Median salary for degree holders in Singapore hits S$8,650

RedRedWine

Those say earning 3-4k a month is either trolling or really beh kan.

Median is 9k. Many earning 30-50k. 100k not uncommon also.
U say 20-30 not uncommon i still ok

100k per month is rare tts 1.2m a year leh u sure not uncommon? U use the salary tracker alr tell u even at 500kpa ur in top 5 percentile

keytheboogamer

anyway data can be easily manipulated
those not drawing salary (retiree, open biz, or work as grab etc) might be excluded
only left fresh grad and buay kan degree to tank the 1st 50%

i also know A LOT of pple drawing this kinda salary in their late 20s - early 30s
some starting pay even higher than median liao

in rather go to jail for 1mth for 5million and stop working as a slave.
the crypto xiao Mei hr is my idol.

Tschuus

in rather go to jail for 1mth for 5million and stop working as a slave.
the crypto xiao Mei hr is my idol.
Aiyo crypto xmm have not been sentence for stealing la. Only for contempt of court. U need to have some standards for idols la .

lupster

That's why I don't understand why edmwers said housing too expensive for our next gen. Their salary so high, worry about yourself better
It's only difficult to understand for those who are daft.

According to the headline, median salary for degree holders in Singapore hits S$8,650. This includes employer CPF contribution. So actual salary is closer to $7390.

Firstly, lesser than half of the Sg workforce has a degree. But those who do not have a degree still need a home.

Next, the median age of the workforce is 42.7 years old. So a lot of those who are earning around that published median salary figure are closer to this median age. But no one is waiting until they are close to 42 y/o to buy a flat. The girls can graduate from uni around 23 y/o while the guys graduate around 25 y/o. Many would aspire to start a family by their late 20s and early 30s. Obviously, most of them dont earn anywhere near that published median salary yet and current property prices are obviously ridiculous for them.

Tschuus

For the last time what is median

Median here is 5 in the middle

0,1,2,3,4,5,6,7 8,9,10

For sure u can find 11 people in singapore earning 0k to 10k

BUT.. its possible
1million people earn 1k as grab food
1 million people earn 2k as admin clerk
but only 10,000 people earn 5k

Understand how PAP is trying to smoke chu
Median salary is 2k in your salary example. How is that smoking you? It is quite representative.

Mephist0pheLes

U say 20-30 not uncommon i still ok

100k per month is rare tts 1.2m a year leh u sure not uncommon? U use the salary tracker alr tell u even at 500kpa ur in top 5 percentile
Jus ignore him, i notice he always like to go to threads about income stats and derail it by saying all his friends earn alot, so it's common for singaporeans to earn alot.

Tschuus

It's only difficult to understand for those who are daft.

According to the headline, median salary for degree holders in Singapore hits S$8,650.

But lesser than half of the workforce has a degree. But those who do not have a degree still need a home.

Median age of the workforce is 42.7 years old. So a lot of those who are earning around the median salary are closer to this median age. But no one is waiting until they are close to 42 y/o to buy a flat. The girls can graduate from uni around 23 y/o while the guys graduate around 25 y/o. Many would aspire to start a family in their late 20s and early 30s. Obviously, most of them dont earn anywhere near that median salary yet and current property prices are obviously ridiculous for them.
3 room tengah is 230k , plus grant. 130k. Ridiculous meh?

But I get what you are trying to say. Who wants Tengah? My nephew just bto with fiancee, bedok 5 room top floor. 700k. Planing to Reno whole house at 150k. Just graduated . His salary only 3k , fiancee also around 3k. Lucky for him his father rich. He also think housing prices are ridiculous. 😱

pearl_ml

I'm excluding those 6-8K fresh graduate salaries. 8K is really normal for mid-career professionals in their mid-30s.

Those earning less might be in backend admin roles, support positions, non-revenue-based jobs, or non-tech roles.

I personally know someone with genetic issues, health problems, and unattractive appearance who isn't particularly smart. Yet, in 30s, is earning over 8K due to hard work and continuously switching roles to learn new skills and increase in the pay.

How many people can realistically be like this? Frankly, there are few, but not many.

Level42

A degree holder who is not doing PME job is not in this statistic. I know somebody who was an Asean scholar and graduated in Mechanical Engineering here. He lost his engineering job before turning 30 and went into insurance.

Justanewbie

Get degree, work hard and upgrade jobs usually don’t go wrong and can earn decent income.

If below median should be beh kan or really unlucky.

Definitely

3 room tengah is 230k , plus grant. 130k. Ridiculous meh?

But I get what you are trying to say. Who wants Tengah? My nephew just bto with fiancee, bedok 5 room top floor. 700k. Planing to Reno whole house at 150k. Just graduated . His salary only 3k , fiancee also around 3k. Lucky for him his father rich. He also think housing prices are ridiculous. 😱
You know the requirement to get 100k in grant is < $2.5k a month in household income? Means 2 person combined earning less than $2.5k a month. Basically even with the grant, you may not be able to afford a 130k house.

Tschuus

You know the requirement to get 100k in grant is < $2.5k a month in household income? Means 2 person combined earning less than $2.5k a month. Basically even with the grant, you may not be able to afford a 130k house.
Of course. i never claim anyone can buy a BTO.

But 130K or 150K or 180K brand new house is NOT ridiculous.

Tschuus

A degree holder who is not doing PME job is not in this statistic. I know somebody who was an Asean scholar and graduated in Mechanical Engineering here. He lost his engineering job before turning 30 and went into insurance.
Your friend must be huat now. Insurance and scholar some more.

Crooni

Nice round number means got creative stats liao

Salary where got nice round number one, especially if include employer cpf

askxyz

yeah chart says "Gross" , means bonus + CPFs employee employer all in for 2024 then divide by 12 months.
article say gross, including employer’s CPF ... did not mention include bonus since is variable

Acetone

Quite normal… these days the fresh grad I interview all asking upwards of 6k… 8k median seems about right

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.