Mid Life Reflection

The_Davis

I renovated my parents hse for them and I moved back to stay with them. Rental free. Car-less also. Zero liability now.
Wah Lao. Rent free? Then how many persons move in with parents?

Joe Maya

I renovated my parents hse for them and I moved back to stay with them. Rental free. Car-less also. Zero liability now.

Sound just like me.

Only con I stupid become the 3rd owner of my parent flat and need fork out 60k to remove my name from it.

NardinJohn

Can get shoes box units at telok kurau.
My friend bought one a few years ago at $600+ and leased for more than $2k.
Can buy 2 if can get at $800+ .
Can lease instantly
Won’t be at the mercy of mini stir red tapes
I m encouraging my son n his gf to get one and stays with us after their marriage.
Use their cpf to service the mortgage and use the rental and savings to pay down the principal annually to make it an atm for life sooner.
They won’t have problems even they were to be retrenched in their 40s after paying up.
Cash not invested wiil devalue with inflation.
Bro no offend what if gf tell son stay away 两人世界…

askxyz

mid life crisis are for those who follow the norm to fill their void in life until nothing left to fill the remaining void then they start to question life's meaning :o

NardinJohn

Just sold off my FH 3 bedder. 45yr old.

Now sitting on $1.1m in cash and $0.815m in cpf (500k ordinary, 75k medi, 240k special)

Am I doing ok?

Any good advice on how to invest my cash+cpf?
Put the cash aside for your 3 kids education fees till U unless you had saving policy for them with your active income. Arbo FD lor lowest risk 12 months later you can award your family to a handsome holiday like Switzerland 😀. If no intention to buy next property invest your OA and SA thou wealth management but hor don’t be so suay like me buy one month later tio Lehman Bros and waited 8 years to break even 😭Don’t say not possible my early investment during 2003 yield 100% after 6 yrs ( I was still a noob and rookie) anyway sometimes is not really necessary to do investment … things might just gone south

Coffeelix

Put the cash aside for your 3 kids education fees till U unless you had saving policy for them with your active income. Arbo FD lor lowest risk 12 months later you can award your family to a handsome holiday like Switzerland 😀. If no intention to buy next property invest your OA and SA thou wealth management but hor don’t be so suay like me buy one month later tio Lehman Bros and waited 8 years to break even 😭Don’t say not possible my early investment during 2003 yield 100% after 6 yrs ( I was still a noob and rookie) anyway sometimes is not really necessary to do investment … things might just gone south
Don’t need to worry about kids education funds.

If I were ts, I will pull his and wife funds together and buys a freehold landed…
The wife needs to sell her pte property.
In land scare sg, only freehold land will appreciate non stop …
When ts needs $ for his kids education, can always cash out using his landed or use his cpf…
Mortgage has the lowest interest rates …

eyz

Just sold off my FH 3 bedder. 45yr old.

Now sitting on $1.1m in cash and $0.815m in cpf (500k ordinary, 75k medi, 240k special)

Am I doing ok?

Any good advice on how to invest my cash+cpf?

you 45 this year?

me also 45, and got my 1st child.

a solution to your crisis, that will keep you busy and gave your new "motivation" for the next 15 to 20 years.

ralliart_ray

I am the opposite. I dun want hassle. I kena before in Sg where a tenant call me go down fix a lightbulb. Australia has a system where a property manager runs the place for owners. They source for tenants, ensures tenants pay and then inspect the property every 3 months - this part important else tenant trash my place. This way, my property is properly upkept. Can last many many years.

6% ROI. Not bad. 7% next year. Will fund my retirement together with CPF Life.

aussie dollar BKY leh

jeremy1980

you 45 this year?

me also 45, and got my 1st child.

a solution to your crisis, that will keep you busy and gave your new "motivation" for the next 15 to 20 years.
I never say I'm in mid Life crisis wor. Doing reflection only.

What solution are u talking about? No head no tail.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.