Mid Life Reflection

aarontansp

Just sold off my FH 3 bedder. 45yr old.

Now sitting on $1.1m in cash and $0.815m in cpf (500k ordinary, 75k medi, 240k special)

Am I doing ok?

Any good advice on how to invest my cash+cpf?
No need sell house
a-million.jpg

Spike

I'm thinking of maybe getting a old but bigger apartment which can be refurbished into 4 or 5 mini studio for rent.
Not advisable to sell high, buy high..

If you were to downsize, you can still maintain the liquidity advantage.

If you were to upgrade, the current cycle is near the property peak with a high likelihood of an economic downturn.

$1M cash sounds a lot but not so much if you were to put in everything and more into your next property.

jeremy1980

Not advisable to sell high, buy high..

If you were to downsize, you can still maintain the liquidity advantage.

If you were to upgrade, the current cycle is near the property peak with a high likelihood of an economic downturn.

$1M cash sounds a lot but not so much if you were to put in everything and more into your next property.
You r right. At the current property market prices, $1m can't buy anything decent.

Hello_Kitty

I renovated my parents hse for them and I moved back to stay with them. Rental free. Car-less also. Zero liability now.
how can be zero dependant when u have 3 kids??? with 3 kids, your cash will be depleted within 15 years

s_mario

u alone or include your wife?

normal i feel if its including wife. me ard same age as u..

as a family i siting on close to 1 million in cash , got a house close to 1 million house and cpf around 700k..

Coffeelix

You r right. At the current property market prices, $1m can't buy anything decent.
Can get shoes box units at telok kurau.
My friend bought one a few years ago at $600+ and leased for more than $2k.
Can buy 2 if can get at $800+ .
Can lease instantly
Won’t be at the mercy of mini stir red tapes
I m encouraging my son n his gf to get one and stays with us after their marriage.
Use their cpf to service the mortgage and use the rental and savings to pay down the principal annually to make it an atm for life sooner.
They won’t have problems even they were to be retrenched in their 40s after paying up.
Cash not invested wiil devalue with inflation.

coyote

Now sitting on $1.1m in cash and $0.815m in cpf (500k ordinary, 75k medi, 240k special)

Am I doing ok?

Buy another 4 bedder? Then flip again?

jeremy1980

Can get shoes box units at telok kurau.
My friend bought one a few years ago at $600+ and leased for more than $2k.
Can buy 2 if can get at $800+ .
Can lease instantly
Won’t be at the mercy of mini stir red tapes
I m encouraging my son n his gf to get one and stays with us after their marriage.
Use their cpf to service the mortgage and use the rental and savings to pay down the principal annually to make it an atm for life sooner.
They won’t have problems even they were to be retrenched in their 40s after paying up.
Cash not invested wiil devalue with inflation.
I can't buy 2 at one go. The 20% absd is crazy. I would be buying a bigger apartment if I'm gg to.

Cmonster

Am I doing ok?

No need sell house
a-million.jpg

why you all show off here

all the BBFA anti PAP people cannot sleep tonight

because they say Singapore is so jialat so jialat and their life is so bad in Singapore

Teyemittisi

Sounds like you have no kids. Why the heck are you hoarding so much money? Give to niece and nephew? Just splurge lah
Why splurge on niece and nephews? Should just splurge on us … your true friends… we teach you how to spend and be happy

Lchlch

Am I doing ok?

You are on retirement mode?

lampano

Am I doing ok?

Nah pls if u have that amount u wouldnt waste time asking here.

Lunch break over get back to drive yr grab later missout yr incentive

Teyemittisi

Sinkies are all quite well off.. I think TS profile is very healthy for his age. As long as stay employed, no major illlness, still need plan for kids future education. Otherwise, nothing to worry about….. except….. the risks of getting pawned by WC

jeremy1980

Nah pls if u have that amount u wouldnt waste time asking here.

Lunch break over get back to drive yr grab later missout yr incentive
To believe or not to believe it's up to you. Don't nid to prove to you. U happy can already.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.