Millionaire Investing program

dolph001

other than the books n some notes n homework u got from the 4kcourse,
do u find the 3day course meaningful? beneficial?
does it help for u to start your investment?

they brag about the case studies they will do in the 3day course and potential multi bagger the company will be in the future when u buy those stock when market crisis.
and their formula to calculate the intrinsic value. did they provide u the s/w, formula etc?
do you find this info correct after u attend?

I did not attend the course, someone else did and gave me a review of what was taught. Everything that they taught can be found in the books, especially Value investing for BEGINNERS. The 3 days are mainly spent talking about case studies after case studies.

They use DCF and P/E to calculate intrinsic value -- just go investopedia.

deadravel

I did not attend the course, someone else did and gave me a review of what was taught. Everything that they taught can be found in the books, especially Value investing for BEGINNERS. The 3 days are mainly spent talking about case studies after case studies.

thx. understand dy.
so basically they are selling the community and collaboration, selling u hands-on experience, and mentor and guide u step by step how u gonna do the research.
they not selling any secret formula to calculate which u cant find online.

Perisher

are these the same persons that u see everytime? lol

anyway their marketing and preaching really very stale, after so many years still talking and gpgt the same things

i think perisher mod can also sell course next year by just showing this year records and his europe trip photo :D

Ya, actually quite simple, show your account got 10k in 2010, show your account got 100k 3 years later, and then brag about your course able to increase wealth 10x within 3 years. Then show you have been to Europe or US... Bingo. :s13:

Then 1 year later, earn enough $$ from the students, upgrade to 300k from 100k, shows you can increase wealth 3x within 1 year. Slowly build till millionaire and then can put the millionaire tag. Should be able to do it within 5-6 years if the course sells.
300k-100k = 200k, so you just need 50 students to attend your 4k course to do it.

dolph001

Ya, actually quite simple, show your account got 10k in 2010, show your account got 100k 3 years later, and then brag about your course able to increase wealth 10x within 3 years. Then show you have been to Europe or US... Bingo. :s13:

Then 1 year later, earn enough $$ from the students, upgrade to 300k from 100k, shows you can increase wealth 3x within 1 year. Slowly build till millionaire and then can put the millionaire tag. Should be able to do it within 5-6 years if the course sells.
300k-100k = 200k, so you just need 50 students to attend your 4k course to do it.

It's really easy to earn big bucks as a trainer actually.

My conscience can't allow me to cheat people.

RolexKing88

From the reviews i think most of the materials can be learnt online. Is just all about discipline.

WindBoi

the thing is.... as trainers we also have to start from somewhere. even if you go wharton school, which i got to know one value fund analyst who went, todd combs (buffetts manager) just tell him to read read read read and more read.

case studies are good to drive home the different variation you need to see companies. knowing how to calculate is one thing. A PE of 10 is great and undervalue for one but very expensive for another.

how do you connect the dots.

if you are able to comprehend everything from books yourself, then great. from my personal experience, a lot of my growth in understanding happens when i speak to someone more experienced and listen intently what they are trying to say and understand. then i realise its so different then reading the book once and saying i am ready.

WindBoi

From the reviews i think most of the materials can be learnt online. Is just all about discipline.

its also about how critical of a thinker and what you understand that needs to be successful in this. reading and applying are 2 different things.

havetheveryfun

i think for this kind of course the most important thing is to have good after-support.. like a closed group for the members after the course is over and they can ask questions and clarify their doubts either for free or for a small yearly fee.. then only it will be worth it

WindBoi

i think for this kind of course the most important thing is to have good after-support.. like a closed group for the members after the course is over and they can ask questions and clarify their doubts either for free or for a small yearly fee.. then only it will be worth it

i did not attend the course, but through my dealings with the people they do help them form mastermind group.

in fact some of their graduates group their friends together to do financial statements analysis, company prospecting.

the people there try to look from business perspective, but what i realize is that there is very little emphasis on valuation.

overall when i look at their graduates there are more pros than cons. the mastermind group holds them together, but as always if you dont do the work you gain nothing out of it.

i believe many are there to hear 8I's stock recommendations.

dolph001

the thing is.... as trainers we also have to start from somewhere. even if you go wharton school, which i got to know one value fund analyst who went, todd combs (buffetts manager) just tell him to read read read read and more read.

case studies are good to drive home the different variation you need to see companies. knowing how to calculate is one thing. A PE of 10 is great and undervalue for one but very expensive for another.

how do you connect the dots.

if you are able to comprehend everything from books yourself, then great. from my personal experience, a lot of my growth in understanding happens when i speak to someone more experienced and listen intently what they are trying to say and understand. then i realise its so different then reading the book once and saying i am ready.

Actually the book I quoted is given authored by Ken Chee. So one could buy his book instead of going for his overpriced course.

Depth of understanding and experience can come from elsewhere instead of paying $4k,

weird

Actually the book I quoted is given authored by Ken Chee. So one could buy his book instead of going for his overpriced course.

Depth of understanding and experience can come from elsewhere instead of paying $4k,

eg1
Given the same book to 2 or more people, after reading are all the people can understand it exactly the same as each other?
Diff ppl will interpret it diff due to their diff environment and culture they grow up in.
Just look at the sch text book, 40ppl read the same book but their exam result can be so diff. Some can comprehend it but most unable to scold well.

eg2
Do you think you can read a book faster than watching/ listening?
I read Lord of the Ring the whole 3 books, it took me 3 weeks during my NS days. I watch the 3 movies, and it took me half a day.
Having someone to make all the mistake, read alot of books, went for many courses, and time/ money/ self control/ effort they put in, after that they summarize it for it. That's the fastest way to learn something.

Of cos taking courses does not confirm you sure huat. It takes time and self control to keep "practising" the stroke over and over again till you can execute it with closed eyes.

dolph001

eg1
Given the same book to 2 or more people, after reading are all the people can understand it exactly the same as each other?
Diff ppl will interpret it diff due to their diff environment and culture they grow up in.
Just look at the sch text book, 40ppl read the same book but their exam result can be so diff. Some can comprehend it but most unable to scold well.

eg2
Do you think you can read a book faster than watching/ listening?
I read Lord of the Ring the whole 3 books, it took me 3 weeks during my NS days. I watch the 3 movies, and it took me half a day.
Having someone to make all the mistake, read alot of books, went for many courses, and time/ money/ self control/ effort they put in, after that they summarize it for it. That's the fastest way to learn something.

Of cos taking courses does not confirm you sure huat. It takes time and self control to keep "practising" the stroke over and over again till you can execute it with closed eyes.

I don't see a point in discussing whether taking courses or reading books are better as TS is clearly asking for review of the course. It would be best if one can apply what he learnt, whether from courses or from books. Otherwise, whatever knowledge he has accumulated will be for naught.

If you want to learn about investing, learn from the best - Warren Buffett. Who did Warren learn from? Benjamin Graham and Philip Fisher. So read the writings of these 3 investing legends. If you can understand and apply their ideas, you will not do poorly, and it is possible that you may do very well indeed.

Buffett's writings:
Berkshire Hathaway shareholder letters
The Essays of Warren Buffett (a compilation of the same letters by Lawrence Cunningham)

Graham's writings:
The Intelligent Investor (a must-read for everyone)
Security Analysis (for professionals)

Fisher's writings:
Common Stocks and Uncommon Profits

As for the investment courses, are they run by investors with easily verified track records? That should give you a clue as to whether the speakers/trainers actually know how to invest. Showing proof of dividend cheques are useless. Trainers can easily accumulate $1M from courses, buy a high yielding REIT and show you the dividend cheques, but are they really buying good companies as per what they preached?

If one so chooses to go for courses, there are definitely cheaper courses out there, eg. Fifth person (less than $500), Value Investing College (~$2k).

By the way, don't expect to get rich quick from investing. Investing can compound money to many times its original sum, but if you start with a very small sum, it's not going to matter much. To get money for investing you'll need a job that pays enough that you can put aside money to invest. So first concentrate on increasing your earning power before you think about investing.

1. Work hard to increase your income
2. Reduce unnecessary expenses to increase your savings
3. Invest wisely to increase your net worth.

Note the sequence. Investing is not top priority for most.

wahkao3

you know why these courses dont work for some ppl? let me tell you why

People not willing put in the effort to research. Most just want quick money with little effort

The other day i was teaching 1 fren how i do my research. When i told him i can analyse a company within 10 seconds, he was delighted and wanted to learn more.

The problem is.... before analysis, I need to collect data. go through mountains of disclosure and filings past and present. So each company takes maybe 2 hrs. Yes, true, the analysis itself only takes 10 seconds. As part of my teaching, I asked him to try out on a company as practice.

He Immediately criticise my method cannot work. My analysis method is wrong. he say that his charting method is much more accurate and faster

the truth is he is just plain lazy to put in the effort.

focus1974

it is never about the course. it is about the person who is investing/trading.
So, don't spend too much on a course.

Better to use the $4k and learn On the Job.

If not, i already said so many times... SGX Academy offers very affordable Basic/beginner even intermediate and advanced level financial courses.

WindBoi

sorry didn't know he had a book!

WindBoi

I don't see a point in discussing whether taking courses or reading books are better as TS is clearly asking for review of the course. It would be best if one can apply what he learnt, whether from courses or from books. Otherwise, whatever knowledge he has accumulated will be for naught.

If you want to learn about investing, learn from the best - Warren Buffett. Who did Warren learn from? Benjamin Graham and Philip Fisher. So read the writings of these 3 investing legends. If you can understand and apply their ideas, you will not do poorly, and it is possible that you may do very well indeed.

Buffett's writings:
Berkshire Hathaway shareholder letters
The Essays of Warren Buffett (a compilation of the same letters by Lawrence Cunningham)

Graham's writings:
The Intelligent Investor (a must-read for everyone)
Security Analysis (for professionals)

Fisher's writings:
Common Stocks and Uncommon Profits

As for the investment courses, are they run by investors with easily verified track records? That should give you a clue as to whether the speakers/trainers actually know how to invest. Showing proof of dividend cheques are useless. Trainers can easily accumulate $1M from courses, buy a high yielding REIT and show you the dividend cheques, but are they really buying good companies as per what they preached?

If one so chooses to go for courses, there are definitely cheaper courses out there, eg. Fifth person (less than $500), Value Investing College (~$2k).

By the way, don't expect to get rich quick from investing. Investing can compound money to many times its original sum, but if you start with a very small sum, it's not going to matter much. To get money for investing you'll need a job that pays enough that you can put aside money to invest. So first concentrate on increasing your earning power before you think about investing.

1. Work hard to increase your income
2. Reduce unnecessary expenses to increase your savings
3. Invest wisely to increase your net worth.

Note the sequence. Investing is not top priority for most.

if i were advising people, i would agree with almost all you just said with the exception of one point.

sometimes a good teacher may not be a good practitioner. the best teacher might not be the primary school teacher but the student who manage to graduate well to a higher level.

WindBoi

you know why these courses dont work for some ppl? let me tell you why

People not willing put in the effort to research. Most just want quick money with little effort

The other day i was teaching 1 fren how i do my research. When i told him i can analyse a company within 10 seconds, he was delighted and wanted to learn more.

The problem is.... before analysis, I need to collect data. go through mountains of disclosure and filings past and present. So each company takes maybe 2 hrs. Yes, true, the analysis itself only takes 10 seconds. As part of my teaching, I asked him to try out on a company as practice.

He Immediately criticise my method cannot work. My analysis method is wrong. he say that his charting method is much more accurate and faster

the truth is he is just plain lazy to put in the effort.

what i get a lot from the comments and email is that, people will ask me where do i get concise data and metrics in companies for free.

in a talk we conducted not too long ago, someone boldly comment that reading annual reports is boring.

active investing requires a certain amount of rigor. there are some of these things you can automate. they could purchase shareinvestor data. but before you do, you still need the rigor to understand what it means.

however, goign through many case studies does help compare to just reading a book for some people.

but i realize the expectation of the work required and what is actually done is different.

it doesn't help when everyone kept screaming PASSIVE INCOME.

jerots

Hi guys, I graduated from this programme few months ago and I can give some feedback.

3-day MIP course
It's my first exposure to investing, and this programme has set a pretty good foundation for me. The 3-day MIP course itself is very fundamental (pun intended), targetted for audience of all age groups and experience.

I agree the 3k cost is expensive, but i believe it has saved me a lot of fear, time, and effort on learning it on my own from the web.

Comparison with my uni club's syllabus
My uni has a club that teaches both fundamental and technical analysis. It helped build further understanding from what i learned in MIP. However i daresay, if i had not attended MIP beforehand, I would have been lost during the fundamental lessons.

After-support
I have been impressed with the amount of after-support I received. We are free to attend tutorials to refresh what we learned in MIP, however the most important part is not the tutorial but the mastermind groups we form to discuss cases. The coaches are knowledgeable. Every single tutorial you attend, and coach you access are FREE. This makes the $3k-$4k+ initial course fee more worth it.

The amount of after-support sometimes make me wonder if they will someday stop/reduce it, to free the avenue or manpower for more profit-driving activities.

Sinkie

Hi guys, I graduated from this programme few months ago and I can give some feedback.

3-day MIP course
It's my first exposure to investing, and this programme has set a pretty good foundation for me. The 3-day MIP course itself is very fundamental (pun intended), targetted for audience of all age groups and experience.

I agree the 3k cost is expensive, but i believe it has saved me a lot of fear, time, and effort on learning it on my own from the web.

Comparison with my uni club's syllabus
My uni has a club that teaches both fundamental and technical analysis. It helped build further understanding from what i learned in MIP. However i daresay, if i had not attended MIP beforehand, I would have been lost during the fundamental lessons.

After-support
I have been impressed with the amount of after-support I received. We are free to attend tutorials to refresh what we learned in MIP, however the most important part is not the tutorial but the mastermind groups we form to discuss cases. The coaches are knowledgeable. Every single tutorial you attend, and coach you access are FREE. This makes the $3k-$4k+ initial course fee more worth it.

The amount of after-support sometimes make me wonder if they will someday stop/reduce it, to free the avenue or manpower for more profit-driving activities.

Are you a millionaire already?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.