

Recently, I have updated to the latest firmware. However, I found something very funny happening to my network. On all my network devices, I am somehow connected to the Japan network. For example, when I am searching on Google chrome, it will redirect to the Google.co.jp search engine.

Initially, I thought it was only my pc issue, then I tried on other laptops, desktops, and other mobile devices on same network, it is also the same. Even YouTube advertisement also on Japanese stuff.

Anyone also encountering same problem as me? I am on Starhub Fibre 100mpbs. :s22:

That could be an issue with your IP address. You might need to approach starhub to flush your IP and obtain a different one.

thiamhui

You can read up at least 20 pages away and will understand the setting and what doesnt work for now....

Welcome to the 87U ....

*Hint* - why never go AC3200 ....:(
I think I saw someone selling his AC3200. Need to welcome him back??? 😁

yosemi

Hello all, i am new to AC87U, it seem that i encounter some issue with it.

The router capped my download speed at 400mbps on speedtest, I am on VQ 600mbps. I connect directly to the zhone router i get abt 600mbps on speedtest. So i am quite sure is the ac87u wrong somewhere.

i am also running on the lastest firmware 3.0.0.4.378.4950.

I enable jumbo frame also but still capped at 400mbps on speedtest

any expert advise here?

ahduck

Hello all, i am new to AC87U, it seem that i encounter some issue with it.

The router capped my download speed at 400mbps on speedtest, I am on VQ 600mbps. I connect directly to the zhone router i get abt 600mbps on speedtest. So i am quite sure is the ac87u wrong somewhere.

i am also running on the lastest firmware 3.0.0.4.378.4950.

I enable jumbo frame also but still capped at 400mbps on speedtest

any expert advise here?

I believe Jumbo Frame should be disable by default.
Check for NAT hardware acceleration. you must enable it. if not speed will be capped at about 400+Mbps

Remember

Hi, I have issues with my 2.4ghz which is extremely slow even when I'm beside the router.
some time i can't even connect.

no issues with the 5ghz.

I've done a reset to no avail.
anyone have this issue?

trichard

Bor lah.. Sell Asus just use money buy Linksys lor...

Not rich just that I don't drink don't gamble don't play woman... Only buy gaudge to reduce stress...

I found a trick to make SC on 5ghz but not include 2.4Ghz liao... Quite simple..

Boeing101

Not rich just that I don't drink don't gamble don't play woman... Only buy gaudge to reduce stress...

I found a trick to make SC on 5ghz but not include 2.4Ghz liao... Quite simple..

Linksys AC3200 can buy? What make you decide to try Linksys?
I read review from website it seen more people think Asus is best leh?
They also claim NetGear faster than Linksys.... What you think?

seller4

For ASUS or Linksys?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.