Minix Neo G4

Sambuca78

hmm.. I went down with my ang moh friend today, and he bought a standalone g4 @ $140 only. no cloud iptv from amconics. the tall china guy say cybermind only got few demo set, so buy from them also cannot get much warranty and exchange. but if buy from amconics, can get 1-to-1 exchange anytime with T&Cs of course haha. dunno true or not, wait my set spoil first den can prove his claim.

So u bot it from amconics? X5 how much? Thanks.

nats7798

Their so-called exclusive cloud iptv apk is kinda like what you see in those china media player's interface. The main menu have all the different pictures of the movies / series, and there's a page showing all the latest updated titles (some what similar to tom365.com or 51f3.cn main page).

Same thing, you can choose different category and also got a search function. Buffering wise, i'm using starhub fibre, so its very smooth even at night / peak hours.

Quality, you can choose the different sizes available for each title : 500mb / 1G / 1.5G. My bro is using singtel fibre, and works smoothly too. Slight buffering which can be solved with the PAUSE /PLAY button haha.

It comes pre-installed together with registration code @ $199, sitex price.

Cons.
Some bugs here and there. Cannot update to latest version as it's even more buggy. Sometimes a message " iptv player has failed" appears, and you'll have to restart the program again. That's why have to press NO everytime you open the cloud iptv program as it'll prompt you for update.

There's only 2.4gb of space for streaming, and you'll have to clear the data with their xdroid cleaner program.

Lastly, this application is a paid app, meaning without their registration code, you can only watch your titles for 10mins each session and it'll auto close. Cost around $69 to buy this application from amconics though. That's why i bought another player $140 for my bro, then we share the application.

i will stick to PPS and sopcast (soccer live) instead..

Biosector

i will stick to PPS and sopcast (soccer live) instead..

Nah, tried PPS and PPTV on my iphone, sucks. All the old titles even my grandmother also don't watch LOL. This at least got Skyfall, Premium Rush, Taichi, twilight 4 (soon i guess). Update super fast especially the US & HK drama. Chasing 大太监, 名媛望族 and many more hahaha. Was satisfied with PPS and PPTV previously till they suddenly remove all the good titles. My bro last night sibei bo liao, watching lord of the rings trilogy with G4 in blu-ray.. 2 rooms apart also can hear the vibrations LOL.

|HunterX|

Nah, tried PPS and PPTV on my iphone, sucks. All the old titles even my grandmother also don't watch LOL. This at least got Skyfall, Premium Rush, Taichi, twilight 4 (soon i guess). Update super fast especially the US & HK drama. Chasing 大太监, 名媛望族 and many more hahaha. Was satisfied with PPS and PPTV previously till they suddenly remove all the good titles. My bro last night sibei bo liao, watching lord of the rings trilogy with G4 in blu-ray.. 2 rooms apart also can hear the vibrations LOL.

Just watched on G4 today-----> Last Resort Episode 9, Walking Dead 3 finale. Shiok.

Nights all~

P.S. Jiao wei. Must be ur bro on tv too loud la. Hahaha

Drexter

I am glad to report in that my Minix Neo X5 arrived in exactly 8 days from time of order.

Quick update & review:

1. Skype works out of the box with my Prolink Webcam for both video & the onboard microphone on the Prolink. My video exhibits a slight tinge of green but works nevertheless.
2. XBMC works but no hardware acceleration. Full HD video is challenging. Using XBMC ver 12 Froyo.
3. The default remote cannot make it.
4. The RC11 is better... but still cannot beat the friendliness of a touch screen.
5. Android version of Funshion does not has drama & some of the HK drama.
6. Kuai Shou - US Drama & HK Drama works well.
7. Kuai Shou Watch movie - listed as a system software & failed to be updated to latest version to work.
8. To explore which media player supports hardware acceleration.
9. To explore how to auto start up Skype when X5 boots up.
10. To explore how to change to the default Android screen instead of the Minix screen.
8 days from where?

coyote

I am glad to report in that my Minix Neo X5 arrived in exactly 8 days from time of order.

Quick update & review:

1. Skype works out of the box with my Prolink Webcam for both video & the onboard microphone on the Prolink. My video exhibits a slight tinge of green but works nevertheless.
2. XBMC works but no hardware acceleration. Full HD video is challenging. Using XBMC ver 12 Froyo.
3. The default remote cannot make it.
4. The RC11 is better... but still cannot beat the friendliness of a touch screen.
5. Android version of Funshion does not has US drama & some of the HK drama.
6. Kuai Shou - US Drama & HK Drama works well.
7. Kuai Shou Watch movie - listed as a system software & failed to be updated to latest version to work.
8. To explore which media player supports hardware acceleration.
9. To explore how to auto start up Skype when X5 boots up.
10. To explore how to change to the default Android screen instead of the Minix screen.
11. MX Player enabled hardware acceleration for HD video playback. Cool.
12. File Explorer does not have option to save Samba/Windows share credential. Install ES explorer?
13. To explorer auto samba mount to my NAS, just like fstab in linux.
14. To explorer mythtv client to watch HD5 from my linux myrhtv server.

coyote

Yes. That's how I knew the item arrived this morning & I called DHL to arrange the delivery between 3~6pm today.

Were you given a tracking number for DHL?

coyote

Can someone share how to switch to the 'stock Android launcher' instead of the super big icons of the Minix Launcher? I search all over the web, it just says 'stock launcher' is available. But where?

nats7798

my package just arrived!! but im on the office..

will evaluate tonight~

coyote

actually, i ordered on 4pm, 1st of Dec and received the item on 3.30pm, 8 Dec, cycletime should be 7 days to be more exact instead of 8 as i previously thought.

great! u got the X5, right? how many days total from the time you ordered?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.