Median here is 5 in the middle

0,1,2,3,4,5,6,7 8,9,10

For sure u can find 11 people in singapore earning 0k to 10k

BUT.. its possible
1million people earn 1k as grab food
1 million people earn 2k as admin clerk
but only 10,000 people earn 5k

Understand how PAP is trying to smoke chu
So in ur case, the median salary for the 2.01 million population is 2k?

RedRedWine

Sorry it upsets you.

But it is what I get from SG. See relatives on IG show off their new condo purchase. Sports cars. Travels.

Relatives talking about how proud they are of who and who making millions.

My world is like that. I know not everyone is like that . When I send how much I make to my parents I get no response one. 😞
Lol i really not upset i mean i do ok as well and more imptly i am not so poor until all i have is money hehe

standarture

This is reflective of problem with reader than stats.

What is interesting to me is that the gap between degree and non-degree holders has stayed constant in numerical terms but reduced in relative terms.

No wonder many edmwers complain their dads could afford house, car and kids on single income while they could not.

The average degree holder has fallen down the social ladder and has become closer to non-degree holder. This means society has become more equitable

Not really. Companies do not scale salary with lifestyle inflation. They are not going to say, let's increase salary because people buy phones every year, travel every year etc. People are getting too complacent in thinking they should entitled to the supposed modern life in SG now. If you take away travelling every year, buying flagship phones, not eating at F&Bs/restaurants every week, not buying useless gadgets, the salary you have now is very luxurious. Back then, life was simpler, there wasn't much to spend on. Less temptations. Less FOMO. Eat Macs was a luxury back then. Even eating restaurants like Jack's Place was a birthday type of thing. Now everyone just eats similar grade F&Bs as a norm.

Hypernova

i grad and work so many years liao still haven't reach median, and at my rate i think hard for me to hit median too.

IAmChiobu12M

For the last time what is median

0,1,2,3,4,5,6,7 8,9,10

BUT.. its possible

Sometimes I wonder is we not easy to smoke or 70% live in another world. Most don't seem to get?

orlengtao

0,1,2,3,4,5,6,7 8,9,10

BUT.. its possible

Median means 50% of degree holders earn more than S$8,650, and 50% earn less than S$8,650. What are you smkoing about? If you're a degree holder and earn less than 8650, means you're below la.

Travis_Touchdown

0,1,2,3,4,5,6,7 8,9,10

BUT.. its possible

that ish howl median bruffs peepurz rohz... then to the right of the 10k peepurz earning 5k ish all those earning 8k and above until 10-30k/mth type... the other 2 million peepurz... howl mani ish fts moi dunno rahz... :s22::frown:

Sometimes I wonder is we not easy to smoke or 70% live in another world. Most don't seem to get?

among the 70%... top 20% ish earning big bucks enjoying life... the bottom 30% getting welfares... then still gotch the middle 20% ish silver serpents iron lice bowl... mybfd pioneers merdekas retired riaoz... new shittyzens earning big bucks... :s22::frown:

HushiePuppies

0,1,2,3,4,5,6,7 8,9,10

BUT.. its possible

what toking you.

already say liao median is middle.

so if 2 million people earn between 1-2k and 10,000 people earn 5k, then median would be $1,XXX because the centre would be between the 2million people earning 1-2k.

orlengtao

what toking you.

already say liao median is middle.

so if 2 million people earn between 1-2k and 10,000 people earn 5k, then median would be $1,XXX because the centre would be between the 2million people earning 1-2k.
Ya, he thought is average. Median is not average.

Median already take accounts to the scenario he talked about. Probably bo tak chek, nv learn about probability maths.

Let me simpify for him.

5 person salary as below.

$1000, $2000, $5000, $10000000, $1000000000000

The median is $5000

eq2addict

A degree holder who is not doing PME job is not in this statistic. I know somebody who was an Asean scholar and graduated in Mechanical Engineering here. He lost his engineering job before turning 30 and went into insurance.
he's problem is to be a engineer in singapore. should migrate to australia or EU while he is young n fresh. all the "engineer" in singapore is bangalas or some other 3rd world country refugee

TrollAndOgres

Actually not unbelievable ma, got deg holders earning 5 fig pulling up the median number. 8.6k is with employer cpf so nett amount probably 7.5k..?

I hear of some friends with 10-15 years exp getting 8-12k (before employer cpf) liaos. Maybe those below the median are the fresh grads, junior roles or lowballed ones?

Wu-Han Clan

That's why I don't understand why edmwers said housing too expensive for our next gen. Their salary so high, worry about yourself better
lmaooo... on internet all act like they care abt younger gen... bt is the current gen tt struggle to buy hdb... talk one big round bt is actually care for themselfs one lah... lmaooooooo :ROFLMAO: :ROFLMAO: :ROFLMAO:

current gen the job low pay... cannot afford.... younger gen earn more bt they spend all on PHV .. $70 brunch... $8 ice mocha... after tt giv street interview say $400k BTO v exp.... :ROFLMAO: :ROFLMAO: :ROFLMAO: all oso struggle to afford....

Shingoz

It's total degree holders. Anyway, the stats is trying to show that deg holders, in general, make more than dip and below.

"Last year, degree holders maintained their leadership over the rest (or, rather, the broad median for the entire society they too are a part of) at over S$3,100, with the median employment income reportedly hitting S$8,656 (gross, including employer’s CPF).

This means that half of them make more than that."

"Interestingly the distance between the best educated and the national median has been quite stable over the past decade, hovering around S$3,000 on most years. This means that it has relatively shrunk in proportion."

fulaien

8650 is for all degree holders, not fresh grads.

And it is gross including bonus and CPF.

Taking into account 15 months package (quite typical, 2 months bonus plus AWS).

8650 x 12 ÷ 1.17 ÷15 = 5.9k

So the real base pay is around 5.9k only.

Not as inflated as what everyone think.

Those with 3, 4k starting salary will reach there after 10-15 years

LingTan98

8650 is for all degree holders, not fresh grads.

And it is gross including bonus and CPF.

Taking into account 15 months package (quite typical, 2 months bonus plus AWS).

8650 x 12 ÷ 1.17 ÷15 = 5.9k

So the real base pay is around 5.9k only.

Not as inflated as what everyone think.

Those with 3, 4k starting salary will reach there after 10-15 years
Oh wow this feels a little more realistic I guess! Thanks for making me feel less underpaid 🤣!

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.