Microsoft Surface

Ray1976

If your usage hasn't been changed but your Surface Pro 3 is running "less hot" and more stable...it could be that your Surface Pro 3 have updated to the latest Sep firmware release which address among other things..."overheat" and Wi-fi dropouts...

Here's an excerpt of the Sep firmware released...if you haven't update yet, hit the PC Settings and check for Updates now...

September Surface Pro 3 Firmware Update: What’s Included?

Here is the complete list of what’s included in the firmware update:

1 Surface Pro UEFI update (v3.10.250.0): Hopefully this will improve system experience and enhances overall system stability, especially Wi-Fi.

2 Surface Pro Embedded Controller Firmware update (v38.6.50.0): An enhanced support for system performance and user experience, including thermostat icon on boot.

3 Surface Pro System Aggregator Firmware update (v3.9.350.0): Should increase the overall system reliability and compatibility with a Surface cover.

4 Surface Integration driver update (v2.0.1102.0): Will enhance user experience, including Wi-Fi stability.

5 Surface Wi-Fi and Bluetooth driver update (v15.68.3055.107): Intended to improve Wi-Fi/ Bluetooth reliability and system stability, and significantly enhances the user experience.

:)

purpleberry

I tried to use IE in the last few days but still prefer Chrome. Can't get used to IE somehow. You can try limiting your processor speed to 50%. It no longer feels hot but can get warm sometimes due to updates in the background.

BlackTribal

The courier from some company finally came to take my surface pro 3 . Let's hope they don't choot pattern and refund me in full, promptly.

I am thinking of buying another one but after experiencing such service support, i am really thinking if I should .

Should have return my type cover too.......now have to see who wants to buy it.....may let go at 40% discount. :s8:

Ur type cover still avail? Colour?

miragez

Hi all,

After updating my SP3, I still dun find any differences made. I wonder if Microsoft capabilities to be able to tweak software perform on a hardware versus an hardware issues with the U series chip not able to reduce any heat or performance further?

Beside this I am still exploring on glass SP, I tried adix82 classy tampered glass but when viewing at the edges... it kinda make the SP3 looks weird... my eyes and distraction is always on it. :s13: The EDGEs!!!

Well I happen to got this from the guy at sls lvl 5, I went ahead and made my sides with the skins as well :s12:

Do note I spend my dmg on adix82 glass protector as well, I would say it is not bad if you can ignore the distraction and asking "why is it not made till the edges"

Anyway this is how my SP3 is like now with glass protector... The differences between adix32 and the lvl 5 guy is thinner and it reach to the edge nicely. But do note... I been told that glass piece near the edge will cause some bubble but it will dissolve over time.

The edges !!! now it looks better

2vtut82.jpg

The speaker edges looks better as well ( well you can see my air-con hahaha )

2d0dp4n.jpg

The camera portion

2chuann.jpg

So you want to see what bubble I was refering to this... If you look careful... there is like a lifting near the edge... This is at the left side of the SP3 when the screen is facing you.

atm4oo.jpg

My opinion so far, it you looking at a full edge glass protector this is like a tip for you. Sometimes it will never come as perfect as I may want but its also a give and take.

The current choice of glass protector right now local in the market

- adix82
- the lvl5 guy by the name of Nicholas.

Note: I am a user sharing my personal experience and where I had done it, I am not selling anything here.

Hi all,

After updating my SP3, I still dun find any differences made. I wonder if Microsoft capabilities to be able to tweak software perform on a hardware versus an hardware issues with the U series chip not able to reduce any heat or performance further?

Beside this I am still exploring on glass SP, I tried adix82 classy tampered glass but when viewing at the edges... it kinda make the SP3 looks weird... my eyes and distraction is always on it. :s13: The EDGEs!!!

Well I happen to got this from the guy at sls lvl 5, I went ahead and made my sides with the skins as well :s12:

Do note I spend my dmg on adix82 glass protector as well, I would say it is not bad if you can ignore the distraction and asking "why is it not made till the edges"

Anyway this is how my SP3 is like now with glass protector... The differences between adix32 and the lvl 5 guy is thinner and it reach to the edge nicely. But do note... I been told that glass piece near the edge will cause some bubble but it will dissolve over time.

The edges !!! now it looks better

2vtut82.jpg

The speaker edges looks better as well ( well you can see my air-con hahaha )

2d0dp4n.jpg

The camera portion

2chuann.jpg

So you want to see what bubble I was refering to this... If you look careful... there is like a lifting near the edge... This is at the left side of the SP3 when the screen is facing you.

atm4oo.jpg

My opinion so far, it you looking at a full edge glass protector this is like a tip for you. Sometimes it will never come as perfect as I may want but its also a give and take.

The current choice of glass protector right now local in the market

- adix82
- the lvl5 guy by the name of Nicholas.

Note: I am a user sharing my personal experience and where I had done it, I am not selling anything here.

Thanks for sharing! I'm still waiting for the glass protector that big mango has ordered. When I have installed it, i'll post some picks too!

mako140

Can anyone advice on the Microsoft Complete extended warranty? Is it worth it to buy? If Microsoft one too expensive, I will thinking alternatively buy those Challenger, Best Denki or Harvey Norman extended warranty that also covers 100% just like the initial 1st year.

Can anyone advice which should I get from ? Challenger, Best Denki or Harvey Norman? Anyone have experience of claiming extended warranty from these 3? Which is better? ... in term of coverage and service....

fuzleh

Go get microsoft complete extended warranty better. Think about it. If touch wood something happen to your sp3, are the technicians at bd, hn, or courts qualifed/experienced enough to open and repair your sp3?:s13:

miragez

Can anyone advice on the Microsoft Complete extended warranty? Is it worth it to buy? If Microsoft one too expensive, I will thinking alternatively buy those Challenger, Best Denki or Harvey Norman extended warranty that also covers 100% just like the initial 1st year.

Can anyone advice which should I get from ? Challenger, Best Denki or Harvey Norman? Anyone have experience of claiming extended warranty from these 3? Which is better? ... in term of coverage and service....

As spoken in pm, mine was bought online from ms

go to Microsoft, at any point those retail store can never help you out when you meet a crisis. After all, their channels will still head towards Microsoft for support. Instead of 1 week resolution to your case, why not shorten it... go direct to Microsoft.

datbac2

Hi!!

Anyone here knows if the apple mini display port to VGA adapter will work with the Surface pro 3 and Surface pro 3 docking station?

mako140

Not sure how much for MS Complete. But I just found out from Challenger that their Star Shield, $225 covers additional 2 years warranty (i.e. total 3 years). It covers everything same as the 1st year. What they do is that they will send the unit to MS to repair and they bear the cost. If beyond economical repair, they will replace you with a brand new unit. Sound good to me.

Any person bought from Challenger?

mako140

Just called microsoft... its $229 for additional 1 year warranty .... seems like Challenger one most worth....

cy

Just called microsoft... its $229 for additional 1 year warranty .... seems like Challenger one most worth....

I just got mine from MS. Got to get it through phone. Website cannot purchase. My recommendation is still to get the Microsoft Complete Warranty. 3rd Party Extended Warranty does not bind MS down to any service and repair. If Challenger play games with you, then sian liao.......

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.