Microsoft Surface

masotime

did u use a courier service like comgateway, or u just str8 deliver to sg?

Courier service. I've used it quite a number of times. Setting your billing address to the courier service's address and using an Amex card seems to bypass most of the restrictions on most websites.

Reborns

It actually came on Tuesday, but I've been pretty busy so I didn't get to play much with it. The screen is much better than the Surface RT's.

Some pics (unfortunately my photography is pretty bad):

You'll notice the pen that magnetically attaches on the right:

iy4lJLtdvMcFc.jpg

Chrome on the Surface Pro. Most pages default to 100% scaling however, but 150% is generally more useable (top is 150%, bottom is 100%):

ibtXAxksVCnmJY.jpg

The type cover came in a separate package from the Pro itself:

i2JSGc5hOp1hi.jpg

cool... did you move the recovery to a thumbdrive to save space?

what make u buy type cover instead of touch cover?

i dun have amex card to buy sian

E_T

The Verge just did a review on the Thinkpad 2: Lenovo ThinkPad Tablet 2 review | The Verge
Yes, I've read it. The reviewer doesn't really know how to do a proper use case review. Technical review was reasonable.

The ThinkPad 2 is meant for business usage where the heaviest software is likely PowerPoint. Business users don't need Core i5/7. Core i3 would be nice but unnecessary.

Reviewer didn't mention the Stylus is Wacom type & ssd is self encrypting allowing salespeople to use it as a POS system + data can be stored without fear of data being stolen. Most important, the battery life is 8-10hrs which is great for mobile business users.

The reviewer also didn't mention if video output to FHD TV was reasonable or not. Based on experience, 720p video should be ok but 1080p may not play smoothly. So a presentation on a projector should run just fine.

masotime

Your points are sound based upon the usage patterns you've described. I think the ThinkPad 2 is a good choice for your use case. I guess you've already purchased it?

Yes, I've read it. The reviewer doesn't really know how to do a proper use case review. Technical review was reasonable.

The ThinkPad 2 is meant for business usage where the heaviest software is likely PowerPoint. Business users don't need Core i5/7. Core i3 would be nice but unnecessary.

Reviewer didn't mention the Stylus is Wacom type & ssd is self encrypting allowing salespeople to use it as a POS system + data can be stored without fear of data being stolen. Most important, the battery life is 8-10hrs which is great for mobile business users.

The reviewer also didn't mention if video output to FHD TV was reasonable or not. Based on experience, 720p video should be ok but 1080p may not play smoothly. So a presentation on a projector should run just fine.

masotime

cool... did you move the recovery to a thumbdrive to save space?

what make u buy type cover instead of touch cover?

i dun have amex card to buy sian

Nope I haven't had a need for more space at the moment. I've tried the touch cover before, and it's difficult to get used to for typing... no tactile feel.

On the flip side though, the type cover is significantly thicker...

Reborns

Nope I haven't had a need for more space at the moment. I've tried the touch cover before, and it's difficult to get used to for typing... no tactile feel.

On the flip side though, the type cover is significantly thicker...

i see
but the surface pro already thick.. and u add type cover
it become thicker

can you use ur surface and play a continous video and see how long does it last? :p

E_T

Your points are sound based upon the usage patterns you've described. I think the ThinkPad 2 is a good choice for your use case. I guess you've already purchased it?
Yes, I've been analyzing the use case for Surface Pro & Thinkpad 2. I still prefer the Surface Pro for everything it can do but battery life isn't good enough especially since it's not user replaceable.

The reviewer was struggling to see why anyone would want a Atom power tablet.

No I haven't bought one. As a business user I need the assurance that is the machine breaks down, I have a warranty or a service center that can repair it. Tablets are still too new for Sim Lim Sq to repair properly I think.

game goondu

It actually came on Tuesday, but I've been pretty busy so I didn't get to play much with it. The screen is much better than the Surface RT's.

Some pics (unfortunately my photography is pretty bad):

You'll notice the pen that magnetically attaches on the right:

iy4lJLtdvMcFc.jpg

Chrome on the Surface Pro. Most pages default to 100% scaling however, but 150% is generally more useable (top is 150%, bottom is 100%):

ibtXAxksVCnmJY.jpg

The type cover came in a separate package from the Pro itself:

i2JSGc5hOp1hi.jpg

thanks for sharing... so total price come up (+ shipping + GST) to how muchie SGD?

game goondu

i saw the $1530... just wasn't sure whether it include shipping from us to singapore and singapore GST.

masotime

How to buy surface pro?
The microsoft store US is out of stock now...

Hmmm... it's in very high demand unfortunately. If you really need it now you'll have to buy it off eBay at a premium, unless you know someone in the US would could help you check the local stores for one.

lekguan

My surface type cover stopped working suddenly... Gone through a chat with MS support, done everything short of a refresh, but refresh is really a hassle. Any kind soul willing to lend me his surface for a moment to try on my type cover??? :(

sukhoi37

Hmmm... it's in very high demand unfortunately. If you really need it now you'll have to buy it off eBay at a premium, unless you know someone in the US would could help you check the local stores for one.

Bestbuy have stock now, the price is same as RRP USD999 for 128gb
Submitted order 3 times, all got cancelled...
I followed exactly for international order and ship to Comgateway but still failed sia...

Amazon selling for USD12++, crazy

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.