Median salary for degree holders in Singapore hits S$8,650

Tschuus

but not to forget sg property n car ish way higher too. And our pte ppty mostly are on 99yr lease. And our coe only lasts for 10yrs. I recently told an SA in paris that our basic car costs arnd eur $100k and she was kinda shocked.
Dont buy car and win? Property got people lose money want meh? High property price buy high , sell higher and retire overseas lor.

From the chart i share, the median sg uni wage earner earns in one year what a uni grad teacher in Ethiopia earns in 20 years! And their houses in their capital isnt 20 x cheaper! around 300K USD

Balian

I'm born here, yes, in 40s and served longer than you think.

what has this got to do with the discussion? citizens need to understand there are indeed real purpose of the mix of PRs, Foreigners even, to propel singapore's economy. the issue is the % required, for sustainable growth without breaking the social fabric and adversely affecting our singaporean way of life and culture. We need a mix, but how much is the real qns.

So don't cast aspersion over them, ask the right questions instead.
You keep claiming you are numbers person and only you are thinking.

but fail to think why gov would lump PR and citizen together when reporting these figures.

Balian

The govt's view is that ur NS obligation is because of the benefits u received from birth till 18.

That is why 2nd gen PR also have the same obligation, because they grew up in SG.
Then those who dont need to serve ns didn’t receive any benefit?

HomeMommy

Dont buy car and win? Property got people lose money want meh? High property price buy high , sell higher and retire overseas lor.

From the chart i share, the median sg uni wage earner earns in one year what a uni grad teacher in Ethiopia earns in 20 years! And their houses in their capital isnt 20 x cheaper! around 300K USD

why u assume ppty boh ppl lose money leh? It will not go up forever de. And economy will not be rosy forever. U only win in ppty once u sell and pocket the gains.

But do u think the median degree holder’s pay can afford a decently sized pte ppty in ccr region with current pricing now? I think even one in rcr also tough :s11:

Eliwood

Then those who dont need to serve ns didn’t receive any benefit?

1st gen PRs unlikely to be born in SG since they shd move to SG as adults.

They would not have received the education n healthcare benefits in SG as children.

The 2 years are for ur first 18 years, not after.

GreatPumpkin

This article is ownself slap ownself.

They said that national median income is not very useful because the demographics is too wide.

But then even among degree holders, there are demographics differences. Male / female, age and working experience, local deg / overseas deg, industry, course, honours etc.

A more useful study is to plot median income by age against expense. Let's say a media singkie male marries at 30 and first child at 32, what is his median income vs expected expense at those ages?

dnsfpl

anyway data can be easily manipulated
those not drawing salary (retiree, open biz, or work as grab etc) might be excluded
only left fresh grad and buay kan degree to tank the 1st 50%

i also know A LOT of pple drawing this kinda salary in their late 20s - early 30s
some starting pay even higher than median liao

Balian

1st gen PRs unlikely to be born in SG since they shd move to SG as adults.

They would not have received the education n healthcare benefits in SG as children.
1st gen PR get to buy hdb and pay lower tax compared to foreigners.

female citizens and those with health conditions also dont serve ns. Means they didnt get any benefit compared to those who served ns?

blue666

The argument here is which age group

include those already in the field for 15 to 20 years, the medium is still inclined towards the high

Tschuus

why u assume ppty boh ppl lose money leh? It will not go up forever de. And economy will not be rosy forever. U only win in ppty once u sell and pocket the gains.

But do u think the median degree holder’s pay can afford a decently sized pte ppty in ccr region with current pricing now? I think even one in rcr also tough :s11:
Well if one is earning 8k plus and assuming his significant other is also pulling around the same , 16k/month salary cannot buy who can? I assume this is not two fresh grad with zero cpf dreaming of buying prime condo in ccr la .

tshace

Questions...
Who? Only citizens? Or all residents?
Where? At CBD or the whole island.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.