Median salary for degree holders in Singapore hits S$8,650

elimmel

no direct data, but if we extrapolate from the tables, it seems that 8.6k median is achieved btw age 34 to 39. But this also means the peak is around 11k+ median near 50 years old.
only for select few industries.
reporting as median 8.6k may give wrong impression all degree holders may reach that level.

AuraKUPO

Median salary for entire population.
singapore has an older population which means the increase in median salary is driven mainly by older people who are holding more senior positions and thus higher pay.

you are understanding it to say median salary of fresh grad is $8k which is incorrect
Same thing bro. Older gen parents warming a lot will pass a lot of wealth to the next gen.

AuraKUPO

If not wrong, that article include lao kok kok degree holders, so not all fresh grad degree holder gonna have that $

Also have to take into account of our next gen who are not degree holder
By that time, got many jobs don't need degree already. Got grab, got OF, and I'm sure many more to come

cyke69sg

SG gonna be AI hub. SGrean no need work anymore. Get dividends from AI.

Definitely

the article didnt state include employer’s cpf or aws/bonuses too. If it does include then dont u tink the median salary for degree holders in sg is actually quite low? :s11: :(

Maybe it will be clearer if they break it up into by age groups.
Got include employer’s cpf and aws/vb. MOM’s data always include everything.

esandwich

For the last time what is median

Median here is 5 in the middle

0,1,2,3,4,5,6,7 8,9,10

For sure u can find 11 people in singapore earning 0k to 10k

BUT.. its possible
1million people earn 1k as grab food
1 million people earn 2k as admin clerk
but only 10,000 people earn 5k

Understand how PAP is trying to smoke chu
sometimes use mean, sometimes use median....see which one can smoke better

junlove

Are you PR?
no. i'm just a numbers person. 0.54mil is seriously not a lot compared to the 1.8 Mil foreigners.

PRs actually also got huge % which are naturalised; hubbies or wifus who will not leave and are contributing to SG's economy, don't view them as adversaries leh. our fathers also migrants lor

issue is how much and how fast they are being assimilated. Too much and too fast they will bring in other countries' culture instead

esandwich

the article didnt state include employer’s cpf or aws/bonuses too. If it does include then dont u tink the median salary for degree holders in sg is actually quite low? :s11: :(

Maybe it will be clearer if they break it up into by age groups.
pls dont pichar their lobang

Tschuus

stats-2024.png

This chart really tells us what your child should be studying. Starting pay for the local unis is highest and higher growth then all others. Private degree even got pay cut !

eAtNeAt

No wonder year after year new launches see long queues

fandango

That's why I don't understand why edmwers said housing too expensive for our next gen. Their salary so high, worry about yourself better
You see the sample size or not? Median of all full time employed people

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.