talking about thosai, i go to MTR at least once a month on the weekends for its masala thosai. Its damn good.
Location pls. I also love masala thosai
talking about thosai, i go to MTR at least once a month on the weekends for its masala thosai. Its damn good.
This question is simple and not so simple. For example, if the animal died a natural death, can eat or not. Dairy if produced under the conditions of suffering vs, a cow living a lifestyle very close to its nature form is greatly different. Thats one of the reasons some people will choose a free range egg over a battery egg. not to say there is 0 sufferings for the free range egg chicken, but it is at least more humane over a hen enclosed in a cage for her whole lifetime.
However, people eat vegetarian for all different sorts of reasons![]()
My meatless diet has nothing to do with Buddhism.Can eat eggs?
buddhist vegetarian cannot spring onion leh
Location pls. I also love masala thosai
as @plaingrain detailed. let me know. so far its the best i've tried in sg. They also have one branch at KL at half the price.I did a quick internet search since MTR means train network to me in Hong Kong, I didn't know there was such a place calld Mavalli Tiffin Rooms ie MTR in Singapore: https://www.mtrsingapore.com/
I'm a fan of Indian vegetarian cuisine, I'll take note of this recommendation and may pop by to try out their masala thosai if I'm in the vicinity.
MmmDear EDMW,
Usually I don't like to complain, but right now I just had a late lunch and I'm still feeling very hungry!
I am a self-employed, I work for my family business. Every year, my family embarks on a vegetarian lifestyle for more than one month whenever the Lunar Seventh Month approaches, so what I'm experiencing right now are meatless meals for the day. It's not stressful to go vegetarian, but I feel very hungry leh!
I just had a fantastic bowl of sweet potato porridge with bitter gourd, it's delicious! Yet, I just wish to eat some meat. I'm not sure how much longer I can last without going for my favourite McDonalds' McSpicy meal, but I'll try to stay meatless for as long as it takes. I started this thread because it's meaningless going vegetarian for myself, so I chose to share my meatless meals with you guys so that at least I attach some purpose to what I'm doing i.e. not eating meat.
Hope you guys have a good dinner, I'll have leftover porridge and bitter gourd from my lunch so my dinner will be the same as my lunch. My grandmother used to tell me about how they survived on sweet potato leaves fried with chilli and plain porridge during the World War II Japanese Occupation, I feel a strong sense of nostalgia whenever I eat minimal meat and recall the histories that my grandparents taught me.
In my Buddhist tradition, Om Mani Padme Hum.
Never eaten before leh, but it's within walking distance from my parents' home in Eunos Crescent. Any recommendations for a chilli lover like me?
My meatless diet has nothing to do with Buddhism.
There is a vegetarian restaurant that sells Vegetarian Otah wrapped with banana leaves. Taste very real, nice, a bit spicy but a bit ex. It's $2.5 per portion.
Genesis Vegan Restaurant
Can google their location. It's very near Clarke Quay mrt station.
Actually S$2.50 is very reasonable for a vegetarian delicacy leh. I have a soft spot for spicy food, I don't mind paying a little more for good vegetarian spicy food. In fact this is the reason why I have difficulty becoming a full vegetarian: vegan food are not spicy enough! The most spicy vegetarian dish I tried was vegetarian curry, but it's still not hot enough for me because I don't even sweat after eating when I "lum" all the gravy on my bee hoon. Compared to McDonalds' McSpicy, wah after I eat the burger I really feel solid leh, even though it's not that hot either but at least I get a kick out of it.There is a vegetarian restaurant that sells Vegetarian Otah wrapped with banana leaves. Taste very real, nice, a bit spicy but a bit ex. It's $2.5 per portion.
Genesis Vegan Restaurant
Can google their location. It's very near Clarke Quay mrt station.
Yaloh yaloh, I also love Indian vegetarian food. It's spicy and flavorfull. Chinese vegetarian are always mock this and mock that, the charsiew eat already machiam eating candy like that, so sweet and no suitable chilli to go along with it unlike the real charsiew rice which comes with good chilli sauce.Chinese vege usually r processed food. I love indian vege food as especially their lentils......so well cooked and flavoured
TS, if you still feel hungry, just eat this.
it is a vegetarian meat substitute.
my household keeps many cans of this.
on vegetarian days, I eat this and feel full up.
I’m a regular omnivore who goes full vegetarian occasionally.
Chinese cooking uses lots of chemical seasoning . Indian food uses spices and herbs to enhance their food and lots of time to prepare them. Tat is why their food here so expActually S$2.50 is very reasonable for a vegetarian delicacy leh. I have a soft spot for spicy food, I don't mind paying a little more for good vegetarian spicy food. In fact this is the reason why I have difficulty becoming a full vegetarian: vegan food are not spicy enough! The most spicy vegetarian dish I tried was vegetarian curry, but it's still not hot enough for me because I don't even sweat after eating when I "lum" all the gravy on my bee hoon. Compared to McDonalds' McSpicy, wah after I eat the burger I really feel solid leh, even though it's not that hot either but at least I get a kick out of it.
So, thank you for recommending the vegetarian otah, I'll take note of it. Genesis Vegan Restaurant.
https://www.instagram.com/genesis.vegan.restaurant.sg/
Yaloh yaloh, I also love Indian vegetarian food. It's spicy and flavorfull. Chinese vegetarian are always mock this and mock that, the charsiew eat already machiam eating candy like that, so sweet and no suitable chilli to go along with it unlike the real charsiew rice which comes with good chilli sauce.
Ok! Noted! I just bought four cans of mili straw mushrooms, we usually will DIY cook out own vegetarian oyster pancake using the straw mushrooms to replace the real oysters, then add some egg and make our own chilli sauce to go along with it. It's the most shiok vegetarian recipe we have in our household, the chilli makes it shiok. Without the chilli, not so tasty but also not bad for a vegetarian oyster pancake.
Chinese cooking uses lots of chemical seasoning . Indian food uses spices and herbs to enhance their food and lots of time to prepare them. Tat is why their food here so exp
The 409 AMK market one closed down already, i've tried it once and think its pretty good. I'm not a fan of veg chicken rice. But i find it nice as long as the curd skin remains crispy.I find many vegetarian chicken rice not that delicious. The mock meat is the typical tofu skin or soy.
Anyone found any hidden gems?
plant based protein is less bioavailable than animal protein. Pure vegetarian needs to eat more food to absorb the same amount of protein.Tat is why many Chinese vegetarians are lack of protein
That one too salty la, it started off ok, but towards the end they were focused on cutting costs and I was basically eating MSG all the time. If I'm not wrong you're talking about the one at Teck Ghee hawker centre. AMK no more good vegetarian food as far as I'm concerned, what's left are all very profit oriented and not much conscience when it comes to the seasoning.The 409 AMK market one closed down already, i've tried it once and think its pretty good. I'm not a fan of veg chicken rice. But i find it nice as long as the curd skin remains crispy.
Going by TS motivation to empathize with hungry ghosts, shouldn’t the emphasis be on eating bland food over avoiding meat? If I’m the ghost, I would be more jealous of someone eating $20 salad over $2 Nasi lemak.Dear EDMW,
Usually I don't like to complain, but right now I just had a late lunch and I'm still feeling very hungry!
I am a self-employed, I work for my family business. Every year, my family embarks on a vegetarian lifestyle for more than one month whenever the Lunar Seventh Month approaches, so what I'm experiencing right now are meatless meals for the day. It's not stressful to go vegetarian, but I feel very hungry leh!
I just had a fantastic bowl of sweet potato porridge with bitter gourd, it's delicious! Yet, I just wish to eat some meat. I'm not sure how much longer I can last without going for my favourite McDonalds' McSpicy meal, but I'll try to stay meatless for as long as it takes. I started this thread because it's meaningless going vegetarian for myself, so I chose to share my meatless meals with you guys so that at least I attach some purpose to what I'm doing i.e. not eating meat.
Hope you guys have a good dinner, I'll have leftover porridge and bitter gourd from my lunch so my dinner will be the same as my lunch. My grandmother used to tell me about how they survived on sweet potato leaves fried with chilli and plain porridge during the World War II Japanese Occupation, I feel a strong sense of nostalgia whenever I eat minimal meat and recall the histories that my grandparents taught me.
In my Buddhist tradition, Om Mani Padme Hum.
I don't know leh, why not you ask the ghosts and tell me what they think?Going by TS motivation to empathize with hungry ghosts, shouldn’t the emphasis be on eating bland food over avoiding meat? If I’m the ghost, I would be more jealous of someone eating $20 salad over $2 Nasi lemak.
It's a family thing, my family believes that during Lunar 7th month, the hungry ghosts roam the world and firstly when they see us eating good food, they feel hungry but because of their evil karma as hungry ghosts, they cannot swallow the food even if we offer it to them. So it's a compassion thing, by cutting down on eating things that the ghosts themselves cannot swallow, we extend our empathies towards them.
Secondly, because my entire family are Buddhists, in order for us to perform religious rites for the hungry ghosts and hell beings, we need to do our best to keep our breaths clean and free from meat and other provocative spices such as onion and garlic. So when we chant scriptures for suffering beings when we are on a meatless diet, it respects ourselves, the Buddhas and Bodhisattvas, as well as the deities and ghosts and hell beings too.
Like I say, it's a family thing, because my family believes, so I follow lor. No scientific proof one, it's just a belief.
By right cannot, but by left I'm not a monk so I got eat eggs.