Median salary for degree holders in Singapore hits S$8,650

cyke69sg

U say 20-30 not uncommon i still ok

100k per month is rare tts 1.2m a year leh u sure not uncommon? U use the salary tracker alr tell u even at 500kpa ur in top 5 percentile
My social circle is like that. Lawyers bankers surgeons. Businessmen. CEOs.

Even top 5 %ile is a lot of people you know. There are 300,000 in the top 5%.

virtualape

im not surprised. sinkie degree holder $5k. FT degree holder $12k via intracorp transfer. when there are enough FT degree holders, the median naturally goes up.

yukirin92

Those say earning 3-4k a month is either trolling or really beh kan.

Median is 9k. Many earning 30-50k. 100k not uncommon also.

A similar post on reddit has many 3-4k pm sinkie redditors up in arms about unrealistic numbers :o

7p1gthde44he1.jpeg

cyke69sg

Ok man whatever floats your boat
Sorry it upsets you.

But it is what I get from SG. See relatives on IG show off their new condo purchase. Sports cars. Travels.

Relatives talking about how proud they are of who and who making millions.

My world is like that. I know not everyone is like that . When I send how much I make to my parents I get no response one. 😞

PikaPika33

still arueing meh

learn basic stats in poly also teach you
you need full set of data and stats
using a single data set can be misleading

take the mean, medium and mode.
than take the age group
than take the age group, separate by working exp
can be further break down into

cyke69sg

A similar post on reddit has many 3-4k pm sinkie redditors up in arms about unrealistic numbers :o

7p1gthde44he1.jpeg
Maybe is the young ones?
Or have you thought maybe is IB?
IB pretend to be poor so that the real people earning like 10-20k feel that they satki makes SGreans feel good?

PikaPika33

lucky anecdotal is not taken at face value most of the time
like in research, court cases and etc

else all the tiagong ah, csb ah, my ah gong say ah
all become real

:s22:

Eliwood

Tbh i dunno wat the debate is abt. The number seems logical.

If u think it is too high, it just means u r either non-degree holder or u r an outlier in the low range.

PikaPika33

If u think it is too high, it just means u r either non-degree holder or u r an outlier in the low range.
because at face value, without thinking most will think this is the fresh grads celery

degree holder can mean alot
fresh grad
mid life crisis
work 30 years and be director/mp

all consider degree what

standarture

It's true la. 30yo 4k+... 35 yo, 6k+..... 40yo 8k+. For management level, add another 1-2k extra to the corresponding pay. The minimum pay you will get is a comfy 10kpm.

Eliwood

because at face value, without thinking most will think this is the fresh grads celery

degree holder can mean alot
fresh grad
mid life crisis
work 30 years and be director/mp

all consider degree what

This is reflective of problem with reader than stats.

What is interesting to me is that the gap between degree and non-degree holders has stayed constant in numerical terms but reduced in relative terms.

No wonder many edmwers complain their dads could afford house, car and kids on single income while they could not.

The average degree holder has fallen down the social ladder and has become closer to non-degree holder. This means society has become more equitable

Char_Kuey

anyway data can be easily manipulated
those not drawing salary (retiree, open biz, or work as grab etc) might be excluded
only left fresh grad and buay kan degree to tank the 1st 50%

i also know A LOT of pple drawing this kinda salary in their late 20s - early 30s
some starting pay even higher than median liao
actually is because the fresh grads these days super siao on at bargaining, their fresh grad pay is close to 10k especially those comp sci good results one, which is a huge jump against those who graduate 8 to 10 years ago, those millennials 8 to 10 years ago were just drawing 2 or 3k fresh grad pay doing audit work at big 4

cyke69sg

Or is IBs pretending to be poor.

I have a feeling these posts are designed to gaslight the well to do into feeling better about themselves.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.