Mid Life Reflection

langford

Why not buy another place in a better spot? Give it a couple of years, flog it for a bit of profit, then see what you fancy doing after that.

MoeLanYong

Just sold off my FH 3 bedder. 45yr old.

Now sitting on $1.1m in cash and $0.815m in cpf (500k ordinary, 75k medi, 240k special)

Am I doing ok?

Any good advice on how to invest my cash+cpf?

I am slightly older than you. If I offload my 999 3 bedder, my profile will look something like yours too. I think I am just average or below average.

Should invest back in a property/home. If you want some challenge, use some cash to buy an overseas pty to collect rent. I did that at 45.

Coffeelix

Now sitting on $1.1m in cash and $0.815m in cpf (500k ordinary, 75k medi, 240k special)

Am I doing ok?

Take all the $500 in OA and your cash sale proceeds to buy a 2 to 3 bedrooms freehold walk up apartment for passive income in a good location.

If u ain’t in govt employment,
there is a good chance of losing your job after age 40 with little to no chance of finding another replacement
Then the passive income will b your family’s life line.

jeremy1980

Take all the $500 in OA and your cash sale proceeds to buy a 2 to 3 bedrooms freehold walk up apartment for passive income in a good location.

If u ain’t in govt employment,
there is a good chance of losing your job after age 40 with little to no chance of finding another replacement
Then the passive income will b your family’s life line.
I'm thinking of maybe getting a old but bigger apartment which can be refurbished into 4 or 5 mini studio for rent.

jeremy1980

I am slightly older than you. If I offload my 999 3 bedder, my profile will look something like yours too. I think I am just average or below average.

Should invest back in a property/home. If you want some challenge, use some cash to buy an overseas pty to collect rent. I did that at 45.
Which country u invested in?

Coffeelix

Sounds good.
In all property investments, location location and location should be the main consideration for the purchase for rental and future capital gains

KPO_SAHM

Am I doing ok?

Gold if U intend to pass down to kids.

MoeLanYong

How do u manage ur overseas property. I don't like the lack of control for overseas property and have to leave it at the mercy of your overseas agent.

I am the opposite. I dun want hassle. I kena before in Sg where a tenant call me go down fix a lightbulb. Australia has a system where a property manager runs the place for owners. They source for tenants, ensures tenants pay and then inspect the property every 3 months - this part important else tenant trash my place. This way, my property is properly upkept. Can last many many years.

6% ROI. Not bad. 7% next year. Will fund my retirement together with CPF Life.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.